We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paraiso Azul's (Casa De Gopala)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paraiso Azul's (Casa De Gopala)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 2 between Avs. 10 and 15, Playa del Carmen, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great location and a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We found Paraiso Azul(and our front desk amigo, Rosario) by accident. We only booked our first 3 of 14 days on purpose so we could find different places and we ended up staying here the rest of our trip. Rosario gave us a reduced rate for an extended stay, and we were thrilled with the place. Large rooms with beautiful double doors and 10 foot ceilings, a beautiful courtyard, quiet(except for a neighbor's dog on a few nites), and an amazing rooftop pool and jacuzzi, with 2 separate sitting areas, one shaded and one for tanning. It also came with a fridge at no charge. We were only 2 blocks from the beach, and just far enough away from 5th Avenue(tourist Hell) to avoid the noise. They also have a second pool that they share with the hotel next to it(Casa Tucan-check out their excellent restaurant) as it is a 21 foot deep pool for certifying divers. We would definitely stay here again. Say hi to Rosario if you go!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
28
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I took a one week scuba diving vacation in Playa del Carmen and stayed at the Paraiso Azul. A simple hotel, but with all of the things I find important on vacation: large rooms, a location from where I can walk to shops and restaurants, WiFi Internet, and not too much noise. The dive shop is just a short walk away through the hotel garden. There is a good choice of eateries within easy walking distance (and not only on the tourist drag at 5 Ave N). The bus and ferry terminals are also nearby, as is the beach. A perfect place to base yourself if you want to explore Playa del Carmen and the area around it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Location - Pretty good location, only 1 block away from all the action in town, and about 2 blocks from the beach. It was also located right near convenience stores and about a 10 minute walk to Wal-Mart which is by far the cheapest place to shop in town.
Room - Large, clean, functional kitchen. The only problem we had was the air conditioner which was for some reason set to turn off every hour. This problem was never resolved during our stay which was quite disappointing because you really get sick of waking up sweaty in steamy PDC.
Service - Pretty good helpful people. Able to answer all questions asked about local area.
Amenities - free wifi, free clean water and full kitchen which is a must in PDC due to the ridiculous prices charged in town for meals.
Value - Cheaper than most other places in PDC - We saved a lot during our week there by self catering..
Overall - Good solid place to stay. Look out for the brilliant towel art the house keeping does!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My partner and I have been coming to Playa Del Carmen for 20 years and have always stayed at Casa De Gopala, Pariso Azul everytime, always same room, It is our home away from home, WE LOVE IT. We have looked at other hotels but the rooms are not as nice and or as big. very good price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

The rooms in the main building are large and bright and the rooms safe is big enough to put your laptop in. No elevator so you have to hoof your stuff up the stairs if you have an upper room. The hotel has an fairly nice though small pool on the roof. It does close at 10pm though. The front desk staff speak enough english and some one is on the door 24/7. The location is very central, just a few steps from the main bus station and an easy 2 or 3 block walk to the beach. There is some street and other mexican city noises, but not nearly as bad as other places I have stayed in, in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This will be my 4th time staying at Casa De Gopala and I'm never disappointed. You're in walking distance to all the restaurants, bars and the beach. The hotel is safe and very inexpensive, you can't go wrong with that. Also, it's very close to the Playa Del Carmen bus station, so I always take the bus from the airport and walk to my hotel. Rather than spending $60 on a taxi, I spend $8 on a bus ticket. Overall, it's not the fanciest place in town but the rooms are cheap and clean and hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

First trip to Playa Del Carmen and our stay was everything we wanted. The hotel is very, very convenient. Walking distance to the beach, to the dive boats, and all the shops and restaurants you can handle. We were there to dive and were more than pleased with the dive shop located right on site. Professional, safe and extremely helpful. We got not only had great dives (we dove ocean and cenote's) but made many friends with the staff as well. Pedro was one of the dive masters and phenominal in his ability to find all sorts of sea life micro and macro on each and every dive. Jean Yves runs the dive shop and hotel and is a gentleman and wonderful host. He is truly concerned that you have the best time possible and was eager to work dives to our schedule and request. The cenotes are a MUST and you can arrange everything you need right there from the hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are farly basic but clean and the grounds make you feel like you are hidden away from the city outside, lots of plantlife, nice balconies and sitting areas and even a rooftop suning area as well as a hot tub. Cant say enough about the whole experience, Good people make for the best stays and these folks really care about you getting the most out of your stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paraiso Azul's (Casa De Gopala)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Azul's (Casa De Gopala)

Address: Calle 2 between Avs. 10 and 15, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paraiso Azul's (Casa De Gopala) 2.5*
Also Known As:
Paraiso Azul`s (Casa De Gopala) Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paraiso Azuls Casa De Gopala
Paraiso Azul's (Casa De Gopala) Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paraiso Azul's (Casa De Gopala), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paraiso Azul's (Casa De Gopala) to your Saves list