We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Riu Playacar
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Playacar to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I loved this hotel so much that we are going back again next year for two weeks. Great Staff! The food is pretty good as long as you understand that it is mainly buffet style. The activities staff around the pool was Great! always something to do, from dance lessons to Spanish lessons. This is the smallest of the 6 RIUs in Playacar and, in my opinion, the least crowded. Nice beach area to relax on and we never had a problem finding a seat by the pool.

Room Tip: There are no elevators at this hotel, so you might want to think about that if you are lugging a bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    956
    291
    134
    71
See reviews for
597
1028
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel upgraded from tequila but not an upgrade at all the facility is more run down nothing do to at property. Pool needs updating and you have to walk far to get to anything. Food leaves much to be desired you have to hunt down a drink. So much for all inclusive

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was the most amazing hotel!
The staff are all very attentive and the range of food and drink available is first class.
Whether you want to relax by the pool all day or venture out on the various day trips you will have an amazing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned home from Riu Playacar, Great vacation, there were activities all day long. Shows at night were wonderful. Food could use a little less salt. Drinks were good. Was there from October 3 to October 15. Great time to go if you do not want a lot of children around. Weather was perfect. Can"t wait to go back as it is a small resort, easy to get around for seniors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wasn't the best riu we have stayed at but overall quite good.we stayed there from23rd Sept till7th October all the staff were superb especially Monica the assistant director who went out of her way to assist you .overall the food and refreshments were great if you asked for top brands you were given them .good luck to all the staff.

Room Tip: Block2 2 by floor.right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I came here with my wife's family for a couple of days. A couple of years ago I stayed in a Riu in Mazatlan, so i was thinking it would be as good as the other. So wrong! Rooms look old, beds are worst than many economy hotels I have stayed, buffet is boring and limited in options. Also, even when some employees do make everything possible to make your vacations a good experience, most of them spend most of their time giving reprimands, specially the waiters from any of the restaurants. I will think twice about selecting a Riu as an option for any destination.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hi .
been back from riu playacar for a few days now.what a holiday we had,it was so nice. yes it needs up dating a bit but hope they dont make it like all the other riu hotels,.
From the min we got there they was so helpful.
the rooms were big and very clean,the mini bar was nice to have. it would have been nice to have some think to make a cup of tea or coffee,as i do like a brew when i get up ,
the pools was clean,and they even clean it thougth out the day .the drinks was good ,and for the food,it was the best we have had in a al.
I know we all say its what you make of a holiday that matters,but not in this hotel,they are always around to help in any way,i have never seen so many managers on hand from am to pm.we had a bit of a prob ,and they sorted it out within mins,not only that,when we got back to our room that night there was a bottel of bubbly for us.
jasmin the rep was new, but she did her job so well,a nice girl always had a smile on her face.
the guys from the entertament team works so hard all day and night,there was somethink on all day,if you wanted to do it you could,the shows at night was very good,
all i have to say is Riu playacar dont change this hotel like you have done to all the others,yes it needs updating,but we dont want all that pink like the others,we will be going back to this hotel that is if they dont change it

Room Tip: block 6 and 5 are by the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 miles from Playa del Carmen * In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey bungalow complex * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 16,000 m2/19,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. from various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.