We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, big, clean rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels to your Saves list
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue between 4th and 6th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel El Sol del Caribe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, big, clean rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our main priorities when searching for a hotel in Playa del Carmen were that we wanted to be centrally located (close to 5th Ave and the beach), and have a kitchenette. We got both for a great price at Xtudio Comfort! Our room was bigger than expected, the location was superb and very safe, and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We thought it might get a bit noisy at night being directly on Fifth Avenue but with the windows closed and air conditioner on it was fine. We also had access to the rooftop pool at their sister hotel, Illusion, which we took advantage of one afternoon. We would definitely recommend Xtudio!

Room Tip: Even though balcony rooms cost a little extra, we really loved having it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days. The hotel is located in the hearth of the 5 Avenida few minutes from the beach. Perfect location!!!! The rooms are nice and clean, but what made the difference on our stay was the service, Aureliano Lopez, the front desk agent not only meet but exceeded our expectations and needs... and believe me we were pretty needy...One day, he even got us a little stove, after he spent sometimes trying to figure out a way to make us a cappuccino... I believe he got the stove from his house..the rest of the staff was pleasant, but he definitely made a huge difference on our experience!!! Thank you!!!!!

Room Tip: uhm.. not sure... the mornings were a bit loud.. the housekeeping was slamming the doors.. maybe sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great hotel! Clean with a great staff. Prax(usually on 2nd shift) was the best.
Super clean, safe and secure. Close to the beach and everything you need. Looking forward to an even longer stay in February, hopefully at Extudio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We loved our stay here! While researching for our trip, we wanted a place with a kitchenette, close to the action on 5th, close to the beach and reasonably priced. Xtudio met all of our requirements!! Our room was in the back so we enjoyed the muffled sounds of the nightlife on 5th. The tequilaphone player at the restaurant across the street was our nighttime lullaby! While others might find it "noisy", we enjoyed it. We could hear noise from close locations while in the bathroom, but only because the window was missing a piece of glass and wouldn't close. We brought it to the attention of the desk clerk right away on our first day, and were told daily that it would be fixed. Twice we were told that measurements had been taken, and we were even present one time when they came to check it out, but it never did get resolved. An inconvenience, but not a deal breaker. It even became a bit of a joke with the front desk staff. That was our only issue because it would make the room hot and stuffy when the maid service would clean our room, leave the bathroom door open and turn off the A/C. We understand that electricity is expensive, and the need to turn off the A/C but could never communicate the request to leave the bathroom door closed :) The A/C worked fabulously and the room would be cool again within 5 minutes. Kudos to the housekeeping staff for keeping the hotel so clean. I would hate to have to clean up so much sand every day!!! We loved the staff, who were all so helpful with carrying items to and from our 3rd floor room, to making sure we had directions to locations we wanted to visit. We had fresh towels every time we went to the beach, unlimited bottled water and the ability to refill the bottles from the water cooler. Ice was available and the full sized fridge was great. We shopped at Wal-Mart and stocked up on supplies, bought deli meat from PDC Smoked Meats which is near PlayaCar, (thanks to the staff for helping us find the location), bought fresh baked bread from a fellow American who lives there and had the ability to have meals in the room. We toured another location owned by Xperience, Illusions, and spent part of the day enjoying the rooftop pool and views and toured a room there also. We are already planning our next trip and most likely will stay here again. One tip, the lamps on the nightstand do not make good reading lights, so if you like to read in bed, either bring a book light or a Nook or Kindle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Thanks to Xtudio! Our accommodations we perfect, the location is unbeatable for the price. Our balcony overlooked 5th Ave & we were maybe 1/2 block from the beach. Calle 4 & Calle 6 both lead to the beach. The staff are just unblievable too, they helped us order food delivery & great with direction. They all speak English very well which was a plus, since our Spanish is so poor. The housekeeping staff, OMG they ROCK! Mary was so sweet and did such an amazing job. Loved the towel art, especially the swan towel figure & heart balloons hanging from our ceiling. Our room was stocked with everything & if we didn't have it, they would get it for us. We paid about $1000 USD for 15 days, even less if you pay in full prior to arrival. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was king bed with 5th Ave overlook balcony, so awesome. But a few times it was a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear ambasssador( as we kindly name our guests),

We would llike to thank you for your visit to our hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen: Xtudio Comfort by Xperience Hotels! We are glad to know that our attentive services, facilities and the maid service made from your stay an incredibly anniversary!!. Rest assured that we will share this wonderful comment and strive to improve the services we offer everyday.

We look forward to have the opportunity to serve you in a near future!

Warm regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

4 overall. Highly recomend this site. Stayed there for part of honeymoon. Extremely nice service and people.

Not near all the clubs. Noise was never an issue.

Just had an issue with the breakfast. I was under the impression we had paid for it but turns out we didn't. I really didn't care for it. We paid 60-65 us dlls. So it was a really good barging.

Nice place overlooking the 5th Avenue. At least the room we got (room #1). Nice for drunk chill nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear ambasssador( as we kindly name our guests),

On behalf of the Xperience Family, we would llike to thank you for your preference on your recent stay at one of our hotels in the heart Playa del Carmen : Xtudio Comfort. We feel honored for being chosen to become part of this special celebration in your lifes, your honeymoon!!.Its is very rewarding to know that you had an awsome stay, enjoyed our facilities, attentive staff and breakfast at our Restaurant Casa Nostra.

We look forward to have the opportunity to serve you in a near future!

Warm regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice hotel. I looked online for a couple hours to find a nice place and Xtudio seemed perfect. The price shown on the website read $335 pesos per night. Awesome. I went there with full intentions to stay for an entire month.

BUT . . .

At the front desk it was suddenly shocking to be told the price per night is $800 pesos, for one person.

The guy at the front desk then said, $600 per night is the lowest price.

Chock it up to false advertising, or perhaps the front desk guy is on commission.

Just my heads up . . . hope it helps.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir.,

Your comments are very important for us, since it is very important to guarantee the right information to our guests. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding, we have a strict control of the rates at the official rates where we promote our services at and it may be an isolated situation that is important to clarify. In order to make a proper follow up of your kind report we appreciate you provide us with more details or documents of the rate you saw that day in order to clarify the misunderstanding in person. Please provide a contact number or e-mail at your earliest convenience to reach you.

Looking forward for your response,

Carolina Baca
Guests Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: 5th Avenue between 4th and 6th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel El Sol del Caribe)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtudio is a beautifully priced comfortable hotel located in the very heart of the world famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen. Its essence lies in the simplicity, functionality and safety of the 10 spacious studio-apartments coupled with a distinguished “Infinite Hospitality” provided by Xperience Hotels. Xtudio best trait is the premium location, at literally steps from the pristine beach and the variety of things to see and do in Playa del Carmen. Each studio features a kitchenette, dining room and some of them a balcony overviewing 5th avenue. Xtudio counts with safe deposit box and free wifi in each room. The excitement of the trendy restaurants, bars and clubs, the convenience of all the exclusive shops and services, make Xtudio the right place to be. The magic of the Riviera Maya happens around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtudio Comfort Hotel By Xperience Hotels Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.