We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Playacar to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Playacar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Winter Specials
Ranked #68 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel upgraded from tequila but not an upgrade at all the facility is more run down nothing do to at property. Pool needs updating and you have to walk far to get to anything. Food leaves much to be desired you have to hunt down a drink. So much for all inclusive

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    976
    298
    135
    71
See reviews for
605
1,065
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was the most amazing hotel!
The staff are all very attentive and the range of food and drink available is first class.
Whether you want to relax by the pool all day or venture out on the various day trips you will have an amazing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned home from Riu Playacar, Great vacation, there were activities all day long. Shows at night were wonderful. Food could use a little less salt. Drinks were good. Was there from October 3 to October 15. Great time to go if you do not want a lot of children around. Weather was perfect. Can"t wait to go back as it is a small resort, easy to get around for seniors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wasn't the best riu we have stayed at but overall quite good.we stayed there from23rd Sept till7th October all the staff were superb especially Monica the assistant director who went out of her way to assist you .overall the food and refreshments were great if you asked for top brands you were given them .good luck to all the staff.

Room Tip: Block2 2 by floor.right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I came here with my wife's family for a couple of days. A couple of years ago I stayed in a Riu in Mazatlan, so i was thinking it would be as good as the other. So wrong! Rooms look old, beds are worst than many economy hotels I have stayed, buffet is boring and limited in options. Also, even when some employees do make everything possible to make your vacations a good experience, most of them spend most of their time giving reprimands, specially the waiters from any of the restaurants. I will think twice about selecting a Riu as an option for any destination.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hi .
been back from riu playacar for a few days now.what a holiday we had,it was so nice. yes it needs up dating a bit but hope they dont make it like all the other riu hotels,.
From the min we got there they was so helpful.
the rooms were big and very clean,the mini bar was nice to have. it would have been nice to have some think to make a cup of tea or coffee,as i do like a brew when i get up ,
the pools was clean,and they even clean it thougth out the day .the drinks was good ,and for the food,it was the best we have had in a al.
I know we all say its what you make of a holiday that matters,but not in this hotel,they are always around to help in any way,i have never seen so many managers on hand from am to pm.we had a bit of a prob ,and they sorted it out within mins,not only that,when we got back to our room that night there was a bottel of bubbly for us.
jasmin the rep was new, but she did her job so well,a nice girl always had a smile on her face.
the guys from the entertament team works so hard all day and night,there was somethink on all day,if you wanted to do it you could,the shows at night was very good,
all i have to say is Riu playacar dont change this hotel like you have done to all the others,yes it needs updating,but we dont want all that pink like the others,we will be going back to this hotel that is if they dont change it

Room Tip: block 6 and 5 are by the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are pretty lenient when it comes to budget all inclusive hotels because everything has a price and we know that you can’t expect everything when you are looking for deals. However, this one did not meet some basic things that would have allowed us to enjoy our vacation. I’ll start with the deal breakers. The bed was hard. Yes, I did read this in reviews and thought maybe those people were just being picky. It was so hard, my whole body hurt like someone had beat me up each day. I had a hard time even lifting my arms one day like I had really overdone a work out the day before. The beds really are truly unacceptable. This is something the hotel can fix. Another issue we had was the nudity. We asked several times to have a woman wear her top who parked herself in the most visible spot where you walk into the pool area so she could be seen by everyone. No one ever asked her to put a top on or leave. We asked 4 different people on 3 different days. That is also something the hotel can fix. The other easily fixable issue is room service. You can’t get any. We don’t like having to get ready to have breakfast when we are on vacation. It is really relaxing to have breakfast on the balcony and not have to shower first and get somewhat dressed up when you are hungry and just want to go to the beach in your swimsuit but have a bite first. The issues that will be harder to fix are… the balconies are too small, do not have a lounger for reading, and only a few suites have an ocean view. We did not think this would bother us, or we would upgrade when we go there but there were only 2 suites and neither were available. Also, the pool with the swim up bar is a circle where everyone packs in like sardines and there is not a connection to the other pools even though the pictures make it look like there is, so you cannot get away from volleyball going on 10 feet away from you (yum, pool water splashing in your drink!) or water aerobics, or just wanting to swim away for a minute and have some privacy. You would have to go to one of the other pools with no swim up bar. You can easily see in the pictures that the layout of the buildings are very long and your views would either be the walkway, or one of the other hotels on either side of the long strip of buildings. In short, the buildings are too far from the beach and pool. We don’t mind walking, we would just like to see more interesting things from our room. The good things were that the beach was great! You didn’t have to ask for doubles to get a decent strength drink, the food was fine except for the “Asian” restaurant. Don’t bother. Miso soup was like a salt lick and everything else was greasy. We had no problem with the buffet food. The shows are what you would expect, mostly dancing to different themes each night. It’s something to do. The girl dancers wear almost nothing, but I’m sure that’s for the guys. It would be nice to see a show without their stuff hanging out of basically bras and underwear but at least you can skip the show if you don’t want to see it. The rooms do not get below 75 degrees even if you are diligent about keeping your doors closed so bring light pajamas. In summary, the price was great, but we have found much better for the price. I would highly recommend El Cozumeleno in Cozumel if you are looking for value in this price range. Check Bookit, Apple Vacations, or Funjet’s website to find a week all inclusive with flights (from U.S.) for under $1000pp. We would not go back to this hotel if it was free. Seriously.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey bungalow complex * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 16,000 m2/19,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.