We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real playa del carmen has the best animacion team EVER!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Playa del Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Real Playa del Carmen to your Saves list
Real Playa del Carmen
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5th Avenue between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Tromso, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real playa del carmen has the best animacion team EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hi :) i wanna give a big thanks to Daniel and his animacion team at real playa del carmen for making my holiday the best ever. You guys are fantastic! You are always smiling and helpful. I dont think i ever meet anyone that gives more of themselfes than you guys :) I dont know how you do it all day and night? But i feel in "love" with all of you.... You are all fantastic artist and good people and you make the best apparence for the hotell. When i go back to Mexico i hope you all still are there :) Thanks again for making my holiday superb :)

Room Tip: Our first room was in the 5 floor with no refrigurator, so we upgraded our room for a small amount o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank You very much indeed for you comments, aslo for mentioned employees, it is so motivated to continuo improving service and facilities. We really hope that you are coming back again. Best Regards form all Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    336
    141
    99
    106
See reviews for
179
389
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Location except for not being directly on the beach was awsome. Jesus the receptionist was great. Danijel and the animation team were great. They would go to the beach during the day and of course on stage at night. 5th. avenue was right out the door and was a lot of fun in the evening with all the bars and resturants to visit. Small resort so you always felt that personal conection with all the staff.

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing stairs upgrade to a main floor master suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank You very much for your time and comments, so important for us that we exceed your expectations. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards for all Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just came back from the Real Playa del Carmen after staying only one week. In Nov 2012, Rooms were clean everyday, all staff was friendly and very welcoming this was our first visit ever to this hotel and are pleasntly happy, Staff always working hard This hotel was execellent overall the staff very friendly, and Helpful for what ever was needed. Food was a great selection, area is good as you are close to the markets. The 24 hour snack bar was a great thing as well to have it was clean and very nice decor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much indeed with all your comments, it is so motivated for all us. We really hope that you are coming back again soon, we continuo working so hard, specially with your kindly notes. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week in November 2012. In complete honestly (no b.s.) this hotel should be rated 2 star. With the exception of Caesar (barman) and the drinks at the lobby bar..all was disappointing. The rooms are somewhat clean (smell of urine in the washroom constantly) but very small and on occasion you get little visitors (cockroachs). The food is..how can I say...disgusting (got food poisonning). The grounds are tiny with 1 pool broken into 3 parts which is constantly filthy. My husband cleaned the pool using the net to remove all the dead bugs, leaves and branches. The birds are constantly bathing and surely pooping in the shallow pool which runs into all 3 pools. Seriously, Mexico or not..everyone knows that bird poop can cause infectious disease. As to the location, if you like to be bothered by police sirens, honking cars, 15 kinds of different music playing everywhere then so be it...but not my kind of relaxing vacation. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. I call it a hotel because it CANNOT be classified as a resort. If you are looking for less for your money then go ahead but I have travelled many, many times and I have gotten much better for lesser than what I paid at this hotel. Don't get me wrong..I knew that I was going to a supposed 3.5 star hotel and I wasn't expecting much but it deserves 2 stars only. Just giving you my honest opinion to help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We really apologize if we could not exceed your expectations, it is so important your experiencie with us and change and improve facilities. We will take care of it. Thank You. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good customer service. Hotel room was clean and nice. Bars were within walking distance. excellent. Restaurants were directly on the strip about a block away. Shopping is very close to this hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We really appreciatte your comments and to share your experience with us, thank you very much for mentioned some employees. Motivate us to continuo improving service. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one week in Nov 2012.The locationis great,were all the bars,restaurants and shops are located.Rooms were very clean and every day clean towels.The staff in my opinion is the best.From the time you wake up in the morning,until you go to bed,they are always doing their very best to make sure you are taken care.Special mention of Adrian the bartender,very nice and always friendly.The animation team Danijel,Moni,Arturo,Vyaney are wonderful doing a great job.They made our week special.Great job done,congratulation.We had a great time,made great friends and enjoyed very much our stay.We would recomend this hotel to anyone.Three star hotel,five star experience.We will definitely return.

Room Tip: standard room was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We do our best to exceed your expectations and of course we continue doing it. We are so happy that you are pretending to come back again and recommend us. Please keep in mind that you have a Mexican Home in Playa del Carmen, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just come back from the Real Playa del Carmen after staying for two weeks. It is in a great spot actually on 5th Avenue where all the action is with bars, restaurants and shops in the resort of Playa del Carmen. The avenue is about a mile long ending at the ferry terminal for Cozumel where we went for the day and which is a great island.
The hotel is aging but in mainly good condition. The tropical gardens are very relaxing as is the swimming pool. Our room which was upgraded was large and with really good air conditioning was very comfortable with in room safe which was free.
We were all inclusive with unlimited drinks. We cannot honestly say that the food was to our taste as it was mainly Mexican but we ate sufficient. Breakfasts were good with omelettes and eggs available every morning. There was always plenty of salad and fresh fruits.
As previously mentioned the staff at the hotel were excellent and very friendly. Jesus on reception arranged our room and Karina was our lovely room maid.
The waitresses Norma, Heidi, Flor. Sonia and all the others were very kind and efficient.
The entertainers Daniel, Vyanay and Monica were brilliant.See 'brandic d j' on You Tube
The Beach Club was behind the Gran Porto Hotel on the beach again with a free bar. Lovely.
The entertainment team also did beach duties for snorkeling, volley ball etc.
The best beach was 200 yards to the left of the beach club facing The Royal.
All in all a lovely holiday worth the 10 hour flight from London.
Highlight sitting in reception drinking our pina coladas, mojitos, cuba libres etc watching the world go by on 5th.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your comments and notes, it is so important for us, we really hope that you are coming back again soon. Thank You also for mentioned our employees, they were so happy to see their names writting in the Trip Advisor´s comments. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Avenue between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Playa del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.