We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing underground experience picture cannot put into words!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cenote Chaak Tun

Cenote Chaak Tun
Av. Juarez North, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing underground experience picture cannot put into words!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from Chaak Tun and I have to say it was unbelievable! It was a bit of an excursion though, we thought we could walk it from town but after an hour, we flagged down a taxi and made it! Which worked out in our favour. We arrived around 2:30 and had the place all to ourselves! Adam got us situated and Carlos took us to the first big cave. It was amazing being in there by ourselves with the piece and quiet. The waters were cool and we explored all around. We were then taken to the second cave where you can swim to a secret cave! This was an awesome experience having this other world to ourselves. I highly recommend going after the rush, about 2-3pm. That way you still have 1:30 mins to explore. The price is well worth it, and if you didn't bring an underwater flashlight, they have everything you need. And it's worth the price. Thanks to Carlos for taking us through and Adam for saving us by driving us back to town! You guys rock! If you go by taxi, make sure you get them to come back at least 2 hours later. You seriously HAVE to go! And thanks again to Adam for the tips on more things to do in playa on the cheap.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    84
    17
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring Cenotes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

While staying in Playa Del Carmen we took a cab to this cenote. Had researched it before hand on TA and thought I had seen the cost was about $100 pesos pp. Well, i was wrong..it is 200 pesos per person. Also we knew to bring our own snorkeling stuff but one of the group did not. It cost her about 50 pesos for the mask and snorkle. However, the guy at the cenote was telling us that the underwater flashlight would be 30 pesos; the locker was 20 pesos and i can't remember what the guide would cost. He told us we could have all the above for 260 pesos each (including the guide) but once we told him we did not need certain things he broke it down to "ala carte" prices.

The first cenote is awesome! it is literally in a cave, which is very dark, but for a couple of lights. When we went there was no one else there (about 11:30am) and it was a little spooky..there were some bats flying around us. It is circular fresh water. Great experience. The second cenote has a small opening which you could see the sky outside. This one was larger then the first but there was alot of parts you really could not swim in. There was heavy "muck" in those places. As long as you stay where the ropes are you will be fine. Really interesting and highly recommended. My only issue is that when we went last year to the Gran Cenote (outside Tulum) it was larger and able to swim all over it for approx 100 pesos. The guy told us the "prices" went up last november.

There is also a dry cave you can explore, we did not as we really just wanted to do swimming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Connect with nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It is an unbelievable experience with real nature. water is so clear cold beautiful, and the rocks formations are just something else! Very easy to get here, around 10 minutes away from downtown Playa. If you can bring your own waterproof flash light will be better,they will charge you the same fee for the flash light and for the entrance, AND YOU WILL NEED ONE!! But this is a most see place, better than going to any of those fictitious parks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Deposit, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand Cenote”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was approximately 10 minutes from Tulum Ruins. It was great to swim in the cave. Everyone enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Before our family vacationed in Mexico, we researched interesting things to do in the Playa del Carmen area. We came across reviews for Chaak Tun. We read that most hotel staff and taxi drivers would not even know where it was... TRUE. We read that it is off the bumpiest road in Mexico... TRUE. We read that it was not to be missed... VERY, VERY TRUE!!! Amazing doesn't even cover it! We were taken to three cenotes (basically sinkholes). Two of them are filled with water and are absolutely breath-taking!

We had Adam as our guide. He was very fun and knowledgeable. He had us rub decomposed limestone on our faces as a facial... But it didn't stop there! In the next cenote he presented us with our pedicures... little guppies nibbling at our toes! (Beware ladies... do not let your husbands claim this as your spa day, as mine tried!)

I was so worried about what types of life forms we would encounter... We saw bats (we didn't bother them / they didn't bother us), some catfish, tiny guppies, a cricket... That was pretty much it! We searched for "Lupita" - a cricket-eating spider, but did not find her. I was okay with that! :)

To get to the last part of the tour, we had to swim underwater from one cave to the next! It wasn't difficult to do, only a few seconds underwater. My 6 and 8 year olds did it easily with Adam's guidance. Getting to swim into a "secret cave" was one of the highlights of their trip!

The only sketchy thing was that their bathroom facility was currently enjoying a facelift... I'm sure it will be beautiful upon our next visit!

The total cost of our self-made excursion was $120 for our family of four. This included entrance to the cenotes (discounted for the children) and a taxi ride. We negotiated that the taxi driver stayed while we visited, so it cost a little more than normal. It was only about a 20 - 25 minute ride there.

Be sure to take bug spray for the part of the tour. The mosquitoes in Mexico are no joke!

I wish I could give this place more than 5 stars!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenote Chaak Tun also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenote Chaak Tun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cenote Chaak Tun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cenote Chaak Tun to your Saves list