We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Playacar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef Playacar to your Saves list
The Reef Playacar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo Xaman-Ha, Ret. Sayil s/n | Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just got back from a 7 day stay at this hotel, it was a great experience, the staff was friendly the food was good and the entertainment was really good they put up every night. The rooms where clean, the beach was clean. It's a small hotel compare to other hotels in the area, that's what makes it so unique, it gives it a relaxed atmosphere. I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: I would recommend the superior package, it's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    1,023
    439
    254
    179
See reviews for
632
1,037
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Reef for 10 nights its beautiful and has lovely feel to place e regime is friendly and smiling. The rooms were kept beautifully clean by cleaners who are hardworking. We had nice mix of people for ten days , not all Americans. Food was great but after 10 days mostly the you crave home food. Mostly catered to Americans so lots of sweet stuff at breakfast. But Gladys Guadeloupe and the omelette lady victoria .all restraint staff were good. Very polite. Hard working. My son Emilio who is one had a blast . Though one tip needs to have few ramps for buggy. Lots steps by pool area. Or maybe small play area for kids. The beach was peaceful and beautiful. You could get sun lounger easy too . Just the snack bar was all junk food not great for kids or adults. But guess it keeps Americans happy. The only problem we had was with one young security guy, who tried to get us to pay a taxi driver 7 usd each way, when should only be 70 mpesos. But we refused to pay it and never asked them again so just watch it. That was the only bad point of the holiday . Met lovely people from Canada with children. Lots French Canadians and Russians too so good mix. Had some photos done by the reef photographers they did great job. My son enjoyed the young gentleman who kept the place clean and liked to steal there dust pan and brush lol... Also evening show where just bit too late for us which was a shame :( neyali was my son favourite Chica. Well done on fab hotel x x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is locacted in the Playacar district of Playa Del Carmen about a pleasant 15 minute walk into town. It's definitely not a 5 star resort, but it's clean comfortable and very quaint. There are wildlife roaming around in the jungle areas of the resorts and sometimes even monkeys. It is situated on a really great (big) section of beach which I think everyone loved. Great little resort for a wedding or group of people travelling together. The rooms can be a bit loud in the morning but other then that I have no complaints about this resort. I would stay here again in a heart beat. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. Food is on par for a Mexican All Inclusive. They did do a really nice turkey dinner for us on American thanksgiving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just spent the last two weeks at this wonderful resort. Staff are All excellant catering to all your needs. Grounds are kept impecable and you have the feeling of being directly in the jungle. We were housed in the renovated area with outdoor jaccuzi tub, flat screen tv's etc. Beds were alittle hard but it is difficult to cater to everyone in this. Food was good and there was lots of selection but after 2 weeks we were craving home food. This is not a complaint against the food there which I said was very good. Snack shack could have used a bit more variety but otherwise good.
All of the staff try to make your stay pure pleasure and I thank them for all their hard work as our party of 5 loved every minute and will certainly return. Kids club good, rereation people excellant and of course Louis and Eric great every night for supper. A must is the ice cream parlour which has the most delicious ice cream I've ever tasted (yummy coconut). If you are looking for a place to feel welcome and relax then come to this resort as you won't be disappointed. Thank you Reef Playacar for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: we were about mid way through the complex on the main floor and loved the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed a week and went with another couple. Received a beer upon arrival/check in which was just what we needed! The workers were very nice and VERY HELPFUL!! All the food was GREAT as well. Our room was good just enough for sleeping, showering, tv,and getting ready oh and always had the fridge stocked! ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL ATMOSPHERE!! Loved the tea/coffee sitting area with the snack sandwiches and GREAT coffee. Ice cream was good with wonderful waterfalls to sit by. The shows at coco bongo were very entertaining. The restaurants where VERY GOOD FOOD & OUTSTANDING SERVICE!! We enjoyed our stay SO MUCH! Loved all the bars great drinks and alot of fun!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE REEF for family fun or just Adults! The beach couldn't be prettier glad the resort offered kayaking and a # of different things!! Just a WONDERFUL PLACE ALL AROUND!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our Resort. We are very happy to know that you had a great vacation at our resort!
We appreciate your comments regarding the good location, the food & the services.
We offer special rates to our returning guests, so if you plan to come back, let us know directly! We are looking forward to welcoming you once more!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a nice relaxing vacation at this resort from Nov 17-24, 2012. It was a family vacation with our young adult children. It was our first visit to Mexico so we were not sure what to expect and thought of it as an adventure. We upgraded our all inclusive to Superior Premium, which was worth it for us.

Pros:
~Nico's lounge was a great place to relax, have a drink and either watch beach volleyball or stare out at the ocean.
~Staff were very friendly.
~Souvenir shop had better prices than some of the market place shops.
~Playa Del Carmen was short 15-20 minutes walk, would reccommend turning your wrist band inside out it you go down to fifth street to shop. That way the merchants can't tell which resort you are staying at.
~Xavier was our server at La Terraza Grill and both food and service was awesome. Best grilled salmon fillet I have ever had (and I love fish).
~Mary was our server at Chula Vista. She was the best server we had at the buffet restaurant.

Cons
~beds are very hard (not comfortable)
~buffet restaurant got boring, seemed like the same food every day
~the bathrooms left something to be desired - mould in bathroom, ants and termites in unit, cockroaches coiming up through sink in bathroom.
~the bars were running out of popular alcohol after only being open for 1.5 hours, almost ran out of other alcohol. restocking was not done on a regular basis. hard to drink a slushie drink without a straw.
~didn't seem to have lots to do for young adults other than drinking.

Excursions were priced fairly and I reccomend doing one or some, snorkeling was the best one for me. Renovations were still going on while we were there but it didn't bother us, I however didn't like that they were painting all the buildings white rather than keeping them the nice yellow and orange/red colours.

Overall, we had a good vacation and we met alot of nice people. Even though there seemed to be alot of European people we did manage to find a few Canadians and Americans, we had a blast getting to know.

We will be returning to Mexico next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights with my 12 year old daughter. We had come from 5 nights at the NOW Sapphire.

I will start with the check in which is only place I actually had an issue with. We had e-mailed the hotel ahead of time to request a 2nd or 3rd floor in building 6,7 or 8. We arrived early and our room was not yet ready-no problem. So he suggested we go down to the beach. We walked down and went to get towels and were informed we could not without towel cards which the front desk did not give us. We had wanted to go swimming so we had to wait. Went back at the time he said and our room was ready. They put is in a 1st floor building 10 which was not at all what we had requested. He informed me that was our only choice. So we went to the room with the bell boy. I asked about the safe key (which was included in my room package) and he told me that the front desk has to give us that....hmmm we were just there. So back I go to the front desk and they didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. So the front desk is the only area of the hotel I had a problem with. And each time I was there that afternoon I saw 2 girls standing behind the counter and one gentleman, people were coming to ask questions or get things and the girls just kept sending them over to the one guy so we are talking a line of 3 or 4 people all waiting for this guy and not really sure what the girls job was besides standing around doing nothing. They could be a lot more organized. There is no reason we shouldn't have been given the towel cards when he sent us to wait and why the safe key was not presented before we walked to the room. As for not getting our requested building OK but at least try to get us a 2nd or 3rd floor.

Ok now for the great stuff. The beach and ocean are AMAZING. We spent all day in the water and even did some boogie boarding.

The grounds were stunning. It was a pleasure just walking around and looking at the cenotes, plants and wildlife. We even had some entertaining monkeys hanging around.

The buffet was good and had a really nice selection. We ate at the Terraza Grill one night and it was fantastic. I don't think I have ever had better service. The waiters were fantastic!

We went to the show on Monday night and it was a music through the ages type dance production and the dancers were great and really fun to watch.

Our last morning we walked in to Playa Del Carmen which you can walk on the road or take the beach the whole way. Only about 15-20 minute walk.

The resort when we were there was predominantly European with a few families and a few Americans.

I gave the resort 5 stars even with my issues with check in because the rest of my stay was beyond expectations wish we would have been there more then 2 nights. I will definitely be back again but for a romantic vacation with my husband next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation at our resort and we appreciate you remarking regarding the beach, grounds, cenotes and particulary the restaurants.

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for the inconveniences you experienced with our sport and entertainment staff and the front desk, we discuss this matter with the involved departments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#97 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#58 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#126 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#95 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 4,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#98 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 3,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#75 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Playacar

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Ret. Sayil s/n | Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#82 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style all-inclusive resort is located on a beautiful white sandy beach just steps away from the famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico. The hotel offers all food and domestic drinks, 1 buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants, Italian & Gourmet($), snack bar, ice cream parlor, various bars including a swim up bar, 2 pools, kids club, daily activities & nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Reef Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Reef Club Playacar
Reef Playacar Mexico
Reef Playacar Playa Del Carmen
The Reef Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.