We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Vacation Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Playacar

Save Saved
You added Reef Playacar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Playacar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo Xaman-Ha, Ret. Sayil s/n | Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 200 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Greatest Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just spent the last two weeks at this wonderful resort. Staff are All excellant catering to all your needs. Grounds are kept impecable and you have the feeling of being directly in the jungle. We were housed in the renovated area with outdoor jaccuzi tub, flat screen tv's etc. Beds were alittle hard but it is difficult to cater to everyone in this. Food was good and there was lots of selection but after 2 weeks we were craving home food. This is not a complaint against the food there which I said was very good. Snack shack could have used a bit more variety but otherwise good.
All of the staff try to make your stay pure pleasure and I thank them for all their hard work as our party of 5 loved every minute and will certainly return. Kids club good, rereation people excellant and of course Louis and Eric great every night for supper. A must is the ice cream parlour which has the most delicious ice cream I've ever tasted (yummy coconut). If you are looking for a place to feel welcome and relax then come to this resort as you won't be disappointed. Thank you Reef Playacar for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: we were about mid way through the complex on the main floor and loved the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    828
    336
    209
    159
See reviews for
482
817
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a week and went with another couple. Received a beer upon arrival/check in which was just what we needed! The workers were very nice and VERY HELPFUL!! All the food was GREAT as well. Our room was good just enough for sleeping, showering, tv,and getting ready oh and always had the fridge stocked! ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL ATMOSPHERE!! Loved the tea/coffee sitting area with the snack sandwiches and GREAT coffee. Ice cream was good with wonderful waterfalls to sit by. The shows at coco bongo were very entertaining. The restaurants where VERY GOOD FOOD & OUTSTANDING SERVICE!! We enjoyed our stay SO MUCH! Loved all the bars great drinks and alot of fun!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE REEF for family fun or just Adults! The beach couldn't be prettier glad the resort offered kayaking and a # of different things!! Just a WONDERFUL PLACE ALL AROUND!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Playacar, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our Resort. We are very happy to know that you had a great vacation at our resort!
We appreciate your comments regarding the good location, the food & the services.
We offer special rates to our returning guests, so if you plan to come back, let us know directly! We are looking forward to welcoming you once more!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a nice relaxing vacation at this resort from Nov 17-24, 2012. It was a family vacation with our young adult children. It was our first visit to Mexico so we were not sure what to expect and thought of it as an adventure. We upgraded our all inclusive to Superior Premium, which was worth it for us.

Pros:
~Nico's lounge was a great place to relax, have a drink and either watch beach volleyball or stare out at the ocean.
~Staff were very friendly.
~Souvenir shop had better prices than some of the market place shops.
~Playa Del Carmen was short 15-20 minutes walk, would reccommend turning your wrist band inside out it you go down to fifth street to shop. That way the merchants can't tell which resort you are staying at.
~Xavier was our server at La Terraza Grill and both food and service was awesome. Best grilled salmon fillet I have ever had (and I love fish).
~Mary was our server at Chula Vista. She was the best server we had at the buffet restaurant.

Cons
~beds are very hard (not comfortable)
~buffet restaurant got boring, seemed like the same food every day
~the bathrooms left something to be desired - mould in bathroom, ants and termites in unit, cockroaches coiming up through sink in bathroom.
~the bars were running out of popular alcohol after only being open for 1.5 hours, almost ran out of other alcohol. restocking was not done on a regular basis. hard to drink a slushie drink without a straw.
~didn't seem to have lots to do for young adults other than drinking.

Excursions were priced fairly and I reccomend doing one or some, snorkeling was the best one for me. Renovations were still going on while we were there but it didn't bother us, I however didn't like that they were painting all the buildings white rather than keeping them the nice yellow and orange/red colours.

Overall, we had a good vacation and we met alot of nice people. Even though there seemed to be alot of European people we did manage to find a few Canadians and Americans, we had a blast getting to know.

We will be returning to Mexico next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights with my 12 year old daughter. We had come from 5 nights at the NOW Sapphire.

I will start with the check in which is only place I actually had an issue with. We had e-mailed the hotel ahead of time to request a 2nd or 3rd floor in building 6,7 or 8. We arrived early and our room was not yet ready-no problem. So he suggested we go down to the beach. We walked down and went to get towels and were informed we could not without towel cards which the front desk did not give us. We had wanted to go swimming so we had to wait. Went back at the time he said and our room was ready. They put is in a 1st floor building 10 which was not at all what we had requested. He informed me that was our only choice. So we went to the room with the bell boy. I asked about the safe key (which was included in my room package) and he told me that the front desk has to give us that....hmmm we were just there. So back I go to the front desk and they didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. So the front desk is the only area of the hotel I had a problem with. And each time I was there that afternoon I saw 2 girls standing behind the counter and one gentleman, people were coming to ask questions or get things and the girls just kept sending them over to the one guy so we are talking a line of 3 or 4 people all waiting for this guy and not really sure what the girls job was besides standing around doing nothing. They could be a lot more organized. There is no reason we shouldn't have been given the towel cards when he sent us to wait and why the safe key was not presented before we walked to the room. As for not getting our requested building OK but at least try to get us a 2nd or 3rd floor.

Ok now for the great stuff. The beach and ocean are AMAZING. We spent all day in the water and even did some boogie boarding.

The grounds were stunning. It was a pleasure just walking around and looking at the cenotes, plants and wildlife. We even had some entertaining monkeys hanging around.

The buffet was good and had a really nice selection. We ate at the Terraza Grill one night and it was fantastic. I don't think I have ever had better service. The waiters were fantastic!

We went to the show on Monday night and it was a music through the ages type dance production and the dancers were great and really fun to watch.

Our last morning we walked in to Playa Del Carmen which you can walk on the road or take the beach the whole way. Only about 15-20 minute walk.

The resort when we were there was predominantly European with a few families and a few Americans.

I gave the resort 5 stars even with my issues with check in because the rest of my stay was beyond expectations wish we would have been there more then 2 nights. I will definitely be back again but for a romantic vacation with my husband next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Playacar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation at our resort and we appreciate you remarking regarding the beach, grounds, cenotes and particulary the restaurants.

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for the inconveniences you experienced with our sport and entertainment staff and the front desk, we discuss this matter with the involved departments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Reef Playacar from November 9 to the 16 and we were quite satisfied with our stay. The reef is small and quaint with a jungle theme and is located minutes from the city of Playa Del Carmen (well within walking distance) in a gated community called playacar. This resort is an excellent choice for those wanting a relaxing vacation and for those trying to avoid the large party resorts.

Upon our arrival we were informed that we would have to stay in a room with two double beds when we had requested a king. In the time it took us to reach our room a staff member had caught up to us and moved us to a recently renovated room with a king sized bed. The room had a couple problems with power but the staff were there in minutes to repair. One problem we did have was the level of humidity in the room. By the end of the trip the room was fairly moist. Could be solved by opening the windows for a bit but we were never in our room long enough for this.

Food at the resort was fairly good. The buffet was the best and had quite the variety of the Mexican, Italian and north American dishes. I do have to say that the al la carte restaurants were sub-par for food quality (especially the Botticelli, my steak was obliterated into super well done status). BUT the waiters were good and lots of other people had great experiences. We seemed to be the odd couple out. No matter, the buffet and snack bar more than made up for it and based on the waiters service I would try the al la carte again.

The swim up bar was the place to be during the day and Humberto the bartender gave us great service and some good tequila! He was always good for a laugh too!

The beach is nice but keep in mind all of the beach in playacar is public. We were not bothered too much by salesmen but the possibility is there.

The staff do a really good job and try very hard. Price point is in line with 3 stars but is definitely much more. Please keep in mind the resort is still going through renovations so if you plan to take siestas during the day make sure you ask for a room away from the renos. All in all a great resort !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Playacar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We would like to thank you for your fantastic review. We are very happy you enjoyed your vacations with us. We appreciate your observations regarding all Hotel, wonderful beach, pools, excellent staff, food and particulary our bartender Humberto.

We would like to discuss your remarks regarding the humedity in room with the involved departments and would appreciate if you could send us a little note with your room number and stay dates, so we can follow up on this.

The Reef Playacar is looking forward to welcoming you back once again. You can contact the hotel directly at mexico@thereefresorts.com to assure you will get the special Repeat customer amenities and special discounts the hotel offers and please mention which location you would prefer, so we can make sure you will be happy with your room this time.

Best regards,
The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great Resort --- close to town. Good food, excellent beach and pools. Outstanding for families.
Can't say enough good things about it..... took our entire family, children and grandkids last summer and it was enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: traveling with kids???. ask for a room in building 10 or 11...closer to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Playacar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our Resort. We are very happy to know that you had a great vacation at our resort!
We appreciate your comments regarding the beach and pools.
We offer special rates to our returning guests, so if you plan to come back, let us know directly! We are looking forward to welcoming you once more!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I returned from a 14 night stay at the reef last night. We were advised by our tour operator prior to our holiday that there was some building work being carried out on some of the rooms and was offered an alternative hotel, as the work would be completed by the 31/10/12. As we were supposed to arrive early evening on the 30/10/12 we opted to stay at the reef thinking that the work would be completed the following day, therefore no problem to us.
Please be advised that our tour operator was completely wrong and work continues today. Having said that, we were not troubled by the work or the workmen in any way, infact we found the workmen to the most considerate and quietest builders that we have ever seen.
Arriving late evening on the 30/10/12 as our flight was late and having requested a high floor room if possible, we were initially dissapointed when we were allocated a ground floor room that had a musty smell, bedding that felt damp probably felt damp because of the Air - con and a light switch in the bathroom that was hanging off exposing the wiring and electrical connections. We immediately returned to reception and requested a change of room where we were advised to come back the following day. On returning to reception the following day we were reallocated a room on the top floor (834) we we were completely satisfied with. Infact you would not of thought that you were in the same block it was that much better.
The hotel is 3 star so do not raise your expectations, if or when all the rooms have been improved it will be a very good hotel. Having said that we were satisfied with what we got for a 3 star hotel. We rotated our visits to all of the restaurants throughout our holiday and were completely satisfied with the food provded. Food is personnal taste but we found that there was something for everyone and was never dissapointed, we thought that the food was quite good. We also walked into town on many occasions and ate there on a few evenings to provide a little variety in our holiday. All we found to be excellent. The walk into town is a comfortable 15 - 20 minutes and quite pleasant which we enjoyed.
Our second week we felt as though we were the only English people in the hotel which we enjoyed as all other nationallities did speak some amount of English so we found it very interesting mixing with some very nice people.
The hotel is on an excellent beach with a good amount of sunbeds and parasols, the only draw back is the guests that were getting up at 6am - 7am and reserving beds with towels and then not using them.
Maybe the hotel could adopt some form of the policy of not being able to reserve sunbeds before 8am and when towels are left on beds in exess of 1 hour not being used, the towels be removed so the other guests on the beach can be accomodated. This is something that we have noticed many hotels in Europe have started and is an improvement to the hotels service.
Many people have mentioned indviduals that have given them exceptional service. We also had superb service from some of the staff, but it is only fair to say that all the staff that we met at the Reef were excellent and a credit to the hotel we have never in all our years met a more helpful and friendly staff at any hotel that we have visited. All considered we enyoyed our stay at the Reef.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Playacar

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Ret. Sayil s/n | Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#85 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Playacar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style all-inclusive resort is located on a beautiful white sandy beach just steps away from the famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico. The hotel offers all food, domestic drinks and a variety of international drinks included, 1 buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants, Italian & Gourmet($), snack bar, ice cream parlor, various bars including a swim up bar, 2 pools, kids club, daily activities & nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Reef Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
The Reef Playacar
Reef Club Playacar
Reef Playacar Mexico
Reef Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Reef Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.