We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay and will return again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Mexico to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay and will return again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our third trip to RPM but the first since the major remodel. We had been to another RIU Palace in Punta Cana and already knew what to expect with the colors. Also had been watching the pictures that had been posted .

We had an excellent time. From the moment we arrived until we departed we were treated like royalty. We had no problems with the service we received from staff at the front desk. They were very eager to help you. YES, we had to wait on our room but we arrived about 1:30 p so knew that would be the case. Our room was ready within an hour of our arrival.

Thought the rooms looked so much brighter than the old ones. No, we don't care for the color scheme but it grows on you and I feel the shower is a big improvement over the old tub/shower combo. I know a lot of people have complained about the tub being I. The middle of the room, but we were fine with it.

We only ate at 2 of the a la cartes. We preferred the Buffett. They always had a good selection of various types of food. Enjoyed seeing the different ways the displayed the food.
Don't know how anyone could go hungry here.

We spent most of our time at the beach. We were there mid January and never had trouble finding a lounger. There were also loungers available at the pool. Resort was reported to being full, but we never felt crowded.
Loved walking the beach in both directions and walking to Playa.
We like the location of the RIU hotels since can either walk the beach or walk the sidewalk to Playa.

As far as the bar service, we felt it was great. We spent a lot of time at the lobby bar and was vey pleased that they kept the wood there. Do like that they changed the staircase and the area above the bar is more open with the glass panels.
There are so many staff that made our stay special. From management, Francesca and ILdiko. To the lobby bar staff, Hiram and Maria.
Our room was always kept clean, fridge always stocked. Never any issues with towels or wash cloths.

I had emailed the resort prior to arrival regarding my husband's birthday and ILdiko had our table decorated that night, cake for my husband and our room was decorated.

We feel they go,out of their way to make your visit memorable.

We will return again. Plan on bringing our fiends with us next time.
Just go and enjoy yourself. Enjoy the Mexican people and their culture. We always feel welcome here.

Room Tip: Would recommend. Superior jr suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,134
    769
    209
    102
    60
See reviews for
633
1,482
28
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just got back yesterday from a wonderful week at Riu Palace Mexico. Staff was wonderful, rooms great and location was perfect. Lobby bar was a great place to start and end your day.
My only complaint is the king bed is actually 2 queens pushed together...so there is an obvious seam in your bed and seperate bedding...not very romantic if your a couple.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Riu Palace Mx for a week. We usually stay at Sando in Playacar but decided to choose a different resort. This resort is alot smaller then other places we have stayed in Riveria Maya area but the staff, food, beach, and atmosphere was top notched. Only thing we didn't like was that men have to wear pants to the nightly buffets. I understand the reservation restuarants you should but buffet. Its MX we come to wear shorts to get away from wearing jeans or pants in our cold weather back home so this was a disappointment but still had a fun time. Ate at the Steak restaurant and it was delicous and staff were amazing. We were served drinks on the beach around the clock and didn't have to leave our chairs. We could always find a lounge chair at the beach also. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent a week there in February with friends. The service, the location, the food, the beach were all excellent. The people are so very friendly and helpful. The food is great and the selection is impressive. Try the little restaurants - just make sure to get to the reservation point a little earliy in the morning. The beach is perfect - sun or shade, active in the water or lounging in a chair. We really enjoyed the area also - being within walking distance of 4 other Riu hotels to visit was a fun little thing to do in our afternoon strolls. I have read complaints about the food and the dampness of the rooms - here are my thoughts: if you are expecting better food or service at an all-inclusive restaurant feeding several hundred people at each seating, you are unreasonable. The only place I have had better food or service is at a VERY expensive restaurant. This is excellent friendly service with a great selection of food to appeal to everyone - sweet-lovers, health nuts, vegetarians, kids, and anyone looking for a great meal after a long day in the sun. I have stayed at several beach resorts in Hawaii and the Carribean - it's a beach! Things get damp! The rooms are very comfortable and the air-conditioning works great. If you leave your patio door open - things will get damp. Not the hotel's fault. If you don't like humiditiy, don't visit a beach resort. This hotel does everything to make your stay comfortable - let them know if you need something and they will take care of you. We will be back to this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are nicer. Some have said the second floor rooms are better - maybe true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has been completely remodeled! The lay out of the rooms is different, the pool area changed (Now there are more pools instead of only a huge one) They added infinity pools, the restaurants, the lobby everything looks very white, pink and purple....very art deco type of thing...I kind of felt in South Beach. I liked the changes, all the Riu Palaces rooms are identical. We always reserve the jacuzzi suite, and there comes a moment that you don't know if you were in Cabo, Puerto Vallarta or Riviera Maya. I like that this one stands out and I would not confuse it. Food was good, we stayed 8 nights, two nights we had lobster and one king crab legs.

This hotel is smaller than the other Riu Palace in Playacar which I believe feels a little more exclusive.

Also it seems that they are now playing more latin music, which I believe is one of the reasons you travel to a different country is to experience their culture.

The only thing I don't understand is why the entertainment for kids goes all the way to 8:30 PM in the main theater/bar area...first I think is late for little ones (this helps them get jacked up when you are trying to calm them down so they can go to bed), and second of all, who wants to have a relaxing drink while listening to clowns and kids music???? So maybe they could relocate their entertainment space or simply reschedule to an appropriate kid time?

Overall, great option to stay!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Suites are nice, but is only worth it if you really take advantage of the upstair's terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a great time from 2-16-13 through 2-20-13. Beautiful property, great food and drinks, beautiful balcony room 20 feet from pool and 500 feet from ocean. Very family friendly with different activities each night. VERY attentive staff. Mini-bar restocked TWICE daily. Many different restaurant, bar, and buffet choices. Has a premium liquor selection a step above most all-inclusive resorts. Close to Xel-Ha, Xcaret, Tulum, and Dolphin Discovery. Overall a great trip that should have been twice as long.

Room Tip: Get an inner suite overlooking the pool near the ocean end of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed a few years ago and never left a review. The hotel, staff, food, beach and all inclusive we're amazing. We snorkelled,iin the clear warm sea with turtles and also snorkelled in the cool waters in the cynotes which were in the jungle. Truly amazing holiday. Don't usually revisit a place as there is so many places we've not been, but, really considering going back to Rui Palace Mexico.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter , who wants to be in a room when you are in such a beautiful place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???L. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.