We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aventura Mexicana to your Saves list
Aventura Mexicana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Free Food & Drinks!
Ranked #25 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent a week at Hotel Aventura Mexicana for our honeymoon. The staff is very nice and helpful. We were able to book some great excursions from the concierge at the front desk. He was very knowledgeable and was able to be a great help to us. The hotel has a perfect location which was right off of 5th Avenue. It is walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful. It has a very cosy feeling to it. The food at the hotel restaurant, Mayan Bistro, was excellent. We especially liked the free continental breakfast. It was filled with foods that were very healthy, fresh and organic. The coffee was excellent. This might sound bold but it gave Starbucks a run for it's money.
There is a woman that is affiliated with Hotel Aventura Mexicana named Ann Nguyen. She is originally from Phoenix, AZ USA. One of the things that she does is coordinates weddings. We hired her as our wedding coordinator and she did a wonderful job. She has many contacts for vendors and she provided us with many great options for venue, flowers, cake, DJ, etc. Our wedding turned out to be better than we could have ever imagined it because of Ann's attention to detail. She is on top of her game and i would highly recommend her to anyone looking for someone to plan a destination wedding in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    321
    60
    11
    6
See reviews for
218
602
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have been to Playa four times. And I love this hotel. The service and the food are excellent. The staff is alway very helpful. I left my wallet by the pool ant night. The next day I got a call from the front desk saying they had my wallet. The hotel also provides a concierge that can help plan any type of excursion. They also provide access to the best beach clubs in town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here on our first trip to Mexico, the location is fantastic as it is so central but yet tucked away behind the bustle of 5th Avenue, a short stroll to bars, restaurants and the beautiful beach of Playa del Carmen. The hotel itself was not very busy at the time we stayed which made it extra nice, the restaurant is so nice which we dined at a couple of times. I had a massage one of the days down in the tent at the bottom of the garden which was very relaxing and the hotel staff go beyond expectations to help make your stay better. We particularly would like to mention Enriqe who helped us out on a few occasions so thank you Enriqe for all your help and for making our stay easier :) I would stay here again if ever revisit Playa del Carmen as can't find any fault with it for the money it costs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ON
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Aventura Mexicana is a centrally located hotel, in a nice part, off of 5th Avenue (the main pedestrian street). The guys (and they are all men) at the reception are very kind and helpful especially Luis Ortize, the guest services rep. The price is good for the quality of hotel - it seems fair, and if you are staying long-term be sure to negotiate the rate. Another plus, is that the hotel staff are friendly to children.

The people at reception make the hotel what it is. Otherwise we are not sure it will get the reviews it gets. Americans seem to overwhelming dominate in terms of visitors and senior managers - lots of gringo ladies around for yoga too which increases the traffic. May also explain so many trip advisor reviews. Perhaps it is merited, perhaps not.

We found the free breakfast limited (e.g. toast, watery juices, and nescafe coffee). The food at the restau is good, but always consistently good and it can take a long time to get room service, as some staff prioritize in restau eating. Restau waiters also seem preoccupied with propina (tips) which can be quite annoying at times esp if all you want to grab is a coke.

Room itself is simple, which is good. The mexican ceramics in the bathroom is nice and adds a touch of character to the place. Our room had no balcony (and we were ok with this, as they do not seem safe). The water pressure is lousy and it usually has hot water, but not always. Flat screen tv and selection is adequate. The microwave, fridge and water were also nice extras.

The family pool is in a high traffic area with lots of workmen lurking around pool area and it can be noisy, and not very relaxing. Pool needs renovating, as paint flakes are coming off, also it needs to be cleaned, and chlorine added regularly.

If the family pool is too crowded as there are lim chairs, one can go to the beach.The hotel has an arrangement (you pay a reduced fee) with a few nearby beach clubs, Kool, is by the far best one because the beach is nice.

Overall, a nice place to stay. It is not a stand out hotel but for the price one can be comfortable enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Having visited over 20 resorts in the Riviera Maya area, mostly all-inclusives of varying levels, we decided to try a few nights "off the beach" in a smaller, boutique hotel. So glad we picked the Aventura Mexicana.

This is the essence of friendly, welcoming, efficient staff. Simple clean accommodation, with all most people need. Bed was hard, but no problems sleeping. Free wifi available round the pool, at Mayan Bistro and lobby - and we even managed to get it in our room near the adult pool.

The wonderful, tropical landscaping and the little pools with loungers, make the bustle of Playa seem far away. There is access to two beach clubs - Indigo, which is free and Kool which gives a 10 peso discount for AM guests and cost us 70 pesos each. The AM provides beach towels. We preferred the location of Kool. Both are over 10 mins walk away. Be warned - food and drinks at each are not cheap....

We took advantage of the VIP all-inclusive plan for the days we were there and it was such good value - The Mayan Bistro prepares such great food, fresh, hot and tasty and the cocktails were made with premium liquor and delicious (think real coconut shreds in your Pina Colada:):)

Andy was very quick in answering queries before our trip and in granting room request. All the staff are very service oriented and eager to please. There were quite a few repeat guests when we were there and I can see why:):) Very social place too.

Gracias to all at AM!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Trip advisor helped me choose this hotel for my 1st trip to Playa Del Carmen. Everything I read made me think this was a hotel for me--and I was right!! I was looking for a small hotel with a restaurant near 5th Ave and this one was a perfect fit. The hotel is very pretty, very casual and a few steps away from 5th Ave. My room was comfortable and in spite of what others said about the beds being too hard,I was happy with my bed. The restaurant ,Mayan Bistro, is fantastic. The meals were wonderful and very generous portions. Everything was made fresh and tasted as delicious as it looked. The staff is one of the many reasons I would not only recommend this hotel but it's why I'll be going back. The entire staff is attentive,friendly and very likable. This trip is the 1st I've taken alone and would encourage other women to try Hotel Aventura Mexicana without reservation. Thank you to Andy,Rob and the staff for making my trip perfect!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This quiet, oaisis in the storm that is Playa Del Carmen is the place to stay. From the front desk to the restaurant, to your room, there is a wonderful staff to ensure you have what you need and want. It is a 2 minute walk to 5th Avenue and also a short walk to restaurants, bars and the beach. Even the bank if you need it. Can't say enough about this hotel. The surroundings are lush and tropical, it is well taken care of by a friendly staff. You will not go wrong by staying here. I stayed 6 nights and was sorry to leave.

Room Tip: They have an adult and a family section, just let them know where you want to stay and if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Trip Advisor #20 hotel & restaurant! We're located 2 blocks from Playa Del Carmen's famous white, sandy beaches and just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue; full of shops & restaurants.

We're a cozy boutique hotel with a lush, tropical courtyard and waterfall, 2 swimming pools, 3 sun decks and chaise lounges for sunbathing, relaxing, or canoodling.

All guestrooms include inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, phones and private bathrooms. We also offer rooms with balconies or verandas.

Our amenities include Continental breakfast, free inroom wi/fi, free on-site parking and free beach club access. We also offer yoga class and discounted day passes to the world class gym across the street.

Our Mayan Bistro restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service. The Mayan Bistro also offers THE VIP, our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through out website.

Indulge in a variety of spa services perfectly at the Beauty Korper Spa located on the hotel grounds. We can coordinate your transportation, arrange tours and ensure you have a wonderful vacation in Playa! ... more   less 

Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.