We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradisus is a GOOD Resort....Can be a GREAT Resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Save Saved
You added Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradisus is a GOOD Resort....Can be a GREAT Resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 12 days, August 29th through September 9th. Even though this is my first official review on TA, I have been travelling for 23 years and 2 to 3 times a year. I will cover the negative first!

Paradisus could be a 5 star resort with a little attention to detail. I received on a daily basis, a glass that was either visably dirty or cracked or my drink would have something in it. This happened at different areas of the resort (I.e. restaurant, bars). It would always get changed right away and the server would genuinely apologize. In our room, the rugs, glass partition and balcony glass door were dirty for the entire stay. The leather headboard had ink marks all over the left side. Even at a four star resort, quality control should always be practiced. We had to call to have the mini bar stocked at least five out of our 12 days. There were always little bugs flying over the treats in the Family Conceirge. I also noticed this at the buffet a few times. Maybe the resort shoud consider using the clear serving trays that open and close to try and avoid the bugs getting in. Did these incidents ruin our vacation....NO, but when you advertise LUXURY and 4.5 stars, these are things that should NOT be occurring. Now on to the good.

Paradisus is a BEAUTIFUL resort and the staff is FANTASTIC! Every time you ask for something it was "No problem, it's my pleasure". The staff truly is the reason our vacation was enjoyable! From the time we checked in Georgina (Gina) was at my beck and call. She is the sweetest. Gina was so helpful. When she was working, she would always ask if we were ok and if she could do anything to make our stay better. THANKS GINA for your geniune hospitality.

The food here is definitely 5 star. We tried every restaurant at least once. The food at all of them was DELICIOUS. Especially MOLE, PASSIONS and LA PALAPA, which were our favorites. The servers at all restaurants addressed you by your last name and put your napkin on your lap, opened and closed the doors for you, always greeting you with an Hola and a smile. Customer service at its BEST! Ernesto at BANA was so sweet and helpful. Offering recommendations of sake and food. I fell in love with the salmon salad he suggested. He was my server every time I ate at the sushi bar. He was always smiling and very attentive. He is a true star. Other true stars were Cabalan and Mario at LA PALAPA, Eddie and Ali at NORTH BAR, Rigoberto and Bianca at the SOUTH BAR, Luis at MOLE, Wilder, Fernando Lopez, Rafael Velasco, Antonio, Carlos, Ivan, Miguel, and the hostess Liliana at NAOS. They are all true STARS. THANKS to all of you, our vacation was a blast! I can't say THANK YOU enough.

The pools were nice with excellent service, drinks and food. The beach is rocky but the sand white and so soft and smooth and the water is beautiful. Service at the beach was great as well.

Entertainment was typical resort style. It was just ok in my opinion.

Paradisus has got it right in terms of customer service, ambiance and food. Like I said, with a little attention to detail, it can definitely be a 5 star resort.

I would recommend this resort in a heart beat even with its flaws. We had a great vacation and I hope when we return in December the areas of concern have been addressed.

Again thanks to all the staff whom helped make our decision to come back an easy one.

Adios mi amigas y amigos. THE RANSOM FAMILY.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Ransom Family,

Thank you very much for your full review including your observations. As you may know, comments from our guests are important for us because you let us know the exact elements in which we have to work on. Please be sure that your notes will be taken under consideration.

We are pleased to read that after spending fantastic 12 days at Paradisus La Esmeralda, you were impressed by the service provided by our attentive personnel. We will inform to all of them about your recognition to their amazing job, as they were a significant part from your Paradisus overall experience.

We are happy already about your return in December and we appreciate your wide recommendation to future Paradisus guests.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,455
    380
    127
    44
    33
See reviews for
1302
283
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Everything was excelent but specially the services at the restaurants specially the services of Rafael Velasco our server for breatfast and lunch I stayed for 4 days with my family and all the staff was very friendly and helpful The food is good, the buffets have all around everything and dinner at Vento was great, the bars are well equiped and good music in them and pool side.:

Room Tip: the swimup rooms is a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for highlighting the factors that you enjoyed the most during your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda. It is clear you considered the service at our restaurants and bars as a supreme one, as well as the ambiance in general.

Please consider to stay again at Paradisus for your next family getaway.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed for a weekend with my wife and 3 month old, we traveled to Playa with 2 more couples with a 1 yr old, a 7 year old and another 3 month old baby.

Being a new hotel (less than a year running) i was surprised how fast they had settle and things ran smoothly, the rooms are nicely equipped, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is good since not far from Playa, it is build front of a not very nice neighborhood but it doesnt affect your stay in any way. The food is good, the buffets have all around everything and dinner at Vento was great, the bars are well equiped and good music in them and pool side.

a few comments:

1. My daughter got sick so i had to go out at 4.30 am and look for a pharmacy (i was driving), when i asked the reception i was told nearest pharmacy all the way into town, same thing from the bell boy, but as soon as i drove out on 10 street there was a pharmacy open only about 5 blocks away (between 86 and 88 st on 10th), they should be more aware of the surroundings specially for emergency issues.

2. When we went to dinner at Ventos it was 10 pm (open till 11), the moment the hostess took us to the table the waiter (young) looked at us and told something to her, he didnt seem to happy specially when he saw us with 3 babys and a child, at first he took the orders with an attitude and told us we had to order quickly cause they were closing soon, he loosened up once we started joking with him and at the end he was happy cause we left him a nice tip but its not a nice way to start.

3. The hotel was 16% busy and it felt all guests were cramped in one building only, so it was a bit noisy and i guess we could of had a better view, in the upside it was nice to have the hotel for ourselves.

Some compliments (and im sorry i didnt take names but the hostess at the breakfast buffet restaurant was great, she remembered us and our friends and was very helpful, the bar staff at the pool also deserve a pat on the back, very friendly and funny and the main compliment goes to the chef at pool side restaurant, our friends ran out of gerber and the chef made a chicken vegetable pure for the baby that was great, also the food pool side is very good!

Thanks for a great overall stay, will defenetly go back and recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Our guests´ notes are very important for us as they help us to identify the areas in which we need to improve or pay more attention to. We have sent your comments to Vento´s manager to check the waiters’ general attitude and to our front desk manager to encourage the personnel to know the surrounding area and provide accurate information.

We appreciate your recommendation to future tourists to live the Paradisus experience and that you consider staying again with us. We are pleased to know you were surprised by the resorts´ facilities and the warm staff service.

We will be waiting for your prompt return to our private and unique piece of Paradise.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

From checking in to checking out, this was the most wonderful stay I had experience in a while.
Impecable rooms, restaurants, pool, and common areas.
Excellent service, awesome staff and amazing rooms.
Incredible.
I would like to thank Mauricio and his team for everything they did for my family.
Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We are proud to know you left the property with a smile on your face after a fantastic experience from the beginning to the end of it.

We would appreciate if you recommend Paradisus to your friends and relatives, so they can live the Paradisus experience by their own.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is an outstanding resort with an excellent service. I travel very often but this time i went with my family. I was expecting a different service as it happens in the big resorts of this area but i was sorprised with the staff. They really make a difference, attentive, courteous and professional. We were made to feel very welcome. My children enjoy the stay as much as i did. This resort take care of children as if they were special guests. Restaurants, menus, animation, activities and staff were specially prepared for them. We were so glad with the attention given to our kids that we decide to ask for a babysitter, no extra cost, and we went to have dinner to Passion, a restaurant incredibly recommendable, an expectacular dinner.
I had a lovely stay and i have to repeat with and excellent service, i have to recommend this resort to everyone and i really don´t write many reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had an amazing time at this resort. The place is less than a year old so everything is new, clean and well maintained. The restaurants are great. Our favorite was either Bana (sushi and hibachi grill) or Vento (Mediterranean).
We had great service from the wait staff day in and day out. Ivan and Miguel were real standouts during lunch and breakfast. Very friendly, quick service and always offered to make a special drink for our 12 year old daughter to make her smile.

We spent a few days just hanging around the resort by the pool. The cabanas around the resort are great and unlike many of the other resorts we've stayed at there is no charge to use them. Ana was our awesome waitress by the pool most days. She kept the drinks and snacks coming and was fun to chat with. Alejandro at the pool bar was also one of our favorites. He spoke great English and even helped us with some Spanish phrases for fun. Great guy.

We're already talking about getting our friends to come back with us next year for a return visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

Your recognition to the service received from Ivan, Miguel, Alejandro and Ana will be sent to their supervisors in order to motivate them to continue pampering all our guests, the way they did it with your family.

We will be waiting for your return to Paradisus La Esmeralda, so you can enjoy again the amazing pools area, the variety and quality in our restaurants and so much more.

Alan Becerril
Gerente de Calidad
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My Family ( my husband and I and our 5 years old son) spent 5 nights in this "The Best Ever" Resort from Sept 1 till Sept 6, 2012. We travel to Mexico at least once a year for past several years and have been to many all inclusive and had some favorites before but all changed after we stayed at Paradisus.
We booked the lowest price (junior suite) room with no additional services like concierge and I have to say for us it was Perfect. From the moment we arrived we actually felt that we do have our private Concierge, since Fabiola ( who we called our private Concierge) made us feel this way.Since the moment we arrived, we did not have to worry about anything, including dinner reservation, restaurants recomendation or any other services. The Resort is just Gourgeous, very, very clean, modern style, great colors and everywhere smells so great!! It is devided into 2 parts : family and adult, however if your child stays in the kids club, you are welcome on adult side. All the restaurants were great with beautiful decor and tasty food. The pools were just amazing with areas for kids but also quiet areas for those who want to rest. Resort was not crowded at all, that made it even more enjoyable. It is amazing. We definitely loved evenings on Gabi Beach, which is where all live bands play and some shows take place. It is full with comfy beds and chairs... just perfect for evening cocktails.
As for the beach, it has its own character and really has gorgeous, water. There is a grill and the bar at the entry way and the waiter -Roger was going out of his way to make us happy. He would us if we want anything just as soon as we went out of the water or walked into the beach. He would run to get sand toys for my son., Really amazing service from Roger:) The only issue for us that there was no Hobbie Boats that we like a lot and usually use but all the rest made up for it.
The resort is a perfect size. We were at the end of family part and we never felt it was far from anything. We loved everything about it. It is just a Paradise for adults and kids!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share with us your resent stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda. It`s our goal to exceed our guests expectations and to make every moment unforgettable as part of our LUXExclusive experience.

We will communicate your recognition to Fabiola and roger for the amazing service provided, inviting them to keep pampering or guests the way they did with you and your family.

Thank you for your preference and we hope you consider staying with us for your next Mexican Caribbean getaway.

Alan Becerril
Gerente de Calidad
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a stunning little bay, Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda is the superior luxury family-friendly resort in the Riviera Maya, combining a prestigious Caribbean setting with world-class facilities, including Family Concierge, the ultimate in spa treatments, a relaxed ambiance, and flexible meeting spaces with state-of-the-art equipment. This elegant resort has a Mayan ecological feeling, and an oceanfront location surrounded by a lush tropical mangrove preserve and with views of Cozumel Island. Take your senses on a culinary tour through eleven remarkable restaurants serving delicious cuisine from all around the world and ten bars serving unlimited international Premium brand drinks. Enjoy life-enriching experiences such as tango dance classes, sushi-making, and sensorial experiences. This luxury family-friendly All-Inclusive resort is located about 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport and just steps from extraordinary beaches and attractions such as Playa del Carmen’s 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal, Xel-Ha, and near world-famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Chichén Itzá and Cobá. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Melia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.