We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a five star but pretty decent three-and-a-half.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tequila to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 19 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a five star but pretty decent three-and-a-half.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You get what you pay for -- not a five star as it claims to be -- more like a three and a half. Decent food, decent service, decent location.

If you want luxury or sophistication then book elsewhere. This is an inexpensive budget hotel (I paid approx $900 Canadian for the week in of early July 2013. Pretty cheap really. Good value for budget travelers).

The downside: Lot's of noisy kids, eager loud families and lost of friendly bustle. If you want a relaxing, quiet, luxury getaway spend a bit more money and book at a five star rather than here. Try the newly renovated Riu Palace next door (not the Riu Playacar or Tequila -- both these need a renovation updated).

Overall: A good value budget 3.5 star comfortable hotel for families with young kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,867
    1,387
    392
    106
    87
See reviews for
1,113
2,249
52
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratsburg Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Well my family and I stayed at the Riu this past July and thought it was beautiful. When you first arrive at the Riu we were greeted with a friendly reception staff and a couple glasses of fruit punch. I was very dissapointed to find that there was a big fly right in my drink. I couldnt drink it anymore and I wish I could've because it was amazing.

Area: The area is perfect for this hotel. There is a shopping area about 5-10 minutes away from the hotel. Also Playa Del Carmen is about 20-30 minutes away if you walked. It was also in a little devlopment with a bunch of other different hotels. You felt so protected in the little enviroment. It was perfect.

Rooms: When we got in our room it smelled very dirty and musty, but after awhile you got used to it. The beds are very hard which I surprisingly found comfy, but if you are a person who likes soft comfy beds, you're going to have a nightmare sleeping. The bathrooms are very nice,clean,and big. The toilet is in a seperate room with a door because the only thing that you use for privacy is curtains in which we found annoying after awhile. The shower is nice. The shower head is so nice and so powerful. The only dissapointment in the shower is that there is no light in the shower. Also in the bathroom there is a mini fridge stocked with beer,soda, and waters. There is also liquor dispensors in the bathroom. In the room we got a view of the shopping plaza.One thing i disliked was that the 2 beds are pushed together to make one single bed. I was with my mom and dad so it was kind of weird. Our A/C worked well. The rooms are a little outdated.

Food: The food was average. I would say 4 stars for the overall food. In the buffet there was a wide variety of foods for breakfast and dinner. As for lunch there was a very small amount of food. The chefs change up some food for dinner, but I never saw anything new for breakfast. There is two lunch spots. There is one by the pool, and there is the one where they serve all the meals. They have some very odd creations for dinner and lunch that I never tried. They served some lunch and dinner food for breakfast which was weird. And my dad found a napkin in his food at the resturaunt by the pool. The meat is very tough also, but that is how mexican meat is.
There are 3 ala carte resturaunts which you can eat at as many times as you want. ( Steakhouse, Asian, Mexican) We only ate at the Asian and thought it was ok. It was nothing that special since there was an asian night at the buffet with the same food. The mexican resturaunt was at the other Riu hotel in which you had to walk to. That was a disappointment. My family is a late sleeper so we couldnt get a reservation for the steakhouse.

Service: The staff was all pretty nice and all works hard. The service at the reception desk is hit or miss. Some are mean and some are nice. All the staff works very hard at the buffet to bring you silverware, take care of your dirty plates, and try to make it the best possible vacation. We tipped them alot because they dont make alot. The service was very good at the bars. Especially the pool bar. There was a pool bar staff named Martin and he was so good. He is so polite and doesnt care about making you 15 drinks. We tipped him everytime we went up to the bar. Alot of the staff was making sure the grounds were clean and the pool was clean.

Pool/Beach: The pool was very clean. The only disapointment was that the pool was like bath water. It was too hot and not very refreshing to cool off in. There were two pools but only one of them had a bar and the smaller pool had all the activities which didnt make very much sense. The beach was about a 10-15 minute walk. Alot of people say its a beautiful walk, but to me it didnt seem like a very beutiful walk.You could also take a golf cart that comes every 10 minutes and we found that much easier! The beach is absolutly beautiful. The water is soo blue and the sand is so soft! There are a couple salesmen trying to get you to go parasailing and stuff but they are not bad.

Entertainment: The entertainment is pretty good. The animation team tries its hardest to make the best show possible. We saw the Mama Mia show and I didnt think it was that entertaining. We also saw the best show which was the Horror show which I thought was AMAZING! The only thing I didnt like was that the shows ended sooo early. There is a sports bar right by the theatre that is air conditioned so its very nice. They have food in 2 fridges if you hungry anytme in the day or night when they're not serving food. They also have a nice bar service and pool tables air hockey, and some other games.

Tip: Dont feed the Coaties there because they will beg for more food. Also dont leave opened food bags in your bags or drinks on the ground because the coaties will get to them.

Overall it was a nice relaxing trip with a couple flaws.

Room Tip: Try to get the reception to get you a room in the front area more becuase the rooms in the back area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was there a month ago and I stayed 2 weeks. The hotel is lovely, very clean, the room are big, the fridge is filled with pepsi, aqua tonic ...... eveything you want. Even though you are not on the beach, the hotel deserves a 5 stars. You have carts to take you to the beach (2 minutes) but you can walk 5 minutes under trees on a cute alley. The staff is nice, they stop to take you to the beach or back to the hotel. The food is amazing, it is better to be on a diet before going there (and after, it is mandatory) ! You have 4 restaurants and barbecue on the beach all day long.
Moreover, you have access to 2 other hotels, (except this year because one of them is being renovated) and you can eat there except in the evening.
The pools are unbelievable, big and clean with the bar in the pool and waterfalls !
The beach is amazing, the water is clear, you can have kayak, small boats, plancks for free one hour a day ! They also teach you scuba diving in the swimming pool for free.
Nevertheless, one or two people working in the hotel can be a little annoying if you are a single woman on vacation by yourself, but this is the only negative thing I have found.
You have a small mall 5 minutes walk away from the hotel, you are close to the Fith avenue (25 minutes walk). Very nice people there and it is possible to book excursion to Chichen Itza, Yulum and Coba there, much less expensive than those in the hotel. Just think of taking water, juice and soda with you.
Great vacation ! Great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the reception are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall a good holiday, but yes the hotel could do with being updated and the Yakatan being closed wasn't ideal, but that was Thomson's fault not the hotels.
To the people complaining, if you want to be on the beach book the Playacar or one of the other Riu hotels and if you want a true 5 star experience then book the Riu Palace.
Tips -
Go to the Thomson meeting, but don't book anything until you have checked out the locals, only 200 meters to the left of the hotel. We went to Chichen Itza (good but a long day) and Tulum, Coba and swimming with turtles in the sea at Akumel beach (awesome) for about half the price Thomson were charging.
Go to the beach as it is excellent and most of the water sports are free.
Remember to book the restaurants you have to be up early (7 am). We only did this twice as up for trips and we were on holiday after all.
Ask for the branded drinks by name or you will get the local brands.
Email in advance for a first floor room.
Tip the staff if the service is good as the wages are poor in most cases.
Walk into Playa del Carmen. Good exercise to walk of the food and drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned after the best holiday we have ever had - so much so I literally cried as the coach transfer came to pick us up to take us back to the airport :-(
Everything about this hotel is amazing; staff, comfy beds, spotless rooms, big pool, gorgeous food, amazing beach. What more could you want?
The walk down to the beach is only about 7 minutes and we enjoyed the stroll down after breakfast. Once we got to the beach, it absolutely blew us away how gorgeous it was! Certainly my idea of paradise!
Most of the days we stayed round the pool where we enjoyed the swim up bar (loved the margaritas!). Yes the Canadians could get very loud, but they were just enjoying themselves and we didn't mind that.
The choice of food was fantastic, something for everyone and excellent quality. I didn't try the white or rose wine, but I thought the red wine was very nice, and I do love my red wine!
On an evening we had cocktails. One night we went through the list and they were all gorgeous! I don't think they are very strong because I wouldn't have been able to walk back to my room otherwise, but you can ask for double shots in them to make them stronger.
We also couldn't get over how great the staff were, they really couldn't do enough for you and we're always happy and smiling - even after working all day in the sweltering heat!
Another thing - ignore the weather forecasts! It forecast rain and cloud every single day we were there and I was very worried. I needn't had been however as it was blazing hot sunshine every day, with only 2 bouts of rain that lasted about 15 minutes in the whole of the 2 weeks.
Overall this is definitely the best holiday we have had so far and it will certainly take some beating. You will not be disappointed :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath south wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went here Dec 2011,and it was bliss.

optics and mini fridge in the room was brilliant,filled with Pepsi,Larger and other fizzy drinks every other day.

food was fantastic buffet was very good.

beach was stunning.

you can use about 4-5 other hotels for food or drinks if you wish all within 5 mins walking disstance of eachother.

beach is a 5 min walk witch was lovely after breakfast..or if your lazy you can catch a golf cart type bus.

you can take a nice walk in to Playacar town,around 20-30 min stroll along palm tree streets,you can also go in to town to catch a bus or boat to Cancun.

We will def be going back.

tip,find yourself the cheapest Riu as they are all as good as eachother.....

Also if you like Smirnoff vodka you have to ask for it or you will get their vodka... after a glass or two the call you the Smirnoff man haha

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The property location is perfect, just of the beach behind the Riu Palace Mexico,7 minutes walk or cart service.
The property is the only Riu of Playa with so much natural resources, animal, iguanas trees and birds.
you have full access to 2 more properties on the beach, everyday fells like a new vacation.(one is under renovation now so we went to playacar resort all the time )
The staff is wonderful and eager to help.
The main restaurant is good, buffet for breakfast lunch and diner(dress short for men at night),
The Asian restaurant buffet for diner also(very cold inside) reservation needed.(dress short for men at night),
the steak restaurant at the pool (dress short for men at night), reservation needed,not buffet the rib were great
the pool restaurant for lunch, cover up only no wet clothing.
the Mexican did not go..
the rooms are simple( we had 2), ONLY shampoo dispenser in shower.
our AC was not working properly it was too cold ( the thermostat was not adjusting) we had to turn OFF, the other room even at 65 it felt like 75.
we were on block 500 second block pass the main lobby, on the pool, and very short walk from main lobby and restaurant on the first floor no problem with the lemur. unfortunately our neighbors were very loud at night and we had to let them know...
BRING YOUR OWN SUNCREAM or any other product, at the shop or any place around $25-$30.
overall the place is clean, the staff is very friendly, the place is very confortable, just little updated are needed.
we will come back next year. good value for the price
we booked 2 trips one Dolphinaris PERFECT ( do not buy pictures $$$) and Adventuras Mayas PERFECT with best day travel in the lobby PERFECT :):):):):)

Room Tip: was in 500 block easy access to every thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 19 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. from the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tequila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.