We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cenote Chaak Tun

Cenote Chaak Tun
Av. Juarez North, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
Hudson, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Big shout out to Juan from his friends from Boston! He was a great guide and provided us with a very personalized tour that you just can't get from the big tourist traps. Water was a bit high due to all the rain we had but still got to see 95% of everything. Really a great experience and I would recommend this to everyone

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    102
    18
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah,GA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not too far out of town, took a taxi for $10.00 each way ( set it up before hand to pay him upon his return. If you pay when you get to the cenote, he may not return, and you won't have a way back.) Our front desk clerk Louis at Aventura Mexicana was most helpful. It took him 15 minutes & 4 cabs to get one to finally agree to it. The road to the cenote is under construction. The cenote cost $20.00 each and included entry, helmet & life vest. You can rent a flashlight for $6.00 ( called gringo tax ) or $8. to buy, (or bring your own!) Did not get one but Juan our guide had one. Do not really need snorkel equipment. We had equipment, but never used it. No flippers allowed. We were the only people there. We used Juan as our guide & tipped him $10.00 U. S.- well worth it. Can't stress how important a guide is. You will miss a lot without one. If you go, ask for Juan. He speaks perfect English and has a real love and enthusiasm for nature, which is infectious. No pictures allowed as it can harm the habitat, birds, bats etc. Strongly suggest water shoes or flipflops or something on your feet. Just the walk from 1 cenote to the other will cut & bruise bare feet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful cave.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and i went to this Cenote at the end of our swim with Turtles.
It is quite dark and as i am not a good swimmer i nearly chickened out of going in, but i had conquered my worse fear being in the sea so i gave it a go and was so glad i did.
The cave is beautiful above and below, with bats that dont bother you flying around. You will need a good underwater camera with flash if you want to capture the beauty under the water.
It is very rocky but the guide stears you around the rocks.
A must do.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome expierence with great guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I were in Playa Del Carmen for our honeymoon. We came to Chaak Tun for one day and had a wonderful time. Our guide was Carlos & he was the best. I told him I was clausterphoebic and he assured me he would make sure I felt safe. He took us through a few cenotes and we did some snorkeling. My husband and I had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts, england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unmissable for divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Part of a 4 day package with Bullshark Diving in Playa del Carmen. The cenotes are incredible and would return to Mexico just to dive them again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenote Chaak Tun also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenote Chaak Tun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cenote Chaak Tun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.