We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday in an outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Playacar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Playacar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 3, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #73 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
leeds england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday in an outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned today(3rd April) after spending 14 days at the Playacar. All I can do is echo the comments of Danielle R and Lynne Lacey.
The staff in every department are amazing!
David( I/C Food andDrink) Thomas, William, Pedro, Virginie and Eduardo in the restaurants.
Juan. Arsenio, Rafa, Ciro, Abraham in the, Pool Bars. Froy and the guys in the lobby bar.
Not to mention the Ents Team of Israel, Pablo,Omar, Ronny and those lovely ladies, Maria and Diana. (Apologies to all the staff I have not mentioned, you are all part of a great team led by Elena? and Monica)
The Buffets at lunchtime and and evening were excellent, in that we only used The Jade and The Steak House once each.

The property is one of the smaller Riu's in the area but to us that is the attraction.
The hotel is due to be closed down at the end of March 2014 and relauched as an Adults only "Palace" brand. I only hope that they do not lose the unique atmosphere.
The hotel attracts visitors from The Yucatan and The Tequila during the day because of the less crowded pool areas and the fabulous beach parties and the large number of sunbeds that were available throughout the day.
Go before they change it!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,107
    909
    280
    134
    66
See reviews for
554
973
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent our second vacation at the Riu Playacar and it was just as great as last year. We are a retired couple and loved the Playacar. Rooms clean, food great, beach and pool wonderful, staff really helpful and friendly. Couldn't ask for anything more. To bad they are tearing it down to put in a Grand Palace. I feel that will price us out of staying again. Not interested in the Yucatan or Tequila to noisey and to big for us. Like the small resorts at a good price. Guess we will need to look eslewhere for a Mexican vacation spot next year. Anyone know of a small, but nice resort nearby???
Thanks Riu and staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 and 2 facing the center courtyard. 2nd floor. Near the lobby. If you want a quiet stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just left the Playacar on the 29th after 8 days, and I must say, if I had my way, there would not be plans to tear it down next year. It is not too big, not too small, not too fussy, and the staff....well, the staff makes it WONDERFUL...The bar staff and restaurant staff are the best around, Angel, Arsenio, Froy, Abraham, Alberto, Miguel, and more, they just really, work their bums off. And if you find yourself unable to sleep in the middle of the night, walk on down to the lobby bar, and if you are lucky, Antonio will be working and so will Aldo, the night reception, and they are wonderful wonderful people. The property is well maintained, and the are constantly cleaning, I never had an issue with the cleanliness of our room or waiting for them to clean it. There were constantly people out maintaining the grounds, but never got in our way. The pools were awesome, but who would want to spend any time in them, when just a two minute walk away is the most beautiful ocean on the most beautiful beach. We never had a trouble finding beach chairs, not even at the busiest part of the day. The restaurants were great. We did reserve the specialty restaurants twice, but there really is no need in the evening. The main buffet serves everything from hamburgers and steak, to asian to mexican food. There are always snacks on hand, even in the middle of those sleepless nights at the lobby bar. The staff will bend over backwards to make this a wonderful vacation for you. And will help you find whatever you are looking for in Playacar. More people need to go stay at this hotel, and write letters about how it should be left just exactly the way it is. I already want to go back.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in the 3rd blue building, very close to the nightly entertainment....neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich norfolk gt britain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

the hotel i booked sent me here i think they were over booked nice place nice beach food was good friendly staff nice and clean and plenty to do and enjoyed my stay very helpful staff and nice happy atmosphere

Room Tip: a nice walk into playa del carman with shops an resturants,roms were nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two week stay at the fantastic Riu Playacar. We deliberately chose this hotel because we liked the idea of staying in a smaller hotel. Although it is the smallest hotel in comparison to both the 'Yucatan' and 'Tequila' hotels which guests can visit, Playacar oozed personality which made our stay so much more pleasant and friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean thanks to our friendly maid Alba. The cleanliness was evident throughout the hotel and the gardens within the grounds were immaculate and beautiful. Check-in was an uneventful process thanks to the organised and efficient receptionist Nico. We stayed in the yellow block on the third floor which we preferred, although the stairs could be tricky after a few tequilas!. We can only echo the positive comments from previous reviewers about the staff at this hotel, because they really did make this holiday one to remember. Being creatures of habit, we sat in the same area of the dining room during each meal time. Eduardo was friendly at breakfast time and would have two teas on the table within seconds for us. Maria in the evening was also outstanding and very nice. The guys at the swim up bar, Enrique, Angel, and Ciro were a great laugh and were on the go non stop but doing it with a cheerful smile. This for sure made the experience a friendly one for the holiday makers because it was a very relaxed and fun area. We met some great people and had some awesome conversations, mostly with Americans from Minnesota escaping the snow! Last but not least, the entertainment team were brilliant at their jobs. Omar, Glyn, Maria, Johnny, and the others who i have missed were so enthusiastic about encouraging people to get involved in the activities. Although if you were not keen on participating they were fine with that, no pressure felt at all. The water polo was a favourite, along with the salsa dancing lesson in the afternoon was a good giggle too. The beach party which was on the Thursday i think, was fun, with a live band and a delicious bbq and cocktails on the beach. The lobby was the hub of the hotel, and had a buzzing atmosphere every evening with something going on entertainment wise, they had some really good live singers and bands in there, and a welcome into the dining room from the entertainment team was very personable we felt. The entertainment shows in the evening were good, and some that we saw were professional dancers which were good to watch, a very good range of shows to please different nationalities and ages. We didnt try the speciality restaurants so we are unable to comment on these, we were more than satisfied with the buffet restaurant which did a gorgeous oreo cheesecake which definately won us over! There was never a struggle to find sunbeds around the pool or on the beach, which was a refreshing change from some of the larger hotels we have experienced. The beach was truly gorgeous, and cold drinks were brought round regularly by staff which was awesome too. Baillis, the resident photographer was a friendly guy, and took some lovely pictures of us on the beach, which really showed the beach and oceans beautiful colours at their best with his awesome camera! we asked him for natural shots, and we got exactly what we asked for, and he did a promotion on the pics, 2 for 1, although we bought five, so ended up with ten on a disc, we did not feel any pressure to buy them at all if we didnt like them and the prices were very reasonable.The hotel is directly opposite some shops, and Pedro in the excursion hut was great for trips (cheaper than Thomson prices) we had no problems and felt we got a great deal, especially on the dolphin experience. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat, the only negative point was the safety deposit boxes which were accessed with a key, hopefully they will be updated to a digital code system rather than a key, following the renovations on this hotel. The shop in the hotel was expensive as you'd expect, use the one tucked in the corner over the road, toothpaste was a third of the price over there! Overall a great holiday, we would definately return to this hotel and Mexico for sure.

Room Tip: yellow block was far enough away from the entertainment area if you want an early night, no noisey d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a fabulous two week holiday with my sister. Our second trip to Mexico, we stayed in Cancun last year which we loved as well but definitely preferred Playacar. The resort is a beautiful little gated community of hotels and stunning properties. The Riu Playacar itself is the smallest of three hotels we were able to use in the area but it was my favourite, lots of charm and character. The rooms were very clean, they were cleaned daily. I agree with the other reviews on here that the staff really made the hotel experience so wonderful. Every member of staff from the lovely people on the reception desk (in particular Nico, I didn't catch the names of the others but they were all fantastic) the waiters, bar staff and cleaners were just so friendly and accommodating. The entertainment team were full of character and personality and worked so hard all day and night to keep us all entertained. There was plenty going on in the hotel entertainment wise and the other two neighbouring hotels we had use of. Playa Del Carmen is a short taxi drive away with lots of fabulous restaurants, bars and clubs if you fancy venturing out at times. We were warned about the taxi drivers attempting to rip the tourists off so beware of that. To be honest, I didn't experience that at all. We were advised to agree the price in advance which was usually 70-90 pesos. Ladies tend to get into the bars and clubs for free so beware of the numerous salesmen/touts who line the streets trying to sell excursions on the promise of providing you with tickets to the bars and clubs at reduced prices. In my experience the genuine sales representatives from the bars and clubs stand outside the venues and ensure your free entrance. The food in the hotel was excellent and the beaches were beautiful. Could of stayed another week and was so sad to leave. Looking forward to another trip there next year before April 2014 when the hotel is apparently being demolished to make way for a more modern hotel which is a shame as the current Riu Playacar has so much charm. A huge thanks to all the staff at the Riu who helped us enjoy our fabulous holiday so much. Much love to you all. X Tara and Claire - London.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Playacar has proved that bigger is not neccessarily better. Although this is a smaller hotel it offers more that the huge impersonal ones. First your rooms are situated in buildings with different colors which makes it easier to identify. Everything is compact and easy to get to. after your first day you know where everything is. The bar in the main entrance allows guests to get acquainted with other visitors around the world.The food is very good and so are the shows.The entertainment around the pool was fun fun fun. I hope when they renovate that they keep the same atmosphere and quaintness of this hotel.

Room Tip: The layout of the grounds makes it that any room is good and easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 3, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 miles from Playa del Carmen * In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey bungalow complex * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 16,000 m2/19,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. from various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.