We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Experience Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Caracol Eco Experience Resort to your Saves list
Sandos Caracol Eco Experience Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez Km 295, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Prince Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great resort for kids. Set in a very nice location with lots to do right on the resort. Lots of wild animals to see. Highly recommended if your taking kids. Only drawback was that the room was very small

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,398
    2,396
    823
    386
    249
See reviews for
2,878
2,537
97
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The resort is a little worn out, but the are currently renovating many of the rooms. Our room wasn't renovated, but when we commented on the hard beds and worn out curtains, the were changed the very next day. The friendlyness of the staff and the service was superb!

You should be aware though, that the water park is small and for kids UNDER 11 years, which was a huge disappointment to us. The pictures makes you think it's a big park for all ages.

Snorkeling right in front of the hotel was great, a lot of colorful fish to see. Free snorkeling equpment availabla from Scub Libre diving center.

Never swim in the ocean without swimming shoes or diving fins. I saw the mean stone fish very close to the beach. They are not leathal, but the sting is enormously painful.

We went diving with the Scubalibre to the reefs. Fantastic experience and great guides.

The food was good exept in the a la carte La Jungla, where we fed the hotel cats the meat.

Overall a great place for families with children.

Room Tip: Try to get standard rooms from houses no 21 -25, they are close to the beach. Then for seaview rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent resort. very relaxing place. very good place if taking children.excellent very clean beach. staff was very very good. lots to around the area if you desire to .weather was awesome .not too hot just very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Ok this is a great hotel for families with kids the grounds of this resort are great with trails, cenotes, animals fantastic evening shows good food.
The BAD:
Don't bother getting anything associated with Royal Elite this is a scam you pay a lot more for ocean front luxury rooms we had s penthouse and aside from a large balcony we got nothing else extra from the select club people. This royal elite is the timeshare section of the resort and we got kicked out of the beach club that we paid to have access to. The hotel claims it is a misunderstanding yet wants to waste your time on lectures they call every morning and bug you constantly.
We had no private check in had to basically beg to have transportation from the lobby to our rooms and they were rude,not a good welcome for people who paid for the most expensive room.

Your "concierge " is a salesman they are in no way there for your well-being.
You do not have preferred reservations in any of the restaurants so don't bother just show up and pay the maitre d, the restaurants are almost half empty half the time and kids are everywhere screaming and yelling so forget about s romantic dinner.
Forget about a hot tub, it's freezing
Forget about the beach club and the infinity pool you'll get kicked out
Forget about the adults only beach - kids everywhere
Forget about your inclusive robe slippers and bottle service unless you complain won't get it
Forget about inclusive sailing they want extra
Forget about clean sheets after a week
Forget about soap and basic toiletries

This place really sucks on service and treating people who paid 5k for a week like crap
Save for the shows the steak house and grounds in some sections this is not the place for adults seeking the pampering they want

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just came back from a two week vacation and loved it ! Want to go back again. This is a great place for families. The Resort is beautiful, it's like being in a jungle. There is so much to do, you'll never get bored. The staff was wonderful, very polite and friendly. The shows were beautiful, expecially the XcalaCoco shows.There rooms were very nice and clean. The food was good overal. The brazilian a la cart and the steak house a la cart were my favourite. Lots of activities for children, the girls at the kids club were very good.If you have a chance visit Tulum, its breathtaking. Xel Ha was also beautiful and offers a lot of activities for the family. I give this resort a 4 and a half only because the beach was very rocky. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've taken our winterbreak 2012 @ this hotel. Upon arrival I could feel my 3 year old daughter loved the setting. Close to the beach , plenty of child friendly pools & very friendly staff. Our room was located 3 minutes from the beach & 3 minutes from the kids pool.Ideal! Big room , with a spacey shower.Cleaned everyday and as a surprise to our daughter the cleaner made an animal out of towels (every day!!!) Well done! Plenty of restaurants to choose from - Brazilian, oriental, Italian...all good quality. Breakfast was high quality and we were attended by Raul - a young man who knows his job and always worked with a big smile- he made us feel very welcome! Gracias Raul. The beach is very clean and rathe child friendly. The whole resort is set in an a mangrove park, which gives it a very natural feeling- no highrise buildings. Something which we really enjoyed where the Maya evenings - spectacles to enlighten the visitors with the Mayan culture! Do not miss out on them - very special!.
My special thanks also go out to a very enthusiastic lady form the kids club. Noemi (Guadalajara) , who with everlasting good spirit played , entertained our daughter & took us for an eco walk around the resort to explain us all the efforts Sandos does to maintain it's natural environment. Noemi , you're the best! We recommend this hotel to all couples (with kids or without) who want to enjoy a relaxing holiday in a natural honest place.- Also for golfers don't miss out on the nick price course just next door (thx Catherine for helping me out with the booking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a great time at Sandos Caracol. We did upgrade to a 1 bedroom Elite room by the main pool. It was perfect for our family ( 2 boys~ 9&5) Having 2 bathrooms, water cooler & private bedroom was worth the extra money. Our kids had so much fun @ the kids club. The women there are so wonderful .They even particpated in the Disney show, which was a highlight for them. The Aquapark, main pool, sports area, bikepath, El Nido snackbar, Cenote, animals, shows, movies, beach and restaurants are all family friendly. The Xcalacoco Area is very cool, as is the special Mayan shows. There is so much to do here that we didn't leave the resort. We had a few AO dinners because the kids club is open late, 10:00pm. Our kids , along with their cousins would beg to go to the kids club everyday for a few hours. They have beepers that you could use in case they needed you. Along with the upgrade, we could use the AO Elite area of the beach, which was very nice. Theme nights at the main buffet every night, so we always had lots to choose from.We had a special B-day dinner at Los Liros Steakhouse for my husband, and the food was fantastic. It turns into the disco after 11:00pm. We always have a favourite bartender on trips, and Roy was it!!! He was upbeat, polite, mixed awesome drinks, chatted and told stories with us. We really enjoyed seeing him at El Nido in the evenings:) If you're easy going and enjoy a laid back place with good food, drinks and very fun staff, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Upgraded to an Elite room, was well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Caracol Eco Experience Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Caracol Eco Experience Resort

Address: Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez Km 295, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandos Caracol Eco Experience Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandos Caracol Eco Experience Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracol Beach
Sandos Caracol Eco Hotel
Sandos Caracol Beach Resort Spa
Sandos Select Club
Sandos Caracol Mexico
Hotel Sandos Caracol Eco
Caracol Village Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sandos Caracol Beach & Spa Mayan Riviera
Sandos Caracol Resort
Sandos Caracol Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Caracol Eco Experience Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.