We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our mexican experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Riu Playacar
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Playacar to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Winter Specials
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
wirral england
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“our mexican experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

not long been back from our 14 days in playacar.this was our first time in mexico and all inclusive .when you arrive at the airport be carefull of the people who take your bags to the coach as they work for tips thats were it starts.on arrival to the hotel we were greated warmly and taken to our rooms .the rooms were very nice every think you needed a little bit tired but nothink we could realy fault.the optics in the room had 4 drinks in them it didnt matter what mixer you put with them they were still horrible so didnt drink them.the food was very good we found plenty of choice at meal times.my only complaint was that there was plenty to drink but you could drink till the cows come home with no affect at all.the complex was very nice perhaps a litte small compared to other hotels but cant complain,the beach was a picture clean sand and crystal clear water walk along the beach to the jungle area about 40yds out there is a man made reef with all sorts of fish and octopus take an under water camera with your snorkel i wish i didxel-ha was the best trip we went on you werent presured for tips and pictures snorkel by the restraunts for the best fish all inclusive was very nice.captain hook was the next trip take plenty of money for tips and the picture which begins to wind you up by the end of the night the experience was good although a bit panto drinks were week .the last trip was snorkling of a catermaran which was ok didnt see much more than on the man made reef on the beach again more tips and loads of pictures take plenty of money as they dont seem to have any in mexico considering the trips arnt cheap. if you dont want to be harrast then dont go any were there are shops or excursions because an hour into it it does your head in .all in all we enjoyed our holliday we couldnt really fault the hotel just when you went outside the complex which begs the question is it worth spending all that money to sit around the pool for 14 days when you could do that in spain for half the price

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    963
    294
    134
    71
See reviews for
600
1,038
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is not an expensive hotel considering it is all inclusive and we were really impressed. It is right on the beach which is great and you could even walk to Playa del Carmen along the sand (about 30 mins). The food, drinks and service were brilliant. The steak restaurant and Mexican are great but I really would give the Asian a miss. The entertainment was ok and some nights were better than others. The fact that you can also use the facilities at the Riu Tequila and Riu Yucatan was brilliant for us as otherwise we might have got a little bored. When we arrived we were put in a room which had trees overgrown on the balcony and a horrible damp, musty smell. We went back to reception and they changed us with no issue at all and the next room was much better. It was always cleaned to a great standard with nice touches like flowers and sweets. I thought the pools were nice and we had no problem getting a space. Again we did use the other hotels pools too and preferred the Tequila's. I would recommend this hotel - just don't be afraid to change rooms until you are happy.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the street side of the building or you will have issues with light, smells and insect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent 8 fantastic nights at Riu Playacar October 23-31. This is a fabulous retreat with warm, colorful Caribbean decor, soft lighting and jungle surroundings. Loved the powdery white beach, with plenty of loungers available daily. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, with extra soft sheets and animal sculptures. Friendly staff smile and greet guests at every turn, and bartenders keep those exotic drinks flowing. The buffet offers a great variety of dishes to suit every taste. I particularly enjoyed dining on the patio surrounded by lush tropical greenery. Cat lovers take note--Riu Playacar has an adorable resort kitty who likes to visit at dinnertime. The nightly dance shows were lively and colorful, not to be missed. Thanks for a lifetime of memories!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have been to this area of Mexico before and chose this hotel as it was nearer to Playa Del Carmen than our previous stay. In our opinion it was better being more local to Playa, because being all inclusive (as both stays were), it was nice to get out and enjoy alternative surroundings a few times during our holiday.
Taxis are available from the hotel for 70 Pesos( approx. £3.50) to Playa del Carmen and 5th Avenue.
5th Avenue is definitely the place to go to enjoy the odd night, or even day out. There are many bars and restaurants, and also you are sure to find all your presents to take home here.
Back to the hotel, It's not a bad hotel. It is a little dated but then this is reflected in the price you pay and also location comes into this. You would pay more for a better hotel further down the coast and away from Playa.
It is a smallish hotel, with several blocks along a central pathway between reception/lobby bar/buffet restaurant leading to the pool/beach and theatre.
We arrived in the middle of the afternoon and check in was very quick. Our bags were taken to our room while we had a drink or two, (or three) in the lobby bar.
The room was of a reasonable standard with an iron/ironing board, several TV channels in English, Mini-fridge topped up every other day (but if you ask reception they will top it up whenever you like). There are also optics in the room which are topped up when empty. I believe that if you want alternative liquors to that provided this will be supplied if requested.
The rooms are air conditioned and in our room this was left on all day and worked very well. At night we turned it off otherwise we would have been to cold, but it was nice to return to our room after a day in the sun and chill!!
The buffet restaurant has a good selection of food, including chicken, beef, pasta, beef, and of course Mexican. chips are served every day. I would consider myself a selective eater and every day I found food I enjoyed. A good selection of sweets was also available.
The entertainment staff (animation team) were really good and worked very hard throughout the day and night. They organised all activities around the pool and beach and also took part in the evening entertainment in the theatre.
My only criticism was that, the evening shows in the theatre was always based on dancing. This seemed to be the same dance routine but different music. Every night at the theatre did get a little boring a there is nowhere else to go unless you have a night out in Playa which is obviously not part of you All inclusive package. I would like to have seen alternative shows which did not include dancing! ( I hope tour operators read this and take note).
Al the staff at the Riu Playacar were very nice, always friendly and very helpful. I would like to thank Willy and Nestor in the buffet restaurant who both provided a great service every day and night. I hope management read this and acknowledge our appreciation!
One other thing, The beach and sea is stunning. Perfect white sandy beach, crystal clear waters, no rocks or seaweed, fish swimming around you, what more could you want!

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter where your room is, you will not be to far from the pool, beach or rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I loved this hotel so much that we are going back again next year for two weeks. Great Staff! The food is pretty good as long as you understand that it is mainly buffet style. The activities staff around the pool was Great! always something to do, from dance lessons to Spanish lessons. This is the smallest of the 6 RIUs in Playacar and, in my opinion, the least crowded. Nice beach area to relax on and we never had a problem finding a seat by the pool.

Room Tip: There are no elevators at this hotel, so you might want to think about that if you are lugging a bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel upgraded from tequila but not an upgrade at all the facility is more run down nothing do to at property. Pool needs updating and you have to walk far to get to anything. Food leaves much to be desired you have to hunt down a drink. So much for all inclusive

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was the most amazing hotel!
The staff are all very attentive and the range of food and drink available is first class.
Whether you want to relax by the pool all day or venture out on the various day trips you will have an amazing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 miles from Playa del Carmen * In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey bungalow complex * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 16,000 m2/19,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. from various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.