We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to drink all night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Che

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Che to your Saves list
Hostel Che
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle 6, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Becancour, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good place to drink all night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We paid for a 10 persons mixed dorm and were place in an 18... 2 girls with 16 mans. If you want to party all night and sleep all day, it's a good place. If you want to take a shower in the morning, you may have to clean all the vomit of everybody all over the place.
When we arrive on the first night, after a 20 hours day trip, we had to wait until midnight to have access to our bed. No consideration for customers... The breakfast were very simple.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
11
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Although this is about the restaurant and not the hostel, it is attached to the hostel so I feel it applies
We were looking for some good food at not a 5th or Beach price. The "restaurant" just outside of the hostel called Wey by Hostel Che was EXCELLENT.
For 60 pesos we had a chicken buritto and fried potatoes. It was so big I could not finish it. The pop was in glass bottles, and the entire thing for two of us was $150 pesos (the price it would have cost for a taco on the beach).
They do a breakfast for 50 pesos that includes coffee and juice as well as the meal. I am sure it would have been more that I could have eaten.
It is now the place I will recommend to everyone I know going down there.
It is just infront of the hosel, on 8th between 5th and 10th, there are 3 tables outside so you have somewhere to sit if you are not staying at the hostel (we were not).

The food was HOT and only cooked when it was ordered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hostel is in playa, a lot of bars and clubs are around the hostel. The rooms have aircondition and you will find a nice bar on the top of the hostel. The staff is friendly and you can store you luggage if you have to leave at evening. At night the lock the front-door, so you can feel save

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent 4 days there and everything was good. The beds were confortable, the bathrooms were ok, the rooms had A/C, the staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was cool. They even organized a free home-made pizza dinner for their customers. Breakfast was ok : eggs that everyone can cook, toasts, coffee... Good price for the standing. You can find cheaper around, but not as comfy...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The bedbugs made this otherwise nice, cheap and friendly place pretty bad for me.
The atmosphere is great and it's a great budget option for backpackers. But unless the bedbugs problem is solved there is no point in staying there.

The hostel took responsibility and moved me to a different room, and said they will take care of it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

good hostel with good vibe, free breakfast everyday and sometimes dinner too! it is based in a good location close to bars, however it is still quite. the staff are very friendly and the hostel is kept very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great location, friendly environment and really cool staff!!!
Hot dog Tuesdays, Pizza Thursdays, Pasta Saturdays and BBQ Sundays are the best!
If you want to have fun in your holidays, Hostel Che is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Che? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Che

Address: Calle 6, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Che 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Che is where all the Action takes place! It's created thinking in the Young and Wild. We combine excellent costumer service and service at accessible prices. Our awesome staff will be always more than happy to help you out with any questions you have about our beloved Playa Del Carmen,its surroundings and of course the night life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Che reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Che Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Che, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.