We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again, another wonderful visit and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Mexico to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #19 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Again, another wonderful visit and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We just returned from our 2nd stay at the RPM. We had yet another wonderful visit.
Room was not ready upon arrival but we arrived at noon and expected this. One of the staff from the front desk came and let us know that it was ready.

I had requested at least 2nd or 3rd floor and this was honored and we had the 2 full beds pulled together with the pad and it was just great. You could not tell it was 2 beds with this.
I know everyone says the bed it hard but it was just right for us.
Had left note the first day for extra water and Pepsi light and from then on had all we needed.

Our housekeeping staff was wonderful. It was cleaned close to the first thing every morning and we had towel art and flowers arranged. Evening turn down service was also good. Always had plenty of towels and face clothes. Housekeeping staff do not get enough praise for the work they do. They are excellent at meeting your needs and getting their work done.

Only issue we noted one day was that the pool around the pool bar area did not seem as clean as the other pool. May have been because of more people being in that area.

Music at night was great. Do enjoy this part of the resort.

We did not do any of the a la cartes but felt we had plenty to eat at the buffet each day and lot of variety. Would not have done this different. did not seem that people were having any problems making reservations.

Too many wonderful staff to name. We spent most of the time at the lobby and were taken very good care of by them. Elena, Hiram, Emmel just to name a few. I am not sure I have spelled the names correct. also want to thank Jaquin, one of the managers in the buffet area that we spoke with frequently. Very nice young man. Congrats on your upcoming wedding.

Front desk staff were very helpful when we had any questions. Never had any issues at all during our visit.
Like that the safe is digital, would be nice if no longer had the key for the door but can live with that. Also like the way they have done the doors so there is not the loud slam when people close their doors.

We felt welcome from the moment that we arrived until we left. Were asked when we would be coming back.

Would highly recommend this resort to anyone and plan on returning again soon.

Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable. Look forward to another visit soon

Room Tip: we did not notice any odors being on the 3rd floor. email resort prior to visit and they will do w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,012
    721
    202
    98
    58
See reviews for
595
1,388
25
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Thanks to Hurricane Irene - our family of 5 was able to extend our stay in PDC by three days. We started out with 8 days at the Riu Tequila which we thought was just fantastic with a value that could not be beat. However, when we realized we could have 3 more days in paradise we decided to see how life was with a "gold" bracelet...Thanks to TA - we had met up with another family with teens earlier in the week who had previously stayed at the Tequila who gently informed us that they had no regrets making the "upgrade". The only thing that was equal between both hotels was the extraordinary staff and service which is unparalleled anywhere I have traveld in the world.

So with packed bags at 9 am - we simply crossed the street and checked in. We did not expect to have a room right away and to our surprise 1 of our 2 rooms was ready. We made our reservations for Krystal and hit the beach. As it is really the same beach as the other Rius - there was no big difference there. However, as soon as we hit the pool we starting seeing a difference. There were no rowdy sports at the pool as at the Tequila. Thought my guys who fully partook in games would be missing that fun. Instead, there was a warm welcome from other TA family as well as all the other kids at the pool. While there were much fewer kids (and people in general it seemed), it was easier to interact with those who were there. Both my boys (14 & 9) made a bunch of friends that they saw throughout the 3 days. As the Tequila is so spread out with so many kids - my guys did not regroup with the same kids ever. RPM felt more like a country club where everyone knew everyone than an AI. I know that the RPM is quite big - but it never felt crowded like the Tequila or the Yucatan. The only thing missing was the Sportsbar which is fun in the evening for pool for boys and worth visiting. We did not like the Sportsbar at RPMR - very boring when we went.

We all noted a difference between drinks (kids & adults) between the Tequila and RPM. They had much better choices at RPM which were more fruit based. The kids and I all enjoyed the fruit punch. And later in the day the Coco Rossa was fabulous. You could have Cava morning, noon and night if you wanted. I'll get to the wine at dinner later.

There was a huge difference between the accommodations that we noted right away. While we had no view outside of palm trees - we thoroughly preferred the RPM. Standard rooms felt like suites. Balconies are huge! Bathrooms were large. And the woodwork was beautifully done in the room. Towels were white (as opposed to brown). And it felt like the room was constantly being spruced up. Turn down service is something I could get used to. The kids enjoyed room service for breakfast while us parents indulged in mimosas and the extensive breakfast buffet. Loved every minute of dining out on the patio in the morning. Best breakfast in the world - IMHO!

As everything seem smaller and more manageable at the RPM - as a family we split up for lunch. The boys (Dad included) preferred lunch at the beach: fiesta or beach restaurant. My daughter & I preferred to dine on linen with a glass of wine at lunch. Loved that we could all do what we wanted allowing special time for everyone.

The biggest surprise of all was that the kids (as well as the adults as well as the Maitre D) loved the "gourmet" a la carte restaurant Krystal so much we did it 2 nights in a row. I might also add everyone had clean plates (both nights). The quality of the food and service literally blew us away. Felt like we were dining in a top restaurant in NYC. Fantastic. At our first dinner, a German man was celebrating his birthday and it was so much fun when literally the whole room joined in singing. I think the overwhelming good will of everyone there inspired the man to then serve his cake to every table with an introduction and thanks for sharing with him such a happy day. I felt that this really reflected the ambiance at the RPM. While it may be a big international AI - it feels more like a very intimate club where everyone takes time to relax, indulge in the good things in life, enjoy each other and be open to meeting new people (staff & guests). It is such a beautiful setting which inspires such a wonderful experience on so many levels.

Obviously, we are planning on returning. The sooner the better!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Our first trip to Riu Palace was seven years ago and the second time was just as wonderful! The two most important factors for me are beach and cleanliness - so that is why I give this hotel five stars. The staff is beyond friendly and I always felt welcome. They go above and beyond for everything - service and entertainment. The grounds are meticulous and gorgeous. I can't comment on the pool area since I never went. The beach is great - lots of chairs and gorgeous water!!!!!! I was in heaven!!!!
I really liked the Krystal and Miyagi restaurants. The buffet was OK but I wasn't raving about it like the restaurants.
The rooms are very clean although their decor is outdated. We didn't spend much time in there though. What really sucked was the two full size beds pushed together. And the beds were very hard.

I highly recommend this place - and I definitely plan on returning!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our 7th. visit to the Riu Palace Mexico since first going when the Hotel was new in 2000.
We found the Hotel remains one of our favourites in 20 visits in Mexico, and 55 to the Caribbean. The service remains top notch from the Front Desk, to the wait staff, to the room cleaning, and the excellent dive staff Scuba Caribe. The beach, since the beach restoration last year is one of the best along the Mayan Coast-pure sand-no rocks or seaweed anywhere, and a good walking beach if you enjoy that- you can walk into town along the beach in about 30 minutes.
As always, you have access to all of the Riu Hotels if staying at either of the 2 "Palaces". The other Palace is newer, but tends to be a louder crowd, and does not have the same warm feel that the RPM has-just depend what you are looking for.
FYI- there are many new resorts along the mayan coast, but if you are looking for the best beaches, stick to Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, hotels in Maroma, or further south nearer to Tulum. We feel that Playa Del Carmen has the best of everything in the Mayan.

Room Tip: If you have visited before, send a note with the request a week before your arrival giving your Riu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay at the Riu Palace Mexico for two weeks (25th Aug - 9th Sep) and i cannot think of one thing which i would complain about or anything that we would change! For people who think this is a holiday for older people or families with children, then I should say that I am 21 and my boyfriend 24 so age really is important there is so much to do!

When we landed the coach was there waiting which was air conditioned and there were plenty of seats (which was nice as it was boiling outside), as promised we were the 2nd drop off along with only 2 other couples - pictures of the hotel dont do the building justice it is amazing (we both felt very excited when we pulled up as the 5* rating was obvious compaired to the hotel we had just dropped other people off at).
Check in was fast and we were told lost of information about the hotel and all the other Riu Hotels on the complex (all of which Riu Palace guests can use with just a flash of your gold wrist band) we recived a complementary fruit cocktail and were directed to our room, whilst a porter brought our bags.
There is so much i could write about this amazing hotel but here are just the main points I think would be helpful:
* TIP!!!! The staff are lovely all the time and will so anything for you but honestly a small tip here and there to the more attentive staff and you will notice a significant difference. We tipped a man who brings drinks on the beach (only 20 pesos) and we never had an empty glass he even brought down some Absolute Vodka to top up my cocktails!
*German in the buffet resteraunt truly made every tea time meal amazing, we tipped him and from then on he had a table with flowers and champagne flutes waiting for us!
*Trips, we did Chichen Itza and Coba although they seem similar in the thompson trip guide, if you enjoy history then its well worth doing them both!

Anyway hope this is helpful if you need anymore info or have any questions then dont hesitate to ask.

Room Tip: We were in 1038 which probably wasnt the best room as it over looked the walkway which Riu Tequilla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

just returned from Riu Palace Mexico, rooms spacious, staff wonderful nothing was to much trouble, I would go back in a tick, thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

A perfect vacation from the moment we arrived. Food, service and rooms were fantastic. The beach was so beautiful and there were plenty of chairs. Breakfast was the best meal of the day! But that's not to say dinner wasn't delicious each night.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.