We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church

Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church
15th Ave. and 12th St., Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Scotland
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Located on 5th Avenue,this is a beautiful church. It's open day and night to pop in for a visit. 10 AM mass on Sundays is in English.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    52
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were delighted to attend church here twice while staying in Playa del Car.The Sunday mass was complete with mariachi band.We felt very welcome here and enjoyed the music and the service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this Church!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed being able to go to Mass at Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church and at Capilla de Nta Señora del Carmen on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“an oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

a really nice surprise to find this chapel! It was beautiful and a very peaceful stop. My kids were our scuba diving in fairly rough conditions and I was glad to have a quiet moment to ask Mary to watch over them!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I got to attend Sunday Mass at Nuestra Senora del Carmen and it was such a lovely experience. It was all in Spanish (as expected), but they did provide a pamphlet with the readings in English. It isn't air-conditioned, but there was good ventilation and I was fairly comfortable. The Mass only lasted 50 minutes and that was even with it being a First Communion day. The fantastic music was a highlight.
Note: if you'd like to attend Mass in English, the church has a pretty chapel at the end of 5th Ave. near the ferry dock. They have many English Mass options on Sundays.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
 

Been to Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.