We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Playa del Carmen

Save Saved
You added Real Playa del Carmen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5th Avenue between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Armstrong, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Other than the bed was a bit too hard, there is nothing else I can say negative! The staff were all friendly and so helpful, some of them went above and beyond. The food was awesome. The room was clean and spacious. The grounds were kept immaculately and so was the pool. My fiancé and I are going back next year and bringing our family and friends with us!! We can't wait to see Jesus, Freddy, Selene and the rest of our new Mexican friends again :) Thank you all for a perfect vacation!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We really appreciate your comments, and we thank you for your time, all these motivate us to continuo improving service and facilities. Thank you mentioned some employeess
Hoping that you are coming back again.
At any time you are so welcome,
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    333
    138
    98
    106
See reviews for
173
381
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I would never stay at this hotel again. I recognize it has a great location and is cheap compared to similar hotels, however, the service is not good at all. The day I did the check in the lobby personnel wanted to sell me a more expensive room explaining me that the agency booked me a smaller room that the one I requested. The difference in space was little and the difference in price was significant. Also, in two occasions I tried to change my towels and the personnel at the lobby said they did not have clean towels. They said you can change them from 8.30 am to 6pm, however it is not true. On the other hand, the cleaning lady did not leave the number of towels we needed (we were 4 people in the room and she usually left just 2 clean towels) and also she used to take the linens from the sofa bed so we needed to call everyday to the lobby in order to get the towels and sheets we needed. Every time we needed to ask for something at the lobby they were not nice. Sofa bed is not very comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room at the lower lever, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We really apologize if We could not exceed your expectations, it is so important your notes and comments for us, I already talked with Housekeeper Supervisor so Front Desk Staff to pay attention in your experience you had with us. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would definitely stay here again, next trip this January. Although this time it will be in Cozumel but we will be back for visit when we take the fairy over to Playa del Carmen. Bartender was eager to here from us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank You very much indeed for your coments, motivate us to continuo working hard and improve service and facilities, we really thank you that you are pretending to combe back, so exciting, Best Regards form all Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved the Hotel's location, cozy atmosphere and great food, best we ever had in a 'buffet' style. We liked the idea of having everything so close, walking around; walking to the beach and even a beach concert - Jazz festival week-end.
We didn't care for the cold temperature of the pool all week, bah humbug!

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for better rooms, they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We really appreciatte your comments and it is so important for us to continuo improving service aand facilities, it is motivated to all Staff, you shared your experience with us. We hope you come back again soon. Keep in mind that this is your home in Playa del Carmen, Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked at the Real because of the lower price and the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We had such an enjoyable stay. It is not on the beach but for our family of 5, the kids being in their 20's, that was just fine. With the money not spent on a beach location we did several tours and excursions and only spent 2 mornings at the beach. When we did go to the beach it is an easy walk down 5th Avenue, which I always an adventure in itself. There are abundant beach chairs, bas well as a bar, bathrooms, kayaks, and beach volleyball to meet our needs. This is a small hotel in comparison to many of the resorts and I loved that. It took less than a minute from any room to reach the buffet, the pool, the lobby, the bars etc. There was never a problem to get reservations for the Mexican restaurant, or a chair by the pool, or a table at the buffet, no matter the time of day. The staff was overly friendly and helpful. Lilian tried everyday to teach me a bit more Spanish, Jesus and Christabel worked very hard to provide good service. At the reception Emmanual and Jesus were most professional and met all our needs. Freddy the bartender at the lobby bar made the best drinks in my opinion, and do yourself a favor and order a Real Playa, you will not be disappointed. The location was terrific for people who want action. 5th avenue was right out the lobby. A busy, eclectic street full of stores, cafe's, bars, nightclubs, artists, and musicians. We did a walk down every evening after supper. Which brings me to the food. No complaints at all. My kids are very nutrition consciences. There was plenty of lean meats, fish, fresh fruit and veg. After a wonder supper each evening we were thoroughly entertained with the Animacion team. Their comedy and energy were fantastic. They made a real effort to meet everyone, and involve as many people as possible. Danijel made us feel so welcome. Bernardine did a great job cleaning and stocking our room and that of our kids. Only complaint would be the bed was too hard for me, but some people may like this. We would definitely recommend this hotel and certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your comments and mentioned the Animation Team, it is so important for us and we also thank you for your time. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Keep in mind that you have a sweet home at Playa del Carmen. Best Regards for all Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing I have to say about the resort is the transportation to and from the airport that was handled by Best Day Travel which I understand is independent. They were on time, friendly and had modern vehicles. From arriving at the resort things go downhill fast. We arrived at 9AM after having left home at 2AM and were very tired. We were told we could not check in until 3PM. I asked about the hospitality room advertised so maybe we could change or shower and was directed to the. 24 hr snack bar!! There were not that many people at the resort and it was obvious that it was just a policy not a room being cleaned issue. If policy is checkout at 12 they should at least turn a room for tired travelers within an hour. They did arm band us so we could eat but that's another issue with this resort. The food is terrible reheated for every meal an served in a very dark bird infested tent type area. After eating there on day one at arrival we checked it out several more times but never got anything more than coffee. If you are a big drinker I guess you get your money's worth in alcohol but if you are not stay far far away from this place. It is worse than most available hostels at a much lower cost which leads me to the rooms. Clean and functional but not updated in a long time similar to a bad room from the 1960's era. Upon arriving in the room we sat on the bed and the mattress was similar to a box springs. Hot water in the shower never lasted more than 90 seconds. The entire resort grounds are very very loud and don' t plan on ever sleeping day or night unless you bring earplugs!!

The resort staff is very very friendly from servers to maids and bartenders who all do their jobs well. The front desk personnel are very defensive at all times and not very helpful. There is never a manager on duty to speak with as you would expect and with every request the problem is never solved you are only offered an upgrade to a better room there for a charge or a sister hotel which is much pricier! If you have a local question, they direct you to a lobby desk that says concierge or one that says guest services but are actually time share sales desks. These people are relentless and try every way to get your info under the guise that they need to know your info to better serve you. There's no way to enjoy the lobby and just relax there! Also check the refund policy it is nonexistent if you are unhappy.

Signed unhappy traveller

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your comments and time, it is so motivated all your notes. We really hope that you are coming back again soon, this is your home in Playa del Carmen.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

All in all for a three star it was ok. Fairly clean and location was nice. We did have to pay for the 360.00 U.S. upgrade to get a better room which looked like the room we should have gotten in the first place. With the upgrade we were able to drink premium drinks, eat at a couple of better restaurants and pubs downtown on 5th. We are glad we did the upgrade because the food in the hotel was very boring and same old same old. We ate one night at Maria's and paid the extra for a filet mignon....don't ever waste your money...it was a pounded steak of something.....haha....very dissapointing.The staff was fantasic! Thanks Carlo for walking me to the beach club, which I could not find!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We really apologize if we cold not exceed you expectations, also it is important for us your comments and notes in order to improve facilities, we hope that you give us the opportunity to hostess you again. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Avenue between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Playa del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.