We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personnal and Inviting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Real Playa del Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Real Playa del Carmen to your Saves list
Real Playa del Carmen
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5th Avenue between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ontario
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Personnal and Inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

We arrived for our two week vacation on May 6th in the evening from Ontario, Canada. Our luggage was immediately collected by the Bell Boy and we were taken to the reception desk to check into our room. We recieved a refreshing drink immediately. My husband asked for an upgraded room and we were given one immediately without any extra charges. We were wisked off to our one bedroom suite where we dropped off our luggage and wipped down to the beach. I was a little dissapointed that the hotel wasn't beach front but after a day or two the quick walk was no longer an issue. After all a little excersice doesn't hurt anyone. The very next day we familiarized ourselves with our new surroundings. We found out that alot of vacationers weren't travelling to the area due to the Hurricaine. We never even gave it any thought.

For the first week we sunbathed at the pool, which to me was a dissapointment as it was so small and the deck surrounding the pool wasn't large enough to accommodate many lounge chairs. In addition, it only had one entry and exit set of pool ladder.

We ate at the buffet, which we found an extremely wide variety and tasty morsels. The drinks were endless and the service was excellent. Wait staff would clear your eating area immediately of empty plates, gasses etc. We were very impressed that you could book an A-la-Cart dinner every day by noon at the reception desk. We ate A-la-Cart 3 times during our stay. Room service was offered on a once daily basis and of course we took advantage of that as well (draw back to ordering by phone is limited knowledge of english at the receivers end).

We walked to WalMart (I was shocked to see a regular store) for more summer clothes. We galavanted down to 5th Avenue, which is the main shopping strip. The only negative comment I can make is that the shop keepers would try to haggle you into their stores (real pain in the your know what). After a while we stopped walking down 5th Avenue or make up an excuse that we were leaving that afternoon so they would stop bothering us.

We took a tour of the Royal Porto Real Playa del Carmen. The suite shown was georgous!! But I honestly found the facility too large for my liking. The foyer was really too large and you couldn't have a private conversation. Perhaps that's why it was pretty empty. I loved the 24 hour service room. It was air conditioned and set up pretty nicely. The pool area was very nice. And the Real Bazar was better than the other two facility Bazars and this is where we spent our $50.00 USD gift certificates for taking the tour. But this large facility just didn't have that personnal touch like the smaller one. Our tour laster longer than the scheduled 90 minutes and we went through 4 sales men and finally made it bluntly clear that we didn't make hasty decisions when making large investment purchases.

During our second week we rented a small car for 3 days @ $35.00 USD per day through Americana and visited Xel-Ha. What can we say...you have to visit and make an entire day of it. It's truly Natures Wonder! We snorkelled and then tubed down the river. After which we walked the entire park and took video and photo's. We were one of the last couples to leave the park. Tulum was also quite remarkable. Xcaret should be an all day adventure don't forget to include the dinner theatre. This was a amazing and colourful show. Over 300 actors telling a story from past to present in costume, music and singing. We will be visiting alot more places next year.

The town of Playa-del-Carmen is definately a safe place to walk. We've seen single people both male and female on vacation walking safely through the streets. There is alot of Police riding through the town and on the beach. The beach by the way is so clean and the water so clear. It was fun acting like a kid for a change playing in the waves as they sometimes swept you towards shore. Other days it was more calm and you could float on your back enjoying the sounds around you. Since it was a public beach, there was so much space for everyone. No over crowding what so ever.

When we returned home on May 20th we've told our kids that we are going to return to Playa-del-Carmen next year for our 10th Wedding Anniversary and we'll be taking them along too. I personally love Mexico and both my husband and I really and truly loved Playa-del-Carmen and our hotel amenities. We timed our vacation well because on the Friday before we left to come home a bus full of about 20 boys had just arrived.

Thanks for such a relaxing time and wonderful weather.

PS/ I wish we could have had a late check out or an air conditioned waiting room as we sat in the lobby for hours until our bus arrived at 5:05 p.m.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    334
    140
    99
    107
See reviews for
177
384
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

We stayed at the Real Playa Del Carmen, May 8-12, 2006. Upon first arriving it was a bit disappointing, I had never been to Mexico before so did not know what to expect, however I did my research(thank you Trip Advisor members) and quickly my disappointment turned to sheer joy. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Lupita keep our room clean, the bed turn down each night, clean towels and freash soap and shampoo's left each day. She even made towel animals and left them on the bed. The room was nice, only one complaint the bed was hard. The food was good, however it could have been keep warmer. Gina sits in the lobby and was always eager to help. We did do a time share presentation(we did not get it)however we were to recieve 1500 pescos, we did not. When we went to set up our horse backing riding outing the gy at Best day tours asked if we had recieved the pescos, when we told him "no", he told Gina who came in on her off day(which was also ther Mother's Day) to take us to get our pescos. Now that is customer service. Each day we got up and went down to the beach club and each evening we walked down 5th street and came back to sit in the lobby which is under a tikki hut this was very relaxing after a long day at the beach. This hotel is far enough from everything to enjoy peace and quiet and close enough to get to do other things. I would recommend this hotel and we would go back and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

Stayed here April 9-16/06. Fiancee and I couldn't have had a better holiday. Hotel is located at the quieter north end of the busy 5th Avenue in PDC. Approximately a 10 minute walk to the beach, or you can take the shuttle (we never did). Room was big and clean with a/c, TV in the bedroom, minibar, balcony and a safe. Maids left towel sculptures each day. Food at the buffet was always tasty and plentiful. We ate at the a la carte one night and it was ok, but nothing super special. Service at the restaurants is exceptional - as soon as you finish a drink the waitresses are there to ask if you want another. Pool is small but good for a quick dip if you need it. The hotel grounds are lush and very well kept. Beach club was great as well - usually no problem getting a beach chair, and the bartenders keep the drinks flowing. The shore itself is a bit rocky right there, but we wore surf shoes and had no problems in the water. If you want, you can just walk 3 minutes up the beach (on the other side of the pier) and the shore is much nicer. This hotel isn't fancy, but it's not a budget hotel either. After travelling around the mayan riviera for a week, we were glad we chose this hotel because it's nice to be able to go for a stroll at night after you've had dinner and a couple drinks. Many stores on 5th Ave stay open until about 10 p.m., and there is an abundance of streetside cafes, bars, etc. Seems like it would be a hassle to go into town in the evening from one of the all-inclusives outside of PDC, as you'd always be paying taxi fares. The town itself is very safe, and there are cops all over the place. Real Playa del Carmen was awesome - we'd go back tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

We stayed at the Real Playa from April 7-14. Three single girls all under the age of 30. We were not looking for a 'luxurious resort' and have all agreed that we are happy that we didn't stay at the sister resorts. The beach club is about a 10 mintue walk, which we didnt mind, and is worth the walk.The pool(s) at the resort are small... but definitely good to relax in... We liked how the resort was not right in the busiet part of Playa del Carmen, it was quieter, with the exception of the stadium just down the road. Lobby bar was a favourite... the bartenders were excellent. All the staff at the resort was really good... entertainment was definitely entertaining, slightly repetitive by the end of our stay though... but still definitely worth going to. I wouldn't do the A la carte again.. was not overly impressed.... This is definitely not a party resort, but we did walk to clubs at night, Blue parrot and mambo cafe are about a 20 minute walk. We would all stay at this resort again for sure...

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2006

The Real Playa Del Carmen was a great place to stay. The food was excellent, there was always a wide variety of choices. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms very clean. The room I stayed in was spacious and nicely decorated. The pool is small, but I was there for the ocean. If you are looking for a huge pool and resort this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a nice, clean, small hotel, it is a great place to stay. It is not beach front but I found the walk to the beach a great way to get a little exercise. The beach club was nice, with a bar and lots of beach chairs. We went on a last minute deal and got a great price. No complaints here!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

I have read some negative reviews regarding this slightly out of the way oasis and could not disagree more. The food very tasty- lots of authentic mexican cuisine - excellent fish was 4 1/2 out of 5. The pool quiet and relaxing and all to yourself lots of the time. The staff - absolutely fantastic.. The rooms very spacious, clean and comfortable. Did I mentionthe staff? Genuine smiles and always trying to keep you happy. They even restock your fridge every day with beer and, water and pop.
Downside..well..not any real consistent bar service to the pool area... but then, the bar is only 30 ft away, no elevators so the 4th floor is a bit of a climb at times and not for older folks , the after hours area ...kinda cheesy and best not to visit there...I am sure they will improve it. Upside...Fifth Avenue is fantastic and at your doorstep , the free shuttle to their all inclusive beach club a great option if you do not want to walk off some lbs. and view the shopping [no hassle sellers by the way] The lobster in the ala carte - very worth it..Huge Lobster Tails The service all around..Excellent. The entertainment in the evenings is fun and the singers and dancers are professional plus ...the stage is right in the dining area and very pleasant while dining. Enough said....give it a try it's not a 5 star or even 4 star but a definite 3 1/2 star PLUS..at a very reasonable price. Don't forget to say Hello to Alex the Supreme bartender at the lobby bar...

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2006

Me, 16 and my mother in her urly 40's decided to take a trip...our agent told us their was constuction witch when we got there dint even notice it.We where there between feb 4 to feb 11 2006. I am verry picky with my food but their big selection witch makes easy for every one...their is all keinds of Pastas...salads...pizza...French fries...and oviusly mexican...The staff is verry nice espacialy the intertainers...witch me and my mother always made it to the hotel for the shows their are pretty special...
The beach is about a ten minute walk down a street full of shops so if youre a shopper like me, make it 60 minutes!!! the open bar is right on the beach...Day time intertainers are always doing something ... valley ball, darts, yoga, bracelets, spanish lessons...fun fun fun...We totaly recomend this hotel...maids do a beautiful job and are very friendly...Dont think twice!!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Avenue between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Playa del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.