We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all inclusive family Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda to your Saves list
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #21 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great all inclusive family Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I went this thanksgiving with the family to this resort and it was a very good experience the kids had lots of things to do they have a very good kids club with lots of activities for them, for the adults if the want to have a relax kids free time you can go over the adults only pool and it is very nice.

The good things for this resort is the food which is great for an all inclusive hotel, The restaurant decor is outstanding, the variety of food and restaurants it is very good.The service is great the people always is very helpful.

The cons are the beds (they have a mattress protector made of plastic which is noisy and very uncomfortable to sleep on) the room doors are very thin and you can hear every single thing that is going on on the hallway, Our room had ants in the couch but not on the kids room (maybe this was an isolated problem).

I do recommend this resort we had a very nice time.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the main lobby (so you don´t have to walk far, the hotel property it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had a great time in our property. It is a pleasure for us to read you enjoyed our facilities, the culinary experience we offer and to know that the service provided by our team was always helpful and oriented in your needs.

You may feel assured that we took good notes from your particular observations, in order to provide all of you unforgettable experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,264
    653
    208
    69
    53
See reviews for
2,120
407
15
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Really nice stay. The staff was outstanding at every level from check in to returning lost items. Rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. Food was good and overall a great visit. Drinks were watered down, stick to wine and beer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

We are glad to read you had a really nice stay in our property. One of our primary objectives is to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

You may feel assured that we took good notes from your particular observations, in order to provide all of you unforgettable experiences.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montevarchi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

we are frequent travelers with kids and found this resort far below our expectations. Endless issues, top of mind problems were the very cold water in the swimming pool preventing babies from using them. We also went for a swim up suite and couldn't use the pool due to this issue. Sea is DANGEROUS! rocks everywhere you don't see them when the water is deeper than 30 cm. Full of Melia sales people pretending to be personal concierge but just trying to sell you staff. First objective is to sell a $100K membership to their Melia club, if they don't succeed they feed you with coupons to tempt you to buy premium services not included in the all inclusive rate. photografers everywhere with very cheap shirts saying take a photo for free. They actually charge 10$ each picture... not sure they got what free means in english. Real pity since the resort itself is a great facility (now the customer manager has a chance to answer this feedback saying that he appreciate I like the facility and will be happy...). Big problem is that it's so big and they cannot provide sufficnent service to so many clients. Rates are good especally off season bu this is opening the chance to budget travellers that get drunk at 9 o'clock in the morning and scream all they long much more than kids. Kid's activities are POOR. Most of the time indoor for kids above 4years, always indoor for kids below 4. Can you imagin trapping a 5 years old boy into a room all day long with sun and water outside? Of course easier to control them in a room but booring for them. As a result the club tends to be empy. Food and restaurants are good (another opportunity for the cusromer boy) as long as you till massively. Priority is based on tipping. We are tippers so didn't suffer the issue but can be annoying. All in all I think they oversized the facility and are not able to provide the kind of service promised. Malia also has a commercial culture and bothers customers during their visits to get additional money. They don't undertand that good customers appreciate being left alone when on hollidays. My suggestion is to go to Tulum where sea is MUCH better. Only 45min drive south of Playa Del Carmen but much more exclusive than the mass Playa. Good luck everybody!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a major disappointment. Rooms are minimum 300 mt from the sea and there is a forest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to post a review and for sharing your comments with us.

As a service oriented company, our guest’s feedback is imperative for our improvement, you can be sure that your comments and concerns are already in the hands of our heads department, as we are always in the pursuit of exceeding your expectations and provide you the reasons to come back.

On the other hand, for us it is very important to read every comment of our guests. On Tripadivisor we have the opportunity to answer you back; it is vital for us to thank you and say that we are glad to learn the parts that our guests enjoyed about our property and also we learn about the details our guests do not appreciate.

We are grateful for your notes; we hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in the future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

"Myself, my wife, our 6 & 2 year old sons just spent a fantastic week at our favorite resort! We have never returned to the same country let alone resort on consecutive vacations but we fear after finding this place, we will be disappointed elsewhere. This resort is very clean, awesome amenities for adults and children. Baby club for kids under four (includes napping facilities) and great kids club for four and over let my wife and I spend a few hours in the world class spa!!! Awesome food, many dining options and unlimited al a carts. Best of all is the AMAZING personal service we received from the moment we arrived, staff members were bending over backwards to make our stay more enjoyable, kind and friendly people everywhere we turned. Elizabeth at the pool concierge looked out for us all day and helped us out many times keeping our kids entertained. And a very special thanks to Yazmine at guest services, she worked at the kids club during our last visit, we were shocked she remembered our children after eight months of new families passing through!!! We had a minor medical situation with one of our sons and Yazmine arranged for treatment immediately and was genuinely concerned for son... (doctor on staff as well for any parents considering this resort), this treatment made us feel very comfortable for our whole visit, thanks to all the employees who helped us out I wish I could remember all if your names! Can't forget Yazmine's because my kids are still talking about her! Thanks again, see you soon"

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda, we want to take this opportunity to thank for believing and trusting on us.

We are delighted to read that you spent a fantastic week in our property. Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to create this memorable experience.

Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Yazmin, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to your second home, Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just returned from a four-night stay at Paradisus La Esmerelda and really loved it. The service was impeccable–friendly, honest, and on top of everything. Our personal concierge, Michelle, was wonderful. She set up some awesome surprises for my daughter (it was her birthday), including a bubble bath filled with balloons when we returned to our room from dinner one night. It was so special and memorable. Camila was also a great help on Michelle's day off. The kids pool was lots of fun. They have professional photographers taking pictures but they're pricey ($15 each). The beach was also beautiful but some parts were a bit rocky. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Next time I think we'd splurge on a swim-up room, or on family concierge in general, as there is a separate pool and grill available if you upgrade. The marble floors can get very slippery when it rains, we had a few close calls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our facilities, the service provided by our staff and your comfortable room. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, we are glad to read we accomplished this objective with you during your stay.

Thank you again for your review, we hope this is the beginning of uncountable vacations at Paradisus Playa del Carmen.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Some exceptional service, some mediocre. Staff not as attentive as other Paradisus properties. Bar drinks were often very watered down. Sometimes staff were pre-occupied with personal duties. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Internet connection was mediocre at best. Very difficult to connect and transfer data - SLOW.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Your review it is very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. We already let to our differents departments know about your notes, please rest assured that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience in the future should you join us once again.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spofford, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This property is only 2 years old and well maintained. The staff (even the gardeners) greet you with hello and look genuinely happy to make you stay memorable. My wife and I were there for a conference and stayed 2 days and then our daughter joined us and we stayed 5 more days in the basic Luxury Junior Suite and the room and décor was large and spectacularly decorated. The beds were very comfortable. There are 22 restaurants and they were 5 star. The food was delicious and presented with pride. The resort is all inclusive but the food was not your typical all inclusive barely eatable fare. It was 5 star. The only disappointment was that we were not staying for 2 weeks. Last year we stayed at their Punta Cana property and this property was 3 times as good. I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The basic suite was spectacular but avoid the time share talks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience. We are glad to read you enjoyed our facilities your beautiful room and the culinary experience we offer in our different restaurants.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you again for your valuable review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a stunning little bay, Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda is the superior luxury family-friendly resort in the Riviera Maya, combining a prestigious Caribbean setting with world-class facilities, including Family Concierge, the ultimate in spa treatments, a relaxed ambiance, and flexible meeting spaces with state-of-the-art equipment. This elegant resort has a Mayan ecological feeling, and an oceanfront location surrounded by a lush tropical mangrove preserve and with views of Cozumel Island. Take your senses on a culinary tour through eleven remarkable restaurants serving delicious cuisine from all around the world and ten bars serving unlimited international Premium brand drinks. Enjoy life-enriching experiences such as tango dance classes, sushi-making, and sensorial experiences. This luxury family-friendly All-Inclusive resort is located about 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport and just steps from extraordinary beaches and attractions such as Playa del Carmen’s 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal, Xel-Ha, and near world-famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Chichén Itzá and Cobá. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Amex, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.