We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with an even greater location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aventura Mexicana to your Saves list
Aventura Mexicana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Free Food & Drinks!
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with an even greater location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Playa del Carmen was made so much more enjoyable due to our wonderful stay at Hotel Aventura Mexicana. The staff were friendly and courteous.

Location
The hotel is located super close to the popular 5th Ave where all the restaurants, bars, and shopping areas are. 5th Ave was literally just a few steps away from the hotel entrance.
We traveled with LivingSocial and are so happy with the accommodations they had arranged for us! After a long day out in the hot sun with high humidity, it always felt great to return to the air conditioned hotel which we called home for 4 nights.
Room
Our room was extremely clean and spacious for two people. We upgraded to the honeymoon room (1400) located on the first floor right next to the Mayan Bistro. The noise level was at a minimum throughout our entire stay even though we were close to the restaurant/bar. Room had a full kitchen area, an enclosed bathroom, and a king size bed.
Food
The Mayan Bistro within the hotel had great food and drinks. We unfortunately didn't buy the all inclusive package, but those who did all gave great reviews of the food and said it was a great deal. If you're up for exploring, a short walk away takes you to all the restaurants on 5th Ave. I would recommend eating at Los Tacos and hanging out at the Chocolate Cafe for great food and non-alcoholic drinks.
Currency Exchange
There were many convenient currency exchange booths throughout 5th Ave. Most looked very legitimate and exchanging dollars for pesos was not a problem. Many of the restaurants also took credit card. So it was very convenient.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the honeymoon room if you're traveling as a couple. A lot of extra space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    275
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
194
526
50
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed our recent 7 day stay at Aventura Mexicanon Our first visit to Playa
Rooms were cleaned and air was cool, had an end room across from Bistro and was never bothered by diners or party noise. Did hear motorcycles on street a few times
While a small place it offered everything we could ask for. My husband would like some other beer selection but it was Modelo light or dark which was fine. Have to give special cudos to Alfredo and Dora -the day staff who are superb servers anticipating every need.
Evening staff were a little too social with family and or friends-which didn't allow them
attention to be focused on all the diners/drinkers. Overall I have no complaints, loved staying there and having checked out several places around -it is a great deal
We haope to stay again in February

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I recently had a 7 day stay at Aventura Mexicana and it was great. The hotel is actual 2 small hotels linked together. The staff was outstanding in service from the front desk crew right down to the cleaning staff. Our room was spacious and bright over looking the waterfall and pool. If you require anything just ask and they will accomodate your needs. They also offer a meal and drink plan for $36 US dollars a day and the resturant Mayan Bistro was the best food I have had. I will defently be back to Aventura Mexicana real soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castroville, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Aventura Mexicana Hotel in PDC and was really happy with my stay. First the restaurant serves a great continental breakfast (toast, pastries, tea, juices, ect) that will satisfy anyone. However, if you want to go full breakfast they have the American breakfast for a very reasonable 70MX! The room was immaculate and certainly met all my needs from cleanliness to comfort. I requested a ground floor room and that was provided. The service from the front desk and the maid service was more than adequite. The waiters at the restaurtant were pleasant and helpful. Location, Location! The hotel is located just off 5th St so its accessible but you avoid all the nightlife noise. Perfect! I would definitely consider staying here again! Saving the best for last.......the price is very affordable on almost any budget!

Room Tip: I preferred the ground floor, the reason being I didn't want to carry my SCUBA equipment up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The staff were so accommodating even the ones who spoke no Ingles! Thanks to Christopher and the front desk staff for taking time out to make our stay memorable. The ambiance was great especially after having a horrible flight. Lots of little nooks to relax in and the food at the restaurant was bueno

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I arrived at the hotel all sweaty on a hot, humid day. We checked in in 5 minutes and got our room. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite since the price was pretty good for that. I don't think we really needed just for us 2, but it was really nice and spacious. We were there for 4 nights, with Living Social, and had people over every night for drinks because we were right in front of the pool/restaurant. Air conditioning worked amazingly well, making our room a safe haven, day and night. We never got maid service, as we kept pretty neat and only used the room to shower and sleep. All the hotel staff was so pleasant and genuinely smiled every encounter. When I go back to PDC, I will be staying here for sure. There is no doubt. So serene and peaceful, yet close to the heart of the town. Amazing hotel. Thank you so much guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excelent staff team. All of them very helpful and ready to help anytime. Two small swimming pools, perfect to stay after the beach and before dinner. Complimentary continental breakfast good enough. If you need something else, you can ask or go to some good coffee houses nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Playa's only Trip Advisor #20 hotel & dinner restaurant! We're located 2 blocks from Playa Del Carmen's famous white, sandy beaches and just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue; full of shops & restaurants. We're a cozy boutique hotel with a lush, tropical courtyard and waterfall, 2 swimming pools, 3 sun decks and chaise lounges for sunbathing, relaxing, or canoodling. All guestrooms include inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, phones and private bathrooms. We also offer rooms with balconies or verandas. Our amenities include Continental breakfast, free inroom wi/fi, free on-site parking and free beach club access. We also offer yoga class and discounted day passes to the world class gym across the street. The Mayan Bistro restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service. The Mayan Bistro also offers THE VIP, our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through out website. Indulge in a variety of spa services perfectly at the Beauty Korper Spa located on the hotel grounds. We can coordinate your transportation, arrange tours and ensure you have a wonderful vacation in Playa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.