We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda to your Saves list
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our family went to Paradisus La Esmeralda for the 2nd year in a raw. Being to other 5 star resorts and knowing what a 5 star resort is supposed to be, Paradisus La Esmeralda's beats them all. Very beautiful and contemporary resort which makes you feel like in heaven. After reading many reviews, I just want to point out some things: first of all, family concierge worth every single penny. For the first time we've been in this resort, we decided not to take family concierge. The second time we had a family concierge and were very pleased. You get a lot of extra things with family concierge, like heated pool, FC exclusive restaurants, and many little thing that add up to make you feel special (pillow aromatherapy, prefilled hot tubs with flowers, balloons, etc -- yes, these are little things, but having 2 young kids around, you would never think of filling the hot tub with the water and actually enjoy it, but your personal family concierge surprises you every day). The food is excellent. The pools are huge, clean and very beautifully lit to swim in at night time or early morning. Some things about the beach: yes, it is not the best beach in the world, but it is excellent beach if you have kids: there are never huge waves like in Cancun, it is calm, worm and not suddenly deep like in Punta Cana, so your family can always enjoy it. After reading some reviews about poor area around the resort, all I can say is that there is life outside of this resort which is what to be expected. I don't know what people expect when they go to Mexico...to be in desert???
Rooms are excellent with a lot of space and beautiful decor. Service is truly 5 stars. We will definitely be back because there are very few places that are as great for the families as Paradisus La Esmeralda.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,

It is pleasant to read we surpassed your expectations for the second time at Family Concierge and were delighted by LUXEclusive plan, in which you just have to focus on living the experience and enjoying our “Pure Freedom” philosophy.

Thank you for letting us surprise you and your family while staying in the Family Concierge section. As you described, our staff works very hard to provide our families an unforgettable experience trough little details and special amenities for our youngest guests.

Thank you again for your review, for your preference to our brand and please give us the chance to pamper you for a third time.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,828
    486
    152
    51
    37
See reviews for
1,664
338
10
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were two couples with no children. We stayed on the Esmeralda side. However, we spent all of our time on the La Perla side. The pools are very cold but also refreshing. Not a good beach.. full of rocks and very narrow. Food at all restaurants are great. Staff at check in, restaurants all bars are EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to receive reviews from our tourists. We are proud that you have had a memorable stay at Paradisus.

Thank you for your contribution and letting us know your experience enjoying our facilities and fantastic LUXEclusive plan during your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We will be waiting for your return to our little portion of Paradise.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been travelling for the last 45 years and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, none that I have stayed at can match the service we received at the Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda. From the welcome we received at arrival, through the friendly check-in and the orientation from our personal guide, Oliver, everyone was extremely helpful and happy to have us as their guests. As we continued to enjoy our stay at this all-inclusive resort we found that this was the case with every person who worked there. They all appeared to enjoy their jobs and to totally enjoy working with the public. A special mention to Laura of Guest Services who assisted us with all the answers to questions that we could bring to her.

In addition to the outstanding service, the hotel provides you with a choice of fourteen restaurants, each gastronomically interesting in its own way as well as bars and clubs. Some are aduls only and some for families with children. Since it is all-inclusive you could spend you whole vacation eating from one to the next were it not for the Beach and the many pools and the rooms with jacuzis and attached pools. We had a Junior suite which was much larger than any hotel room in a luxury hotel. Outstanding service, Gourmet food, Many activities all add up to a great vacation. One last thing; if you prefer a vacation away from children, the adult only Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is right next door in the same complex

Room Tip: La Esmeralda is for Families, La Perla is Adults only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We are aware that our attentive service is one of our competitive strengths. We are pleased to know that you found a smile in every staff member who you interacted with and that made you feel welcomed and pampered, just as you deserve.

We are happy to read you left our property with an incredible experience after enjoying the amazing facilities, activities for all family members, our gastronomic tour and in general with the Paradisus concept.

When you consider in coming back to Paradise, please think about Paradisus Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irkutsk, Russia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My family of 3 stayed in La Esmeralda on November-December, 2012 and had fantastic time there! Our room was a luxury suite ocean view family concierge and it could not be better! Our 5 yo girl had a great sleeping area in the main room and even a separate washing facilities. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi at the balcony too. It was our first time in All Inclusive and we found it very convinient in such a place as Playa Carmen - far from regular restaurants of Cancun. The beach is nice and divided into two parts - family and adults - great idea! If I were the hotel management, I would try to clean the beach from underwater stones and woods - be careful at some places when entering water. We preferred to swim at the end of the family area where beach was cleaner. There is only one heated swimming pool and fortunately it was for family concierge rooms, so, we used only that one. All other pools were too chilly for late November. There is a huge parking lot at the entrance and we never had a single rpoblem with parking our car - another good point. I expected more from the Kids Playground. Once we went there with my kid and there was not much to do for toddlers. I think it might be a good idea to add some equipment for smaller kids too - like a sand pit and a couple of slides and swings. The hotel provides a neat bracelet for idification, which we really liked and weared it for almost a month, even after check-out. All staf was friendly and attentive, sometimes even more that we needed. In general, it a great place and we looking forward to staying there or a similar Paradisus soon again. By the way, they say this year a brand new Paradisus should be opened in Costa Rica. Good news. A new destination for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is pleasant to read we surpassed your expectations regarding the Family Concierge service and our LUXEclusive plan during your first All-inclusive experience, in which you just have to focus on enjoying our “Pure Freedom” philosophy.

Thank you for letting us pamper you, as you described, our staff works very hard to provide our families an unforgettable experience trough little details and attentive service.

We will transfer your valuable suggestions to the kids Zone, the manager will take them under consideration. It is always satisfactory to receive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for your review, the beautiful photos you have shared with us and for your loyalty to our Paradisus brand.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went there with a group of coworkers in the first week of January. I was assigned to stay in one of the best suite ever. It's a junior suites with swim-up pool and outdoor personal jacuzzi and a nice sitting area. The idea of swimming pool was great so we could sleep anytime of the day easily. The room itself had a small bar. The sitting area and room was separated a bit to create some privacy. The food at the hotel was great. We had the best one in "The Grill", the "catch of the day" was a full size fresh grilled fish. So delicious. Another good restaurant was the Japanese restaurant, they had all kind of sashimi including scallop sashimi. Also, their Ramen was so delicious and so special, with crispy noodle in it to add a different flavour. Last but not least, don't forget to order the real coconut ice-cream, this is a must eat item. Also, they serve fresh custom-made smoothie and juice in the morning. In this hotel, you can hear a word, "there is nothing impossible". they tried every bit of their effort to appreciate their customers.

The lobby and swimming pool area was full of update decor, which gave you a high-class feeling. Check in and Check out was very efficient as well.

I will definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Swim-up Pool is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We are glad to read that the resort facilities, your spacious suite and the detailed service you received from the staff, were significant for you.

We appreciate you highlighted our LUXEclusive plan that distinguish us from other all inclusive hotels, with our wide variety and quality in restaurants and bars options, where our guests never get bored and enjoy every single meal. We like to know when our guests remember their favorite meals, just like you let us knew.

We are counting with your presence in the near future in Paradisus and thank you for your recommendation to future visitors.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The best experience my family had in mexico. My kids loved the heated pool, personnel was so kids loving, friendly and helpful and caring about all of us. Food is absolutely excellent. Strongly recommend to everyone who have kids and want to have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your visit at Paradisus La Esmeralda and for taking the time to post your notes.

We are pleased to know the service and the delicacies offered in our LUXEclusive plan were beyond your expectations. We strongly believe that our activities program suits to all family members.

Thank you for your contribution and letting us know your experience during your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Thanksgiving week at La Esmeralda was awesome!

We had the Best Caribbean vacations in years! The room (One Bedroom Suite) was located with Ocean View, had a jacuzzi and 2 TVs... My kids Loved the pirate Pool as well as All the restaurants! The Best thing about this place is the friendly staff :)

I will come back But will upgrade to Swim Up suites

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We will be pleased to host you for the second time at one of our magnificent Swim Up Suites, based on your recent stay and the great time all your family had on Thanksgiving week.

Receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a stunning little bay, Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda is the superior luxury family-friendly resort in the Riviera Maya, combining a prestigious Caribbean setting with world-class facilities, including Family Concierge, the ultimate in spa treatments, a relaxed ambiance, and flexible meeting spaces with state-of-the-art equipment. This elegant resort has a Mayan ecological feeling, and an oceanfront location surrounded by a lush tropical mangrove preserve and with views of Cozumel Island. Take your senses on a culinary tour through eleven remarkable restaurants serving delicious cuisine from all around the world and ten bars serving unlimited international Premium brand drinks. Enjoy life-enriching experiences such as tango dance classes, sushi-making, and sensorial experiences. This luxury family-friendly All-Inclusive resort is located about 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport and just steps from extraordinary beaches and attractions such as Playa del Carmen’s 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal, Xel-Ha, and near world-famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Chichén Itzá and Cobá. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Melia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.