We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Xperience - all in the details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 20, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Xperience - all in the details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I spent one night here and 2 nights at its sister property Aqualuna Boutique Hotel (see my review for that property as well -- my favorite!) on Thanksgiving weekend.

SERVICE: The Xperience hospitality is infinite. The staff circulates between the properties, had the pleasure to deal with 3 of the same concierges. They really go out of their way to help you, beyond what was included on your rate card when you booked. I was really amazed.

ROOM: Nicely appointed for a great price. Very clean, too. The only "potential" issue is that the hotel is close to a busy street. I thought this could cause some noise, but if you close the door of your bathroom once you go to sleep, you won't hear a thing ;) plus free Wi-Fi, free computers with Internet in the lobby case you don't bring your own, got free breakfast, etc. Really great value

LOCATION: Excellent, just a block from 5th Avenue and about 3 or so blocks from some of the best beach clubs/nightlife. Made exploring the city a breeze

In short, another excellent stay with Xperience!

Room Tip: Choose second floor to minimize noise from street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear ambassador( as we call our guests),

We are grateful to know through your valuable comments that your recent stays in the two of all our gems( Aqualuna and Hacienda Paradise) were enjoyable and that our personal services, your room and general facilities created “The Xperience" on you just as we expected. Rest assured that this represents our greatest motivation to improve and innovate the services we provide. It as an honor to host you and we truly hope to have the opportunity to serve you soon,

Warm regards and Merry Christmas from Riviera Maya!

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    208
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
110
478
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you're looking for a small hotel close to Playa action this is a great place. It's right beside the 5th avenue and it was half-way between some of my favourites: La Bodeguita del Medio, the Roof and Fusion. The staff is amazing. Not just professional but very personable.

Most of the time the hotel is really quiet, expect on nights when Reina Roja is having a roof top party (ends at 2:30am) - in our case this happened only once. You'll have to walk to the beach, but it just means exploring. I really liked both beaches on either side of the town and not the one in town. I also loved walking around to discover some local food. My favourite: sweet plantain cart near the library (around 7pm) and the best fresh quesadilla (tinga de pollo) on 1st av between 12th and 14th street. Our room was on the 2nd floor (with balcony). The set up is great because none of the windows have sun blaring in to make it too hot and there are 2 doors to keep the street noise out. It was a great room. Spacious, cool and clean. We only used aircon once for 20 min. I didn't see any bugs. The beds are on the hard side but I actually like that. I would stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: Room 27 is great. The main floor rooms don't seem to have as much privacy as the 2nd floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

...then I really don't want to see any hotel below #20.

Well, actually, I have. We've stayed at a couple of hotels in PdC, and they're all rated below Hacienda Paradise on TripAdvisor. This is, from our point of view, quite bizarre.

I will start by saying that the service level is extremely high and holds the standard of a 5-star resort. If there ever was any problem, the staff would fix it in no time.

The problem is, that the hotel is old and needs service. It needs it bad. This is supposed to be some sort of a holiday resort - yet we didn't see a single person using the swimming pool. Why? Well, because it was dirty. Dead insects were floating around and you couldn't see the bottom because of all the sand, mud and god knows what. Is this what "environmental friendly" means?

Then the smell from the sewers. Everywhere. We couldn't have the terrace door open. I believe this too is a part of the "environmental" BS they play. Luckily enough, we only stayed for less than a week, and stayed in Mexico for a few months, but I do feel bad for people who made reservations for one or two week holidays. I hope a complete renovation is under way soon, 'cause this hotel is in really bad shape.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Ambassador(as we call our guests),

First of all, allow me to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel to celebrate such an important occasion like your honeymoon. We appreciate your valuable comments about our attentive service and rest assured that this is part of the continuous effort in order to improve our service and will be shared with our entire team.
As per your comments about our pool, we consider important to inform you that, as part of our regular maintenance program, some remodeling works were in progress during the days of your stay. The works included some tiling as well as refilling involving a proliferation of algae while the water reaches its final level (it takes more than 3 days to fill). During this time no chemical treatment can be applied and this might have caused some smell to be perceived. This situation was inevitably attractive to insects that are normally repelled by the chemicals applied, in spite of the fumigation control we have. In order to ensure that all of our guests were informed about this matter , letters were sent to their rooms and warning signs were placed around the pool. Nevertheless we are very sorry that this was not effective in your situation and we do apologize that the information was not delivered to you in due time. We would like to reassure you that, the “look” of our pool has improved and we would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you how certain aspect of our service have improved.
Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to having you back with us.

Alvaro Jacinto Flores
Maintenance Department

Traduced by Carolina Baca (Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one week before going to an all-inclusive resort. This is the hotel I would love to go back to again. It was clean and well-located. The staff was simply amazing. We stayed with my mom, daughter and I in one room. There was plenty of space. The balcony was a nice feature. The food was great! The chef even made a special pasta dish for my little girl because she was wanting some macaroni and cheese. She loved it! The beds were not very comfortable. That was my only complaint. Jorge, the concierge, recommended a terrific restaurant. Very very happy about our stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed for a two weeks relaxing Holiday in November. The Staff were Very Friendly , Helpful and informative , with nothing too much trouble . Free Wi Fi , TV , Free Coffee and Bottled water 24/7 . Our room was very spacious , kept immaculately clean ( thanks Sarita ) with free air-con and Valuables Safe . A minor moan would be that our room was in the very corner , and so did not recieve much sun , but as we mainly slept in it , it was beneficial . The Location is almost Perfect , One Block away from the busy 5th Avenue and equidistant from the Quieter Beach to the Left and the busier ( full of bars ) Beach to the right . Approx 15 Minutes stroll to either . Close enough to access all the shops / Bars , but one Block away when you want a bit of peace and quiet . Breakfast was well presented and adequate , but could be improved with a little more variety . A complimentary Bottle of Wine , tied with a bow , to celebrate our Anniversary was a very friendly and appreciated gesture . A recomended walk to "Walmart" stocked opur room with additional nibbles and Alcohol .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your 5 star rating! we are really honored to have such valuable feedback. We would really like to thank you for your preference on you most recent stay to our beautiful Hacienda Paradise. We are very grateful to know that our attentive service , room amenities and facilities made from your vacation a memorable one!
We truly appreciate your recommendations to other travelers and the impressions of you Xperience with us, this motivates us to continue bringing a better service every day.
Looking forward to host you in a near future.
Warmest regards,
Carolina Baca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great hotel. Staff is amazing, responsive and kind. Close enough to the beach and city center that everything is in walking distance but far enough to be quiet (most of the time).
Very nice stay..thank you to Juana and all of the staff.

Room Tip: My room was upstairs # 23 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear ambassador(as we call our guest),

Warm greetings from the Riviera Maya. On behalf of the entire Xperience Family we would like to thank you for your choice on your most recent stay. We are very glad to know that you had an enjoyable time with us and the attentive services of Juanita and our team met you expectations, this is our motivation to continue giving the most in our way to excellence. Rest assured that your valuable feedback will be shared with them.
We sincerely hope to host you soon in ordert to provide you with our Infinite Hospitality.

Best regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We carefully read the reviews before booking this hotel for our honeymoon and our stay was exactly as expected. Didn't get the complimentary champagne as another couple wrote, but maybe our tour operator Meier's did not gave them that information :) but this was not a problem at all for us, because the staff's professionalism and housekeeping's everyday funny figurines made out of towels made us feel very good and smiling all the time.

Location is good, maybe not as close to the beach as some would like, but we enjoyed our everyday stroll to and from the beach partly on 5th avenue. Rooms are quite big, furniture not really new, but the vintage look of it was ok. We especially loved the big and very nice bathroom and the toiletries which were organic and of very good quality (and plentiful ,thanks to housekeeping lady which i recommend to tip when you can because she deserves it).

Breakfast is nice, although not very diverse, especially if you stay for longer .We had omelet almost every day :) and even if we like it ,we would have liked to have something else too. I would suggest to serve some grilled vegetables too, maybe some salad because they never served tomatoes, cucumbers,peppers or salad. I had to eat ketchup which I never use :( to get some sour taste .Neither simple yoghurt (not sweetened) was served and that would be nice for some guests for sure. Overall the food was good ,except for the cold meat ,just 2 types of a bit tasteless ham salami and the service is very nice.

The air conditioning worked very good and we could adjust temperature and ventilation(i don't know why some wrote they couldn't ?!?). We used it only on our last day to dry our scubadiving wetsuits though, because the temperature was perfect for us day and night all our stay.
We liked the small and green inner courtyard, especially when reading in the balcony or by the pool. Pool is quite small but nice, though we did not use it because we always prefer the beach especially when the water is so warm (it hat 29 degrees! :D ).

The only thing that bothered us sometimes was the noise late in the evening and in the morning. I would suggest them to change the doors or make them a little better soundproofed because in some evenings when we were not very tired we had difficulties getting to sleep and also in the mornings we were woke up very early by the noises in the street. And having room 17 on calle 22 I guess we had less noise then the guests with rooms on 10th avn.

A tip for those who want to use the 2 computers in the lobby : use insect repellent because there are many vicious mosquitoes who hide in that corner! It was the only place in the hotel were I got mosquitoes bites :).

All in all we thank the staff for being nice and professional and would recommend to everyone this hotel because it is good value for your money. The only thing is to be realistic and don't expect 5-star amenities from a 3-star hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your preference on your most recent visit for celebrating such an special occasion, your honeymoon! We truly appreciate the time you took to share such complete review and the tips to our future travelers.
It is such an honor to know that you had a great time, enjoyed our personal service and room amenities, this represents a motivation to continue doing our best every day. As per the food variety and menu suggestions we will be glad to forward them to our Chef for its consideration. In regards to the ones about our facilities, although the interior design of our hotel is “Hacienda style” with vintage-look furniture, rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration for our next redesign project. Thank you for your recommendation, a better one we couldn´t have!
We truly hope to have the opportunity to provide you with our Infinite Hospitality soon.
Warmest regards,
Carolina Baca
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Calle 20, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private oasis of elegance and seduction in the heart of Playa del Carmen. This stylish hotel offers a unique and memorable holiday experience in the idyllic setting of the cosmopolitan and coastal city of Playa del Carmen.Hacienda Paradise enjoys an excellent location close to the famous 5th Avenue and its numerous shops, restaurants and bars. Located between the 10th Avenue and the famous "Quinta Avenida" (5th Avenue), pedestrian walkway only two blocks away from the Caribbean Sea, this Boutique hotel offers relax and comfort steps away from some of the most beautiful powder white sandy and turquoise crystalline water the Mayan Riviera has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Hacienda Paradise Boutique
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.