We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful all-inclusive stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Mexico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #23 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“beautiful all-inclusive stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Long overdue review. My husband and I stayed here for 6 days in March - before we were engaged. We loved the service!! We ordered rrom service four times - part of the inclusive package - and the servers brought red roses to our room each time. The caesar salad was great. Each room as a bar with four bottles of top shelf liquor, and a fridge stocked with juice, soda, and domestic beer. The food overall was above average with a wide variety. We loved how the resort had atleast five bars to choose from. The service was excellent. I especially loved the Japanese and Brazillian restaurants. My husband loved the breakfast buffet. The swim up and tiki bars were also our favorites. Just a short walk away is a little market square with a few boutiques, a pharmacy, and souvenir shops - indoors and outside. Downtown Playa Del Carmen was just a $10 taxi ride - a must see! The grounds were beautiful as are the pools and beach - very clean; friendly stay. We had a garden view room, but still our stay here helped make Riviera Maya one of our favorite trips.

Room Tip: pool or ocean/beach view better choices over garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,902
    697
    195
    97
    55
See reviews for
547
1314
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ok- long over due review.
We stayed at the riu palace in July this year. Myself, my partner and 16yr old daughter. We chose this hotel for my partners 50th birthday, after reading many of the reviews. We like what we like, as we all do, but the overall opinion is of a particular high standard. That's why we chose this place for our special event.
There's not really much more that anyone can contribute to an already immense trip advisor following on this hotel, however I would just like to add our touch.
Right- our daughter has suffered with asthma- the hotel provided us with an ionizer for the room to ensure a comfortable stay and peace of mind. I might add, I didn't request this it was a personal touch. The room was more than acceptable, yes dated!! but very clean, and maintained to an exceptional standard each day.
The complex/hotel was very safe. Very appealing to all age categories and more than comfortable.
The beach area was great! Cocktails brought to your sun beds ! What more do you require or want. A special mention to the amazing Alonso! Nothing was too much trouble, in regards to his service in whatever area he was in.
I don't really need to mirror all the previous reviews, I just would like to take this opportunity to support them.
The staff and management really care about all guests having a phenomenal time! Truly.
Many guests there this year that we met had been to this hotel more than once, some several.
That's an accolade in itself.
We as a family will definitely return next year after the refurbishments without hesitation.
So, in a nutshell. From a well travelled family, don't hesitate, food just superb! Service- up there with the best- entertainment- what you would expect! Cindy and crew!!! Well done.
Certainly, would have no issues in recommending this hotel! The negatives quite clearly cannot be pleased.
Thank you To all in the Riu Palace Mexico. We will definitely be seeing you all again?

Room Tip: Overlooking the pools. The best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Beaches were nice, food was great. Steakhouse just ok. Overall service was great and we enjoyed ourselves. Location was safe and clean. We liked having the freedom to enjoy other Riu properties thatwere close by if we wanted. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

All I can say is FABULOUS!!!!! The staff, the hotel, the beaches, the pool, the area, all absolutely brilliant. The staff could not do enough for you and the animation team are first class. Many thanks and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here in July with my family and we loved it! You are pretty close to town (a short drive, taxi ride or a longer walk), which has lots of shopping and great restaurants! The hotel itself was fantastic! Big rooms with balconies and beautiful views of the grassy courtyard and fountains, fantastic service and HUGE and DELICIOUS food buffets.... different every night too! The beach area was fun and we enjoyed the pool and many different options for food and drinks throughout the day. If this is not good enough, you can go to all of the other Riu hotels free as well for amenities, variety, etc!

We were very impressed with the hotel, had a fantastic vacation, and would go back for sure!

Two quick complaints...
the hotel claims to have two tennis courts, but have one of the two covered in building supplies that look like they have been there quite a while. If you are a tennis player and looking forward to this amenity, know that you can also use the courts at the neighboring Riu resort which has 4 beautiful courts in their garden-like area.

Second, the beds are almost crunchy feeling! Yuck... it feels like they have used bed protectors made out of crunchy plastic that makes noise when you roll over. This would be something that the hotel could fix to drastically improve the quality of sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have much better views, and the further towards the beach, the better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

One of the top RIUs I've ever stayed in! Even the wood room numbers were polished on a daily basis! Attention to detail was unbelievable. Staff was very friendly and even engaging! A first for traveling in Mexico!

Room Tip: Ground floor between the pools and the lobby worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

What can I say beautiful hotel lovely decor staff who cannot do enough for you . I was there for my birthday and came back the night before it to champagne and chocolate covered strawberries the following night the same but white wine this time. Food was lovely particularly where ever you ate but especially yashima and krystals. The animation staff were superb a fourteen hour day meant nothing to them Ricky is a legend and angle so warm friendly and helpful good luck with your future It's worth saying that two of the crew were fifteen and sixteen but you would never know so professional. The only thing that could be better was the slightly uncomfortable beach sunbeds but with tummy full of excellent food and drinks supplied by the incomparable Santos we are definitely coming back ASAP Thank you for an. Unforgettable holiday

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.