We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place For A Cold Beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club de la Cerveza

Club de la Cerveza
5ta Avenida Norte Manzna 4 Lote 5 Local 7c, Entre 34 y 38 Norte | edificio Mimosa, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
984 1470635
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Amplia variedad de cervezas artesanales mexicanas e importadas (Belgica, Alemania, Inglaterra, USA, etc.)Variety of mexican craft beers and imported (Belgium, Germany, England, USA)
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place For A Cold Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Visited this excellent bar/restaurant after seeing previous reviews on Tripadvisor. Slightly away from the main action at the busy end of 5th Avenue, but well worth the short walk. The selection of local and international beers is amazing, including several beers on tap. We didn't really go for the food, but what we did have was high quality food, well-matched to the drinks. Staff are excellent and clearly have good knowledge of the beers and can advise as needed. Very highly recommended for anyone interested in beer! (there are also spirits and non-alcoholic drinks for those not keen on beer too!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    208
    44
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing beers, great staff, live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were in Playa Del Carmen for 10 days, and every time we walked by this place we kept saying "We need to go in there for a beer!" Finally on the last day, we went in there after dinner and I wish we would have gone sooner so we could go back! The beer selection is the best I've seen in Mexico, and the staff there is very friendly. They recommended some great beers that we had never tried before and we loved them. They speak English which is always helpful. Our server even sat and had a beer with us, he was really cool. They had live music that night, a woman playing saxophone, she was really good and also very nice. Make sure to make a stop here while you're in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Dropped in for a beer after dinner and was impressed. Staff recommended a few beers based on our preferences and although we didn't eat, the food looked awesome! Drinks were reasonably priced and much better atmosphere than the package holiday type bars on fifth! ( nothing personal, just not my thing) Also, music was great! If your not much of a beer drinker, try the fruit beer...I'm a cider fan so I had an apple boscoli, which was delicious although much sweeter than cider, more like a juice!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubdelaCerveza, Gerente at Club de la Cerveza, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank's for coming to the bar and taking the time to write a review and recomend us on Tripadvisor.
We're glad you've enjoyed your visit to the Beer Club.
For those ones that are not beer drinkers, we've got many options besides our 80 beers, although it's quite possible we're going to try to convert him or her into a beer fan ;)
We hope to have you again at the bar if you visit Playa in a future.
Best,

Club de la Cerveza Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cold beer and tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the perfect start to a trip to downtown Playa... Great beer selection and yummy appetizers. We had the fries and something else I can't remember but they were both good.
Service was a little slow but that was ok because we just enjoyed just hanging out. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A gem of a bar in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

5th St. in Playa del Carmen is full of "specials" such as "bucket of beer for $10". Well, I don't want any cheap, inferior beer no matter how good the deal. I want quality, exceptional craft beer. Club de la Cerveza delivers. I wanted to try Mexican craft beer, and with just a few words describing what I typically like, Diego brought me a few that I loved (particularly Minerva). Staff is very knowledgeable, friendly, warm. The patio is great. Other patrons were friendly. I also loved the music as they had the Stone Roses playing, a nice diversion from the mostly cheesy music coming from further down the street. If you want an authentic beer experience with an inviting, amiable environment, you'll be thrilled with Club de la Playa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club de la Cerveza also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Club de la Cerveza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club de la Cerveza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.