We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BEACH BAR AND RESTAURANT IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Club de Playa

Lido Club de Playa
Avenida 1 Norte Bis Entre Calle 10 y 12 | > Mexico> Yucatan Peninsula> Quintana Roo>, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 1090
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Colibri Beach has been remodeled and the rooms are beautifully decorated in the original rustic Mexican style! You will love the warm and welcoming environment and immediately feel at home! The Colibri Beach is located right in the heart of Playa del Carmen on the beautiful beaches of the Riviera Maya with a total of 25 rooms and 5 small cabanas. Most rooms face the tropical garden and some of them have gorgeous ocean views. When you step out of your room, you are directly on the beach and can feel the pure, white sand under your feet. Guests of Colibri Beach are always welcome to the beach club Lido with it's fun and hip Palapa swing bar as found in the good old, original Playa times. The Lido offers excellent food and delicious drinks right on the beach, all at affordable prices. The friendly staff is attentive, professional and always ready to take good care of you and your needs! Being in the heart of downtown Playa del Carmen, Colibri Beach provides easy access to all the restaurants, shops and bars on 5th Avenue directly around the corner and even the nightlife is steps away on 12th Avenue. Because of this, a car is not necessary or recommended. There are many destinations to explore and excursions offered along the Riviera Maya which we would be happy to recommend. In addition, numerous water sport activities such as fishing, snorkeling, wave-running, parasailing and more are available right outside your door, along the beach. Enjoy a wonderful vacation at the Colibri Beach... We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel and all that Playa del Carmen has to offer for a fun and relaxing vacation!
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST BEACH BAR AND RESTAURANT IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from a week in PDC. So glad we found Lido, the best place to eat and drink on the beach....the staff are amazing....Arlboro, Gabby and all of the other staff are incredibly friendly, welcoming, and do a great job overall. The food and drinks are great...try the mojitos, the Lido Cocktail and the ceviche. We tried many of the beach bars and restaurants while on vacation and this is the best for hanging out while at the beach and for lunch and drinks. Awesome in every way. Best seats are the swings at the bar!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    36
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I wouldn't go anywhere else but LIDO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Playa in January 2013 and spent many days at the LIDO beach club. I am big on VALUE and this place offered the very best value to me. We found the waitstaff - Carla,Laura,and Gabby to be exceptional, the food amazing and the atmosphere quite to our liking - not to crazy wild but vibrant enough to be fun. Not too many little kids either which was nice. (I am a parent and I love my children, I jjst don't care to vacation with other peoples screaming kids!)

The beach beds are lime green and very, very comfortable and clean. The food was very tasty and the drinks were not at all expensive. A bucket of cold beer was very reasonable. Try the Mango margaritas, we each had about a dozen each! The coconut shrimp was also very good and the fish tacos are just out of this world. Far superior food than you would expect from a beach club in a tourist area but this place is not so well known (Part of the charm) and frequented by locals as well as tourists. By day 2 they were greeting us by name! Also, if you speak German, throw a "Wie Gehts" or a "Guten Tag" at the owners; they will look stunned but then qucikly converse with you. Tip - the price of massages is VERY negotiable, especially if you go multiple days. I asked for a weekly price - a 1 hour massag,e per day, for each of us for the entire 1 week stay and was amazed at the price I got, roughly $28 US. Every massage was excellent by the way, very professional in every way. Repeat customers apparently are both welcome and appreciated!

PS - I would LOVE to stay at the Colibri Beach Hotel as well but when we checked it out we found that they do not have king beds in any of their air conditioned rooms. Big deal killer there plus the bathrooms were very, very small.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fun Place To Spend a Day at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Fun beach club with a chill atmosphere, buckets of Sol and pretty good beach grub. Alvaro the manager and Gabby a delightful waitress will make your visit fun. Alvaro is partial to Motown grooves, nothing beats listening to Barry White while sitting on a bar swing! I visited several times during my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Confy and yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great place to spend a whole day under the sun. Friendly staff, good food and a very confortable beach bedding for the best tan in Playa.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushford, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best for sunny days and friendly smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in Playa for nine days and went to the Lido Club beach every day for several hours. Carlita,Laura,Gabby and the rest of the wonderful people greeted us every day with smiles and the quality of their service is only given by those who enjoy their work. The owners were on site with a friendly hello also as we arrived. We ate there twice but should have tried more of their choices as it was the best food we had in Playa. A special thanks to Carlita for answering our questions and bightening an already sunny day on the beach in Playa. Hope to see you all again. All the best, your friends from Minnesota.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido Club de Playa also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Lido Club de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Club de Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.