We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexicana Deliciosa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xulam The Mayan Fisher - CLOSED

Xulam The Mayan Fisher
Av 10 # 1 esquina 3 sur Plaza Antigua | Before enter at Playacar Palace, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
984 803 35 67
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Taxi
Description: Xulam is a unique restaurant concept where you can taste the ancestral Mayan flavors of Mexico with specialties in regional cuisine, including exquisite dishes from the rest of Mexico, with an ambience of colors and sounds from the jungle. Coming to Xulam will be great atmosphere, architecture and gastronomy awesome food will make your dining experience an unforgettable trip through Mayan History. Xulam es un concepto unico en restaurantes en el que podras degustar los sabores ancestrales de Mexico con especialidades en comida regional, sin dejar fuera exquisitos platillos del resto de nuestro pais, en un ambiente donde los colores y sonidos de la jungla se hacen presentes. Venir a Xulam es toda una experiencia donde la Arquitectura, Fauna y Gastronomia se combinan para hacer de tu estancia un viaje inolvidable al pasado de nuestros Mayas
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mexicana Deliciosa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Location: Perfect, right next to 5th Ave but enough off of the beaten path to not be bothered by 5th avenue employees.
Food: Delicious! I had the bacon wrapped stuff shrimp which were really good. My husband had the lobster tacos which were very very good. He had a coconut frozen margarita and I had a regular one, both being an average margarita.
STAFF: One word...AWESOME! German Borges (waiter) and Luis (Manager) were extremely nice and efficient.
Ambiance: Cool Parrots outside which you can put on your arm and take pictures with. Restaurant itself was well decorated with a Mexican feel.
We wish we would have found this place earlier on in our stay but unfortunately we discovered it on our last day. Thanks for such wonderful service, delicious food and a warm, welcoming feeling.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    59
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience, Top Notch Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Location: Located in central Playa Del Carmen, fairly easy to find off of Av. 10.
Ambiance: Excellent. Mayan-inspired decor and architecture that is a little tourist-trappy, but fun nonetheless. The restaurant is clean, comfortable and the restrooms matched. I would sit inside to avoid any pesky mosquitos.
Service: Top notch. Wait staff was friendly, fun, and brought in one of the birds for my young niece to feed. She loved it. They definitely go the extra mile to make sure your experience is worthwhile.
Food: Excellent. I had the Mole Poblano, which was as good as any I've had. The other dishes were well recieved. I'm not sure anything was extraordinary, but you'll get a great meal. I wish I could've stayed for desert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Beware, this restaurant is located at the far end of Playa near the entrance to Playacar. The food is ok but definitely not worth travelling or walking a great distance. The starters are tasty but they are just a selection of tacos. The main courses are also tasty but but they are basically standard Mexican dishes. If you want a great selection of Mayan cuisine, there are better restaurants in Playa (eg Yauxche). The outdoor seating is shaded by large trees and you are surrounded by some colourful bird life. Overall, food is tasty but not worth going out of your way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must Dine Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Outrageously good food and Oh My ! what a fabulous desert. Service was great, recommendations were perfect and wine was divine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST MAYAN in YUCATAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have traveled to YUCATAN Pen., MX. For 30 years. This is the very best for Mayan/Aztec cuisine. Lots of authentic, unusual, delicious items on the menu. (See website complete info and story of the Mayan Fisherman). A dozen birds (parrots and other exotic) greet you at the entrance. The decor is replete with Mayan artifacts and sculptures; uniquely designed rest rooms (high end architecture); dramatic bar; AC indoor dining and private dining or outdoor seating available. Our waiter, IVAN, was a treasure-trove of info. Prices are moderate. Do not miss this, if you wish a real experience of Mayan culture.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xulam The Mayan Fisher also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xulam The Mayan Fisher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.