We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday in playa del carmen” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Real Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Real Playa del Carmen to your Saves list
Real Playa del Carmen
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5th Avenue between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“holiday in playa del carmen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

the rooms were old fashioned and the shower was not the best. The towels were clean as was the room every day. but the staff and entertanment was fantastic we were taught spanish every morn and watched a show every night would i go again to right

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your time and comments, they are so important for us to continuo improving facilities and service. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    334
    140
    99
    107
See reviews for
177
384
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Having to climb up all those stairs to get to our room was a hassle. The room was clean though. The pool was a disappointment, not big at all. The food was good and the breakfasts were a good selection. The booking for the restaurant seemed a bit over the top as we were the only ones there. Service was good but a bit rushed. Overall not too bad but would not stay again. I think a lot of people get confused with the Royal Playa del Carmen. The drinks seemed to be of a low quality, either watered down or not of a good brand.

Room Tip: try and get down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment, we really apologize if could not exceed your expectations, it is so important for us you share your experiencie in Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. I already talked with Cheff and Food and Beverage Manager to make some corrections. Thak you again for your time. We hope you give us the opportuniy to hostess you again. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Spent last week at Real Playa. Everything was fine, food and bed. The public beach is two street corners (beautiful beach but no shade) or we can use the Real Porto beach with the drinks and chairs. Seven minute walk or shuttle about every half hour. The hotel is right at the end of the pedestrian street so you can be in the action. Not a noisy hotel. We had a nice view of the hotel garden and pool. Nice staff. Be sure to spend some time with Cesar at the bar. Great guy. Good money value for the all inclusive. Lisa

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your time and comments, they are so important for us and motivate us to continuo with this style of service. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards from all Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I were staying at the Real Playa del Carmen. I would just like to warn other people about the strong undercurrent in the sea. My husband got caught by a huge wave and was dragged into the undercurrent. Thankfully our 16 year-old son dived under the wave and managed to grab my husband and pull him out of the water and we eventually got him to the beach. My husband had water on his lungs and had to be stretchered across the beach to the hotel and ultimately to the ER of the Hospital where he spent 24 hours recovering. Please, please do not go into the waves along the front of this hotel. There is a lifeguard but he didn't even see my husband in trouble. This part of the sea should be roped off to allow people to only swim in a designated area where the lifeguard has full view of everyone.

On a positive note, the Real Playa del Carmen staff were wonderful, particularly Juan, and they all helped us fabulously during this very traumatic event. Thank you all so much.

The hotel rooms were gorgeous (my husband was initially taken to a room to wait for an ambulance). The rest of the hotel looked lovely but I'm afraid I can't comment on the food or any other amenities on my brief visit and we didn't feel we wanted to return on our holiday purely because of what happened in the sea, nothing to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your comments, they are so important for us and we also yhank you for your time. We really hope that you are oming back again soon. Keep in mind that you have a sweet home at Playa del Carmen. Best Regards for all Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay overall everyone was very nice and the service was great. I had a massage by Levinia and it was great.Had dinner with the chief and I learned that you can not take your job for granted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a holiday to just lounge around by the pool then this hotel is not the best as it is not a 5 star hotel. However, if you're looking for an exciting place with friendly and welcoming staff then this hotel is what you are looking for. The staff simply cannot do enough for you. They are always happy to help and very intrigued to get to know you, which is nice. A very big thank you to Eduardo (lobby bar tender), Cesar (lobby bar tender), Elevio (waiter in Maria's restaurant), Lilian (receptionist) and Crista (waitress in the normal restaurant). The male chef that does the omlettes in the morning was very friendly too. Got to know all these amazing people and I will miss them a lot. Will definatly be going back. Had a little problem with locks of the door and the safety deposit box but nothing major and the staff quickly rectified the problems. It is without a doubt the best hotel, service and place I have ever been to!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thak you very much indeed for your time and comments, we really appreciate and it is so important for us. All Staff of Real Playa del Carmen say "hello" to you..and we really hope that you are coming back again, This is your home in México. Thank You again. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

As indicated in other reviews, this hotel is not a 5-star resort and so if you are looking for that, and not the authentic Mexican experience, then do not go here!. However If you are looking to immerge into the culture and explore Playa at its fullest then, Real Playa Del Carmen is the place for you since it is well priced and close to everything. At this resort you have no excuse to just lie around, as there are so many things to do right outside of this resort and so you are always exploring. The staff is amazing and goes out of their way to make it a pleasant stay, in all my travels I have never encountered a more corteous staff! They are all great, which makes the stay that much more fun. Thank You to Guadalupe, Heidi, Norma, Eduardo, and Ernesto!
The grounds are kept so pretty and they are always cleaning..and the room was always left spotless. The pool was always available with lots of room and the beach club had plenty of charis, ..you are free to walk around and so you do not have to go into the water by the bar, walk a bit to the left or right and it is perfect.
We loved this place and would go back again....if you do pick it, do experience everything else around you...and you will be glad you picked it!..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We really appreciatte your comments, it has been so nice and important for us to improve our service and facilities. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Avenue between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Playa del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.