We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madre Tierra

Madre Tierra
Quinta Avenida | esp. calle 14 Nte, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
984-8030333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 730 restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Read the prior reviews and headed here for our last dinner inPDC. Nice open location, with a nice breeze that u don't get at ground level. Also you don't have to deal with the musicians, flower sellers, and timeshare salesman! The house Cab was very good as were our salads. Wife had the 250 gram lobster and loved it. My steak was perfect. Service was great throughout the meal. Will eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    102
    60
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, TX
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We discovered Madra Tierra many years ago while shopping on Avenida Quinta in the evening. We looked up and saw an inviting, lively restaurant upstairs, so up we went! We now make it a point to go every time we are visiting the Mayan Riviera. Our friends love it too. The food is very high quality and the plate presentation is oftentimes photo-worthy. Several of our group (me included) are hooked on the tuna steak that comes with a delicious teriyaki drizzle. The atmosphere is top-notch as diners are perched above the bustling streets below making for great people watching and viewing all of the night lights. On one visit, it began raining yet we remained dry in the open air restaurant...the rain added yet another element to the entire wonderful experience. Never disappointed with anything at Madre Tierra. We have been there about seven times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful fresh grouper and cesar salad. Lovely table overlooking 5th Ave for people watching. When we went back a second time, they remembered us right down to the delicious wine we ordered and made sure we had the same high corner table. Ordered lobster and steak the second time, both delicious. Hostess, waiter and assistant friendly and accommodating. Have been to many Playa del Carmen restaurants over the years and this is one of the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, but I would not give it an excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant because it had a nice balcony. It is indeed very nice to view the avenida from abovea. Service is quick and very good, food though does not get full points. we ordered the arrachera and compared to the one we had in El asadero in tulum it was just ok. My children had a salad with what was described in the menù as grilled chicken, which was instead fried bits of chicken meat. Quite disappointing. The one good thing was the guacamole, they prepare it directly at your table, so that is something nice to see. Paid around 800 pesos for one salad with chicken that my two children shared, one mixed salad, one guacamole, two arrachera, two beers and one water. Not a bad choice but I would not recommend it to other people

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Went on advice from Tripadvisor...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We searched Tripadvisor for a great restaurant in Playa. This is what we found on the site and we were not disappointed. We ordered many different dishes so we could sample and also see the show of a fresh made Cesar Salad at the table. It is fun to watch and it does taste particularly fresh.
Food definitely upper class. The blackened squid was brilliant.
In this review I can say that I appreciated the recommendation from Tripadvisor as much as the nice experience at Madre Tierra.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madre Tierra also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Madre Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madre Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.