We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Thai in an Incredible Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Carretera Federal | Banyan Tree Mayakoba, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 9848773688
Improve this listing
Ranked #478 of 731 restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Thai in an Incredible Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This meal is truly unique. The restaurant sits out into the water and at night it is breathtaking. We did a tasting menu and the waiter was so honest he told us we really only needed to order it for two and we'd have enough for four. The food was really delicious, definitely go!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huixquilucan, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not quite good enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Maybe we had high expectations from our experience in the same restaurant but in Acapulco where we have dined many times. But the food was not as good as it is in Acapulco, for instance the lemon grass was on eatable, very hard and abrasive when in other restaurants is soft and tender, flavors are watered down and at the end the bill was at least 20% more expensive than in Acapulco.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Authentic, delicious, fresh, amazing service.
There were a lot of Mosquitos in the outside area but staff provided us with off for protection.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food overpriced and not even good....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but were told by friends that Saffron was one of the best restaurants in the area so decided to make it the meal of the trip. Made reservations by phone and even request it for a special time since want it to celebrate the birthday of one of our daughters….everything was going well, got into the restaurant at time and were told by the bell boy that the restaurant was not open that day.
The lady in the reception guided us to the oriental restaurant (more like grill stake and fish so completely confused by the name and disappointed by the menu). Anyhow we decided to enjoy our meal (regardless of the prices that are high even for US standards). My first surprise was that the side dishes came in first so by the time our dishes came we had already finished those.

The biggest disappointment was that the main course my wife and daughter order to share a Sea Parrillada (85 USD) was overdone (the octopus was burned and the fish totally dry). We returned the octopus and waited and decided not to ask for it anymore.
The only good token of appreciation was that by the time we order the check they sent two complimentary desserts.
I have been in many high end restaurants in Mexico and this is by far the most expensive with quality of food average or poor. It is amazing how a simple meal can ruin a beautiful place but clearly we are very disappointed for what we pay and what was received in exchange….

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTMayakoba, Director de Recepción at Saffron, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear German H

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience with your Restaurant’s reservation. Indeed the reservation was made on the phone and the take order did not have any phone to contact you to change the reservation for another day due to the change in schedule of the week. If you come back to Playa del Carmen allow me to make arrangements in our Saffron Restaurant so you could get to experience it.

I personally met you that night and offered Oriente BBQ as the only choice available for families; I’m very saddened to hear that you did not enjoy it. Thank you for your comments and we have shared your review with our Kitchen and F&B team in order to improve our service.

Cordially yours,

Livia Martinez
Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No wonder you cant get in... They dont want you too”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I recently stayed a nearby resort and had heard many good things about the Saffron restaurant. I was told not to miss this restaurant as it has some of the most amazing Thai food in Riviera... Food- yes. Service- NO. So, I called to our conceirge and they said that the restaurant was booked and that they could try to make a reservation for another day but that Banyan Tree would NOT confirm reservations until the day of. So I waited until the 'day of' we called back and they said no. So we ended up going over there on our own accord around 9:25PM to see if they would "squeeze us in." When we first got there they said there was no reservation and the restaurant could not accomodate. Finally after some debate they agreed to let us go. When we got to the restaurant there were PLENTY of open tables- inside and out on the docks! Then we asked to sit outside they said no that they were booked. So while inside there were only two other tables that were seated for the rest of the night and while I watched the tables outside to see what time guests would "pour" in for their reservations of the outside tables, I was more than disappointed to only see ONE table of guests get seated for the duration of our dinner. The service was nice and the food was very good, but overall first impression was disappointing. I felt as if they didnt want us to join them for dinner and makes me question the overall service at the resort.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.