We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Sisters vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aventura Mexicana to your Saves list
Aventura Mexicana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Free Food & Drinks!
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Get Sisters vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here with my sister in May 2011, who had never been to Mexico. I found this hotel on trip advisor and stopped by to check in out while in PDC in February 2011 with my spouse. It seemed perfect. They were kind enough to show us a room. I am not sure how old the place is but it feels very new. It is totally respectably clean, neat and modern. Our room had 2 queen beds, a small refrigerator, hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, TV, nice towels, phone, clock radio and large bathroom with nice shower. There is internet access in the lobby but since we were on the first floor, we also got it in our room. The staff were FANTASTIC. The front desk helped me with my spanish. The breakfast staff in the restaurant were also very nice. Always acting like they were happy to serve you. The hotel has many nice statues, 2 pools. They can also arrange trips for you. We were surprised to get daily vouchers for use of the "Kool Club" beach area. This was nice but you cannot bring any other beverages (including water). You have to purchase everything from them. That being said, we had several drinks and ate lunch there several times and it only cost around $20.00 usd. The Kool Club has a very nice pool. Eventhough the Aventura Mexicana is not right on the beach, it is totally within walking distance and the area is very quiet. It is only 1/2 block from 5th avenue. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. If I wanted to find anything that wasn't good, I would say that the white tile floor in our room had some large gray stains. Looked like the tile needed to be cleaned with muriatic acid. It was not surface dirt, rather something deeper. If you stay here, you will be happy. I have stayed at many hotels in PDC and this is one of the best for a moderate price. You can find cheaper but you get what you pay for and of course, you can get many places more expensive but my question is "why"? Every person who stays in PDC gets to walk the same streets, hang on the same beaches. Don't pay a high price for nothing. Enjoy yourself.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    294
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
205
553
56
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
long beach, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was the first time i have stayed at a boutique hotel. I found this hotel to be very clean and the grounds was well taken care of. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel room was small but accomadated us well. Yes, the bathroom did not have a door. It was kind of wierd but it worked. I also didnt like the water pressure or temperature but that might be a mexico thing.
All in all i think this a great hotel and worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was my fourth vacation in Playa Del Carmen and Aventura Mexicana has been my favorite hotel so far. This trip was a girl's trip. If you are looking for a moderately priced hotel close to the beach and to nightlife, I would recommend this hotel. Our room was a superior double double and was like having our own two bedroom apartment. It also had a little kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator and a bathroom with double sinks. The Aventura provides towels and passes to the Kool beach club, a short 5 minute walk to the beach. The restaurant, the Mayan Bistro, has excellent food and daily food and drink specials. We did not opt for the all-inclusive option, but probably will the next time we stay as this is one of the only "boutique" hotels that offers all-inclusive and it seems like a good deal. Antonio at the front desk was always very helpful and friendly and I would also recommend talking to Luis who can book excursions for you and give you recommendations for things to do based on your interests. I will definitely choose the Aventura for my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior double double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Please don't let the average rating fool you. There are no negatives to this hotel. It's just that compared to the very lavish accomodations offered in Playa del Carmen, it is just a basic hotel. I can't say enough about Luis at the front desk. He was always helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotless and didn't smell like mildew (like a lot of places off of the beach), the AC worked great, the location was central. The two best things about this hotel are the price and trhe fact that there are no surprises or people trying to get one over on you. Just good people willing to take care of you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Everything about this hotel is great! The grounds, rooms, Mayan Bistro and the staff are all fantastic. Just off la Quinta, within walking distance of everything; shopping, food (not really needed, the food at the Bistro is better than anything you can find on 5th Av), beach, a gym right across the street, it's all right here. I have stayed in all inclusive resorts in the area and Aventura beats them hands down. If you are looking to truly experience Playa this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lockport, ny
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We had a great stay at the Hotel Aventura Mexicana. Our 21 & 18 year old sons had a deluxe double with a sliding glass door right at the pool, really great room decor and great location with a water fall right outside their room. My husband and I were in room 400 a deluxe king. Both rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The only negative on room 400 is it has a mirrored door and on the other side is a storage room that the restaurant uses. The light shines through and at times it can be nosey wit the staff getting their supplies. The room is also right next to the kitchen and I would suggest they fill in the area with more plants so if you want to sit outside the room you are more comfortable and not looking at garbage cans. Just some constructive feedback - we loved, loved, loved this hotel!

The grounds are beautiful, the pools, the upper decks, etc. just lovely. It is a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere but, close and convenient to beaches and 5th Avenue.

Get a massage with Oscar - he is the best!!

Most importantly is the restaurant staff Aldo, Betty & Chef Marco - we love you! We had great times eating & drinking and getting to know new friends in the Mayan Bistro. Hotel Management - your staff is your true treasure. From Andy's help with the reservations to the staff on site - you have good people! Thank you for making us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mollymook
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We picked the Hotel based on location and reviews on Trip Advisor. The staff who are on the desk 24 hrs are fantastic, they really gave good advice on tours etc, everything could be organised by the Hotel and was with the minimum of fuss. The food in the restaurant was lovely.
The location was superb! One step out of the Hotel and you were in Playa Del Carmen! Short stroll to the beach (Beach Club is included) also 100 mtres to 5th Ave and 10th Ave.
We would not stay any where else and highly recomment the Hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful. If you want a real 'Mexican' experience stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Playa's only Trip Advisor #20 hotel & dinner restaurant! We're located 2 blocks from Playa Del Carmen's famous white, sandy beaches and just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue; full of shops & restaurants. We're a cozy boutique hotel with a lush, tropical courtyard and waterfall, 2 swimming pools, 3 sun decks and chaise lounges for sunbathing, relaxing, or canoodling. All guestrooms include inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, phones and private bathrooms. We also offer rooms with balconies or verandas. Our amenities include Continental breakfast, free inroom wi/fi, free on-site parking and free beach club access. We also offer yoga class and discounted day passes to the world class gym across the street. The Mayan Bistro restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service. The Mayan Bistro also offers THE VIP, our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through out website. Indulge in a variety of spa services perfectly at the Beauty Korper Spa located on the hotel grounds. We can coordinate your transportation, arrange tours and ensure you have a wonderful vacation in Playa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.