We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals

Save Saved
You added Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Federal Highway Puerto Juarez Km 294, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Pure Mareazul Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 109 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The whole family decided to spend the Christmas an New Year together and we opt in going to Playa del Carmen. We were in 13 people and we rented two apartments with 2 rooms each. Each apartment accommodates 6 people but as we had 2 little children in the group, the choice was perfect.

The apartments are very spacious and very well equiped. The front desk staff are very pleasure to help you in everything we need. The atmosphere at the pool area are quiet and there are many deck chairs and some beds to relax. In the center of this area, they have a snack bar where we can have the meals.

The complex is far located from downtown, than, renting a car is a good idea.

The only problem we had was we asked for a beach front apartments, but when we arrived, they were not available and they told us that the rates were not for other this kind of apartment. We asked to the travel agengy for explanations and they told that the information was not correct, because we paid for beach front apartments. At this point, there were anything to do (Who did tell the true?).

If you are in a family trip, Mareazul is a great place to stay and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
48
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We rented two suites (2 rooms each, beach front), and were in love with them! We were aware that these are more like apts and dont have the amenities and services of a full hotel (including no dinner service, no room service, no phone).

Location: About 10min north of Playa, was great for us. This meant very few people at the beach, super relaxing location. Still, we could easily drive at night to Playa for the hustle and bustle of the town.

Rooms: Suite was very large, huge windows with beautiful view of the sea.

Service: Terrible! We had multiple incidents 1) One of our suites was for 4 people, and the hotel was only able to provide 1 key. So for the 5 days of our stay we had to coordinate who had the key etc. All the reception could say was that they were searching for the second key and could not find it. 2) Then my parents reserved the hotel shuttle for the airport and it never showed up. At 3am (and late for their flight) they had to get a taxi. 3) There is only wifi in some areas (lobby, beach club) but when the wifi at the beach club was not working for 2 days, we got zero help 4) The worst experience was trying to get the right fare for our room. We were charged $250 more than we should and it took over 4hrs, multiple trips between the beach club and the reception, and talking to over 4 people to get the fare straighted out. It was a true nightmare and ruined our relaxing vacation. It is amazing how incompetent most of the employees were, including the reservations guy and one of the managers. Only one of the reception ladies was super helpful and was able to resolve this. The last day, we decided to move to another hotel. We did not really want to, but I could not justify giving more business to a place that had treated us so poorly.

Room Tip: For us paying extra for a beach front suite was well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Dear All!
Mareazul is a very nice location and superb buildings, but the operation is a bit beginner. The food island in the middle of the resort is like in Heaven at first look. The food is awful, the prices are hihger than in the States. Staff is ok. To be honest w you, the hotel was nearly finished, first afternoon was interrupted by builders machines. After a long begging we could move to another building that was not cleaned but was more silent. At the bar, that is a separate building on the beautiful beach the bar is not really open. Sometimes they have full selection of drinks, sometimes they open only for the ninght programs. It is very mediterranian. No rush, no stress. May be they are right?:-))))
Altogether the whole complex is a hugh investment and one of the latest design and luxury buildings. They already have residentials plus rooms and appartements to lease. Nice experience. The worst thing is the night disco I think two or three times a week. Very loud sh..t music with many locals. For sure no sleep till 3:00am.
Beware it is not a clasic hotel. No real restaurant or hotel service. One of the largest pool in the area, in Jan the water was a bit cold for kids.

Room Tip: We liked the room on the waterfront with self pool. Parking in front of the building is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Coral R, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing Pure Mareazul for your vacation. First of all, I would like to send you my warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Pure Mare Azul, is very important for us every comments allow to us give a better service for all our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just came back from Pure Mareazul, we spent 5 nights and 6 days, we travelled with a small baby. It's a hidden gem in Playa del Carmen, wonderful installations, secluded and ideal for families. Not the ideal place for young people looking for a party at the pool. We had a blast and really enjoyed our time there, cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Mareazul is not a hotel, it is not a place to party, and even though prices are low, service is minimal.
Be good neighbors to the owners who are renting units on their own!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Coral R, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Sr.
Thank you so much to write down about us
We inform you that PureMareazul (www.gcoralrm.com/rentals ) does count with 38 units from 6 diferent owners. It is true that other owners offer their units in a different way or different companies, which makes logical that you might find different decoration in every unit, although in PureMareazul you can enjoy some services we list now:
-Free cellphone service in order to be in contact with Reception.
-Free shuttle service for Playa del Carmen Downtown every evening.
-50% off in Grand Coral Golf.
-and many more.
Do not hesitate to contact us at rentals@gcoralrm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This was our 2nd and last trip to Mareazul. The first time when we went in October 2011 it was tranquil and lovely. We rented one of the privately owned units that time. This time we stayed at what is called a "Hotel" that is now known as Pure Mareazul but should be called Pure Crap the way they manage it. We were tempted by the cheap prices. Realize a couple of things. This is not a hotel. There is no room service, no cab service at the ready, no telephones, no way to contact the part-time concierge, no internet service - nada, nothing. The first time when we rented a private unit we had many of those amenities and enjoyed the tranquility of being far from the action in a very private environment. This time we were surrounded by a lot of people who were also tempted by the inexpensive rooms and we spent much of our vacation listening to their woes about bugs in the rooms, lousy service, poor housekeeping and the fact that it is not a hotel. They felt stranded and disgruntled because they did not realize that they were basically renting raw space and that they were on their own to make a nice vacation.

Here is the bottom line: When you add the cost of cabs and overpriced food to your inexpensive room, you will realize that there are about 200 better choices that you could make to have a nice vacation in Playa (or nearby) in a nice hotel with a convenient location and amenities or even at an all-inclusive. Also, the clientele - which are basically those who thought they were getting the best deal in town- lent a "Jersey Shore" atmosphere with those who packed coolers to hang out next to the pool all day...just sayin'. My suggestion is that if you want to rent a car, go shopping and stay there the whole time (which I am not saying is a bad thing) you may want to consider renting one of the private units which are MUCH, MUCH cleaner, nicely furnished and come with property managers who are ready and willing to help if you need it. Just stay away from dealing with the "hotel." There - you've been warned and you're welcome.

Room Tip: This is a condo complex, not a hotel. Find a unit that is rented by one of the owners rather than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Coral R, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Sr.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are working with all agencies to give their clients the proper information in order to avoid confusion.

We are offering PureMareazul (www.gcoralrm.com/rentals ) as a Vacational Rentals, which the restricted services we can offer, but we focus ourselves in offering us a place away from the crowd, and quite for our clients.

We will like to list our new services:
-Wi.fi at lobby area and snack area
-24 hours reception service
-24 hours suggestions service
-Free phone service to have better communication with the reception even if you are outside from the resort
-Free shuttle service to Playa downtown

Please, do not hesitate to contact us anytime you wish at rentals@gcoralrm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Mareazul is a beautiful place for a vacation ONLY IF you rent from one of the 51 private owners of some of these condominiums. Pure Mareazul--the name of the rental organization pulled together by the developer of this property- is definitely NOT the way to go and it is hurting the owners who have decorated their condos with class and care to make their units a rental experience to remember. Pure Mareazul is deep discounting their units and promising things they don't seem to deliver on....with little service or attention..... Please only support the private owners of these condos.

Room Tip: Choose from one of the privately owned units. 333South is a fabulous choice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals

Address: Federal Highway Puerto Juarez Km 294, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Pure Mareazul Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pure Mareazul Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Coral Riviera Maya Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.