We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oh Lala International Cuisine by George

Oh Lala International Cuisine by George
Calle 14 North Bis | Between 10th Avenue and 15th Avenue #147, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
(984) 127-4844
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The cuisine at Oh Lala! Is a refreshing change from that of other, more conventional restaurants. Guests are treated like good old friends in a relaxing atmosphere coupled with personalized service and good food. Opened in January, 2011, by co-owners George and Mikaela, Oh Lala! Offers personalized experiences for its guests, ranging from a laidback sampling of hors d'oeuvres and wines, to a leisurely look at the full menu. With a total of 9 tables divided between the indoor and outdoors seating, and an open kitchen, Chef George, Mikaela, and their staff, make sure that every visit to Oh Lala, International Cuisine by George, Is a unique and a delicious one.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Oh lala is a small lovely place, the food, service and atention to detail is incredible. We made reservations in advanced and we are glad we did, this is a must go restaurant when going to Playa del Carmen. Thank you for a wonderfull dinner, we will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    94
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was one of the best meals I had during my 3 weeks in Mexico, and I had some incredible meals, including a culinary cooking course! It's small, so book ahead if you can, and not overly fancy or pretentious, but the service and the food is exceptional. Fantastic value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Really a perfect dinning experience for my family & me.
Four orders of the Butter Tuna & everyone loved it. Two orders of the fillet & both said it was the best steak they ever had.
From the gracious owners to the perfectly clean kitchen, to the outstanding food.. this was a 10 across the board. We have not been in Playa for 3 years & there seems to be a new King & Queen in town & they're name is Oh-La-La

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

First of all make a reservation if you intend on going here as it books out quickly. The restaurant is what you want if you are looking for something fancier than the other areas of Playa. The menu is slightly strange with several starters consisting of salad and curry mixed into an otherwise classy mains section but the food is top notch. We ordered the antipasto to share for starter after our server recommended it. It came out on a rustic wooden platter and consisted of local cheeses and prosciutto, flatbread, cranberries etc which all complemented each other wonderfully. For main my wife chose the chicken curry with rice, I went for the lobster and grouper special in a creamy garlic sauce with olive oil mash potato and we opted for a side of roasted veg. All of the main was delectable and the whole time we had someone topping up our drinks and attending our table in a discrete manner. We wound up the evening sharing a white chocolate cheesecake which we devoured in a mere moment and this was accompanied by a cappuccino and a black label scotch for myself (the only scotch they had unfortunately). All in all a touch of class to an otherwise mundane restaurant scene.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fab meal and service ,a two and three course meal plus a bottle of nice wine and coffee $1400 pesto.
Can not recommend highly enough, try you will want to go back .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Lala International Cuisine by George also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Oh Lala International Cuisine by George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oh Lala International Cuisine by George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.