We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Mexico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #23 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
norfolk england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here may 28th for 2 weeks it was the best holiday we have ever had perfect room free upgrade as was on our honeymoon,the food was gorgeous nothing you would want for here ice cream to die for and desserts even chocolate fountains, free champagne at meals waiter service was very quick you really cant fault this place it was immaculate and clean as were the pools we are planning to return for our anniversary well done riu palace you made our honeymoon a perfect dream we will remember forever :)

Room Tip: coco bongos well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,903
    700
    195
    97
    55
See reviews for
548
1317
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Yes clean, employees constantly cleaning. Yes, nice property, but room smelled of mildew the entire trip. Building sweated, lots of condensation, paint bubbled outside of building. Everything inside our room felt wet, smell of mildew was hard to sleep. Not much to do, shops across the street and downtown 5th ave is $7.00 taxi ride with shops, restaraunts, and public beach. The people hawk you while walking the strip, a real pain and quite obnoxious if you didn't buy at their shop. All the same local stuff and stores rip you off when you pay with US money. They give you pesos back and each store changes the rate from 11, 11.50 to 12, go figure when it's one exchange rate. I found us to be the minority, most Europeans, not many Americans. Limited English spoken, very different then Cancun where they can speak English. The decor is tacky, doesn't feel like your in Mexico. It has bright lights like a big box store, does nothing for a women's face.....lol. It has purple velvet chairs with silver bubble sculptures, makes no sense. Went down the street to Riu Palace Riveria Maya and was much nicer place, decor was beautiful. Much nicer pool area as well, not sure why my travel agent sent me here and not there. I wouldn't go back because the mildew, food and not much to do.

Room Tip: Get as close to the pool as possible, huge property so lots of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent the first night in the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. It was a negative experience right from the start. The room was just across from some maintenance building and was very noisy all night long. The lunch restaurant by the beach is definitely not up to the Palace standard at all. Very old chairs, tables. Not much of a food selection, although we got there a little late. I asked for a cappuccino. It was not even close to that kind of a coffee. Being a little disappointed already we went for a walk to a nearby RIU Palace Mexico. This, hotel right from the first impression, gave us a little hope that our few day vacation wouldn't be wasted. We liked the more modern look of the lobby and the rest. Just personal preference I guess. Decided to move here as soon as possible. Both hotels didn't have any problems with our decision.
The problem started when the travel rep told us we would have to pay $230 for changing the hotels, even though we were technically downgrading. That upset me a lot. A quick Tequila helped to digest the situation. We were happy in the Palace Mexico for the rest of our stay and would recommend this Hotel for the first time goers. It's fairly simple laid out helps to navigate around the hotel property without much of a hustle. There is never enough to be said about the great hard working staff in any department. These people are amazing. The managers are on site as well.
I don't want mention any names from the staff because they all were simply the best!.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Riu Palace Mexico is situated on the beach in the upscale resort/residential area known as Playacar lying adjacent to the town of Playa Del Carmen. The list of superlatives for this all-inclusive property is impressive including location, resort amenities, scenic beauty and food. But, the service and people best define RPM and can be described as no less than “Superb”. I wish to thank Ernesta, Aida and Manuel for being ambassadors of professional service that is unsurpassed by any other resort property.

A beautiful palace-like facade and an air conditioned lobby greet you upon arrival. The newly renovated space is open with clean, colorful lines. Within the lobby area are a bar with two floors of seating, a coffee shop, a small souvenir store, the 24-hr lounge and a chapel.

The junior suites are also renovated and spacious. More European than Mexican, the style is accommodating and comfortable. A spacious shower with a rainfall shower head, a small water closet, an in-room tub with water jets and a seating area all combine to provide plenty of space to enjoy your vacation. Of course there is also a sliding glass door and a balcony to extend your enjoyment outside. We had a room on the third floor which afforded nice views of the property. Surprisingly, the electrical outlets were configured for US-styled plugs and provided 110V.

You can walk across the street and up one block to Plaza Playacar for shopping or arranging a tour. Or, a short cab ride will take you 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen for 70 to 100 pesos. Be sure to negotiate before you get in the cab.

Food – Excellent! The breakfast/dinner buffet was indescribably good and very well presented. One night it served lobster; every night there was an impressive array of delicious desserts. Room service was available with a limited menu. The lunch buffet is conveniently located pool side so you don’t have far to walk. We tried three of the restaurants which require reservations. The Bodega (Mexican food) was excellent. The steak house at Guacamole served an interesting seafood appetizer and a dessert Alaska that was flambéed at the table.

Of course the beautiful beach is the main attraction. No rocks, only soft sand. Lounge chairs are arranged under palm trees. The water is turquoise. Drinks are served by an attendant. There are some vendors, but they are not at all pushy. Just politely say no if you’re not interested. While we were there, the beach (which fluctuates in size seasonally) was wide and flat. One very nice feature of the beach is that a short, 10-min walk takes you to an undeveloped section of beach that extends all the way to Xcaret. The beach is lined with short sand dunes covered with scenic vegetation and rock formations you can use to frame memorable pictures.

For those so inclined, there are also three pools where you can just lounge or participate in scheduled activities. The Jacuzzi is a fun stop at the spa located near one of the pools.

A perk for the Palace property is that it allows you access to the other Riu properties in Playacar. One day, we walked along the boulevard for shopping, stopped at Riu Palace Riviera Maya for lunch, combed the beach to Riu Playacar where we toured the property for future reference and then walked back down the street to Riu Yucatan where we had a drink during a surprise down pour. One night, we went across the street to Riu Tequila for the Mexican Independence Day party. Riu Tequila also has a disco.

So you’re aware, Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby area. Be careful of the tile floors which are very slippery when wet. Smoking is prevalent in many of the common areas on the property.

It was such a good overall experience, that we are already making plans to return to Riu Palace Mexico and have enrolled in the Riu loyalty program.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the theater if night-time activities will bother you. The show is usually o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Riu Palace in the Playacar Resort near Playa Del Carmen in Mexico. This hotel was refurbished last year which we witnessed while staying at the Riu Tequila just across the road. The Hotel has a very modern feel now with the Hotel communal areas and the décor of the rooms all very modern and not the hacienda style it once was. What makes this hotel exceptional though is the staff, they all are extremely professional and provide a service second to none with a smile and perfect manners. The Food provided was superb, with choices to such an extent that it would be impossible to Dine without finding something that you enjoyed and were satisfied with. The bar and drinks services were also superb along with the room cleaning and overall diligence of all the staff. We must mention Rafael with thanks a Maitre De who looked after us during our stay. This Hotel is a must for those who like real All Inclusive 5 star Holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the end of the Wings with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

stayed at this amazing Hotel.. rooms so clean, food 1st class, staff very attentive, swimming pool amazing, beaches fantastic .. what else can i say .. i would highly recommend this fabulous first class hotel :-) ... well done Riu !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel right on the beach in beautiful Playa del Carmen. The area is very relaxed with a nice big beach a beautiful calm clear waters (most of the time-seen some rough waves a couple times but not often). The hotel is amazing. Beautiful lobby and restaurants. The Krystal and Japanese restaurants are not to be missed. The steak house is also great just like at any other Riu. They also have a Brazilian restaurant with a selection of around 12 meats that come to the table. Even the regular buffet restaurant offers a great selection of food and theme nights on different days of the week. Of course my favorite part as always is the breakfast buffet. I went with my boyfriend and another couple we are friends with and taking them to a Riu Palace for their first ever all-inclusive vacation blew them away. The service is excellent. That seems to be what you pay extra for when staying in a palace as compared to a regular Riu. There are several in the area so if you don't want to spend the extra money for the Riu Palace experience the other resorts are very nice and you get the same great beach and surrounding attractions. All the rooms were very nice but we were on the first floor and there were some mosquitoes to bother us while sitting on the patio. You have a mini fridge full of XX and a liquor dispensor with 4 different selections. The hotel is fairly easy to get around and not really big or spread out. The pool is quite small but we are more for the beach anyway. Also you can see a variety of wildlife at the hotel and the surrounding Rius. We saw agouti, coati mundi, and monkeys. You can visit all the surrounding Rius if you like to explore which was really fun. And you can stop at every bar along the way if you want. The stage is pretty small compaqred to other hotels. The service was absolutely excellent. I always recommend Riu. Our trip was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.