We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Little Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church

Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church
15th Ave. and 12th St., Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Joppa, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

While visiting Playa del Carmen during the day, we strolled upon this beautiful church right in the heart of 5th avenue. What a awesome setting right next to the beach!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    46
    19
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“churces how they used to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a lovely little church this is and so welcoming. Even at night time (which is when we visited) the church was more than half full with local people and travellers alike. It seemed a bit odd in the middle of 5th Avenue but on reflection, how convenient for travellers to take a moment out and enjoy the peaceful and quiet composure of this little building

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodelia, Kentucky
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Truly Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

One visit to this beautiful little church, and I was mesmerized.
I actually came back with rosaries for my family, asked Padre to bless them, and worshiped here. I can't describe to you the peace and spirit that was in my heart.
Simply moving.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful little church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I am catholic so this isn't a tourist attraction for me but rather a place of worship. Daily mass at 7:00. Adoration. Loved the mass. Beautiful. For non Catholics please do come in and feel the Holy Spirit here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Church overlooking the Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a must see beautiful church overlooking the ocean. It sits at the begining of La Quinta (5th ave in Playa del Carmen)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.