We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst excursions ..:ever ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sian Ka'an Jeep - Sian Ka'an Jeep Safari Tour

Sian Ka'an Jeep - Sian Ka'an Jeep Safari Tour
Monte de los Cibeles, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
9841097216
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #134 of 261 activities in Playa del Carmen
Type: National Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Drive a Jeep through the jungle, winding roads in Caribbean Sea within the Biosphere Reserve of Sian Ka'an, one of the largest reserves in the world. During the trip we stop at Boca Paila to take pictures, coming to punta allen take a snack.Board small boats to go see dolphins, turtles, starfish, migratory birds and do snorkeling. we have a fascinating experience to marine biodiversity, multicolored fish, corals, and other species of this delicate ecosystem leaving a pleasant sensation.
1 review
“The worst excursions ..:ever ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

This tour is ridiculous!
My boyfriend and I booked this tour from not the Thomson agency but from the guy at the beach . It should have been a tour in the middle of the wild nature. everything was except this. Firstly We were picked up at 7.30am from the hotel to leave at 9.30am from the office in tulum with the jeep then.
We spent two hours going through this dirt road, but the worst was the lack of air conditioning, music and nothing to see. we passed close to the sea only in two sections for ten seconds.

Obviously the place was beautiful , we saw dolphins, turtles ecc... But it was obvious that it was... It was a paradise...
Last but not least we came back to the hotel at 8.30pm so we spent 13hours of trip for 3 hours of fun. Absolutely it is unfair.

For us the problem was the bad organisation, lot of confusion and waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    60
    32
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“biosphere reserve not to miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

It is a different tour and even if the journey is so hard (at least a couple of hours bumping in the jeeps and crossing the fingers not to have a flat wheel), but it is worth the adventure.

In this biosphere reserve you can spot wild turtles, wild dolphins, exotic birds and experience the best snorkel in the Laguna Negra.

The bad point is that we could have gone earlier to have more time to enjoy there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espacio_Natura, Gerente at Sian Ka'an Jeep - Sian Ka'an Jeep Safari Tour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
unfortunately SEMARNAT don't allow chemical material to fix it, could be filtering chemicals in the ground affecting life in biosphere.

thanks for your comment

Desafortunadamente SEMARNAT no permite reparar el camino con asfalto porque puede filtrar químicos que dañarían el ecosistema de la biosfera.

Muchas gracias por su comentario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not For Older Folks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I went on this tour because we enjoy getting off the beaten path and experiencing places that are away from tourist crowds. This tour fit the bill, but was much longer than expected. At my age bumping up and down through potholes with nothing but thick jungle on either side of the jeep got old after about 2 hours and I was glad when the day was finally done. I probably would have enjoyed this more had I been in my twenties. I must say though that the guide was very nice, the lunch they provided excellent, and the boat ride enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espacio_Natura, Gerente at Sian Ka'an Jeep - Sian Ka'an Jeep Safari Tour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your comment, I hope has been enjoying nature

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Different, but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Would recommend booking with Croco Runners - well informed, fun guides. Be prepared for a very bumpy 40k journey to the lagoon, taking 2.5 hours!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“prior years visit--probably 2010”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

was a horrible trip. jeep first of all was out of gas, leader jeep took off before we knew what road to turn on so we went back to hotel. they finally came back to find us. then we got gas. they sped like crazy down dirt roads, not careful at all. boat ride was nice. lunch had a lot to be desired and eating area full of bees. never do that again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sian Ka'an Jeep - Sian Ka'an Jeep Safari Tour, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear traveler,

  Very sorry for your bad experience, but your description does not match the characteristics of the service we provide, there are several tour operators offering the same service with different quality of service according to the price. Our Jeep Wrangler are recently 2013 and 2014 model all hardtop with air conditioning, an electronic device where guide comments about Sian Ka'an. 3h boat ride, a snack at 11am and 4pm buffet meal, drinks and fruit during the tour. We pick you Up in Minivan.

Can you tell me where do you buy your trip?, Our staff uses a white polo shirt with blue logo.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sian Ka'an Jeep - Sian Ka'an Jeep Safari Tour also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sian Ka'an Jeep - Sian Ka'an Jeep Safari Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sian Ka'an Jeep - Sian Ka'an Jeep Safari Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.