We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“2nd visit even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for the second time for two weeks from June 10th to the 24th. Our room was in block 17 on the top floor near to the buffet restaurant, lovely quiet spot. We arrived after a 10 hour flight so were very tired. Check-in very smooth, no problems at all. After check-in our luggage was delivered to our room very promptly. Our room was lovely and kept spotlessly clean by Rufina. Lovely large shower, clean towels every day, the fridge was well stocked all of the time, soft drinks, bottled lager, and loads of water

The ground in this hotel are fantastic and this is what bought us back. It is so lovely to see the monkeys and all the other animals in their natural environment, it is really something to see. Also around the hotel (Quetzal side) their is a lagoon with flamingos and other exotic birds, by the quetzal buffet restaurant their are also swans in a gorgeous setting.

The swimming pool is the nicest I've seen. The depth of the pool is clearly marked in all areas. In some areas it gets deeper only very gradually so its nice just for sitting in and very safe for children. I loved the aqua gym with Mauricio. Also separate childrens pool and a pool where the water polo was played. Plenty of sun loungers. Gorgeous beach, with a nice breeze.
Also forgot to mention the pool bar, nice place to chill, have a chat and meet new people from all over the world. Special mention about the barman Ivan, he is amazing, fantastic service, he should be paid double.
No problems with food, always plenty of choice. Liked the steak and Mexican restaurant. Breakfast and lunch favourite meals. Also food near the beach if you didn't want to use the restaurants. Many thanks to Rubisell in The Tucan buffet.

Whatever you think of the entertainment you have to be impressed by how hard the staff work. I loved the zumba on the beach and the aqua gym. So many different activities to do, but no pressure to do anything if you don't want to. All the star friends are lovely people especially Mauricio and Carlos. After the show at night you can have a dance. Their is a very professional band and also singers. If you're still not ready for bed their is the disco, went in a few times and even though it wasn't always my kind of music, loved it.

The nicest thing about this place are the lovely Mexican people, always show nothing but kindest and they are a credit to Iberostar .

The hotel and people are amazing . Fantastic holiday and will be returning. Thankyou to everyone at the Iberostar for giving us such a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Block 17 nice and quiet and near to restaurants and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear tottenham1956,

We are so grateful for your great review and for having chosen us for the 2nd time! It is great to know that you had an even better time than the 1st time!

Thank you su much for appreciating our beautiful and natural grounds. We do our best to keep a balanced environment for our fauna.

We are happy you keep enjoying our pool, bars, food and our wonderful staff. They really are hard-working, warm people and often are the reason our guests return. We will be forwarding your comments to the staff you mention; to receive a compliment is always so nice.

We are delighted you decided to come back once again, we will certainly be looking forward to that.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,939
    1,290
    322
    122
    67
See reviews for
1,520
1,681
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My daughters and I stayed here for a week beginning June 15th. (Ages 27, 32, 62) Our room was in Building 12, second floor, overlooking the pool area. The staff kept the room spotless and the mini fridge stocked. From check in to check out, everyone at the hotel was friendly and professional. The grounds are fantastic with a small jungle housing monkeys, birds, iguanas and other small animals. Staying for a week allows you to choose 3 specialty restaurants but if you ask in the morning and there is availability, you can book another one for that night. For dinner, we ate in the main buffet once and found the food to be very good. We also ate at the Mexican, Asian, Italian and steak house. We found the food to be excellent in all of them. Mexican and Asian being our favorites.
Service in every restaurant was outstanding. You can order any type of drink you want from the bar. And your water glass is always full. For breakfast and lunch, we ate at the buffets near the beach which were a little smaller but perfect for us. Mid morning – order an iced cappuccino – Starbucks quality.
The pool is awesome. We sat in the area where it is 5.5 feet deep so bring some type of float or buy one there so you can just float around all day. The pool bar is in a different pool right across from the main pool . The beach is beautiful . Chairs are saved but there are always enough for everyone even later in the day.
Star Friends were excelente. They were very friendly and energetic. I like that the daily schedule was close to being the same. Bike tour every morning with Lara at 10. She was awesome. Pool aerobics and beach Zumba with Maricio at 11:30 and 4 everyday. He is always smiling and energetic . Beach parties, pool games, whatever you want to do!
We did go to most of the shows at night and really enjoyed them. The Star Friends work very hard and are always smiling and want to make sure you’re having a good time.
We booked the Cozumel all day snorkel trip with lunch at the Iberostar Cozumel thru Dressel Divers and enjoyed it. Saw a spotted eagle ray, barracuda and turtles.
Its definitely hot but that’s what a beach vacation should be – bring clothes that are light and sundresses are great at night.
I would definitely go back to this resort. I loved it!
A note to corporate Iberostar Hotels - Its time to offer free internet in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear PLan977,

We are very happy you chose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal to spend a girl's holiday with your daughters, and that you were so satisfied!

Thank you for pointing out our beautiful grounds and wildlife, we work hard to keep them spotless always respecting the environment, that is why we are Green Globe certified!

We are very happy that you liked our food so much as well as the service, and that you were able to enjoy the restaurants more than your guaranteed 3 nights.

We will pass your comments on to our Star Friends who are great lads that care so much about your having a wonderful and entertaining holiday.

Regarding wifi, we will be introducing the service in the rooms and other common areas of the hotel this year. We still do not have fees available but we are sure they will be reasonable!

We would love it too if you came back to our resort; if so, please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any special request.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everything was great. Visited MX 6 times ,Best all around resort. Beautiful, clean, food was good, good service and the animals were awesome. Cant wait to go back. The monkeys visited really close to our room, momma, baby and dad. They really try to take good care of you. I felt safe in the playa car area. We had a good view of cozumel. Tulum ruins tour was ok, dont forget the bug spray and wear long pants and long sleeve shirt.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful for your kind words about your stay with us! Thanks for choosing our resort.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed so much our property, our food, service, and the beautiful animals that roam around!

We do our best to take care of our customers and create wonderful memories, so it is very motivational to see that we reached our goal this time.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Not long got back from the iberostar tucan and thought i would review while i have the energy :) from the moment we stepped into the hotel we were welcomed with open arms and presented with a welcome coctails. The check in guy (think he was dutch) was efficient and told us everything relevant. The hotel has an adjoining sister hotel the quetzal and they are both brilliant when you take a walk around.
Location- it is in a gated community in playacar, good security and every vehicle is checked and is fine to walk around. Hotel is beach front and has so much sand you will never be without a spot to enjoy the sun. Its close to a reef (walk to your right down the beach 5 mins until no more hotels and you can see it off shore about waist deep) plenty of fish to see!! up the coast is playa del carmen which has loads of shops and 5th avenue is 2 miles long which is main street.
Activities- as the entertainment team will tell you every night (theyre great guys and girls who work all hours) over 25 activities from shooting and archery to water polo and zumba, something for everyone. Gerado was a great laugh and a big shout out to you buddy!!
Grounds- set eitherside of a jungle area with a path going through it (perfectly safe) there are monkeys which if in certain buildings near jungle (13,14) will sit on your balcony we had 5 one morning!! Cotes, iguanas, geckos, tucans, peacocks, coy carp, little funny mammal things that chase eachother around. Basically loads of photo opps.
Beach- plenty of deck chairs and if there are none with permanent straw parasols the get one from the towel hut next to pool, beach soccer, 2 volleyball courts, 2 beach buffet restaurants, bar on beach front, beautiful sand at waterline and there are even small fishes in water swimming around. Catamarans, kayaks, snorkelling all free too, the pool is huge and has an adults only section just across fronw main area.
Food- buffet breakfast is amazing, everything possible available..... Usual suspects to fried banana and maple syrup, home made scrambled eggs, 8 flavours of yoghurt, 10 different pastries. The food will be similar everyday but theres that much you will be fine!! Lunch is served in beachfront restaurants and is buffet but lots to eat and drink. Evening meal can go to 5 a la carts and theyre all great especially Japanese and steak house, or again the buffet if you like and loads to eat!! Ice creams on beach and bars scattered around.
Extra things to do- chichen itza, captain hooks in cancun, coco bongos, snorkelling, whale sharks, game fishing, loads!! These are all not too far away but are extras.
Rooms- aircon :) youll need it, great choice of free drinks in fridge, lots of towells, water in showers a bit warm then cold but is not too bad!
Things to take- plug adaptors (u.s) mossi repellent for evenings or excursions, medium and high spf suncream.
Overall we were really impressed and if i was to do the very long flight to mexico again which i may well do, this hotel is top of my list! Polite staff, super clean and a really great place to be! Animation excelente!!!!

Rich (england)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear rich_break,

Thank you ever so much for that wonderful review! We are so happy that you chose Tucan & Quetzal and enjoyed your holiday so much.

Thank you for highlighting our flora and fauna. We are a Green Globe certified hotel, and was also the first resort to be so integrated with nature, so the fact that you appreciated this so much, fill us with pride.

Thanks also for mentioning the good job our Star Friends do. We will forward your comments to them, as it is always very motivational to read reviews like yours.

We are happy you enjoyed so much the food and drinks, and your room.

We hope that you do come back to spend your holiday with us if you decide to take the long flight to Mexico! :-) It would be our pleasure.

Saludos,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 5 yr old daughter & I all recently spent 11 nights at the Iberostar Tucan & had a fantastic time!

We really couldn't fault the hotel. The grounds are absolutely stunning. We never tired of walking through a jungle down to the pool each day. The pools were large, with lots of sunbeds & further sunbeds available on the beautiful beach.

Our daughter attended the kids club everyday, she loved it! We found ourselves trying to persuade her to spend more time with us! The lady who runs the kids club was great & kept them well entertained. movie time at midday kept our daughter out of the scorching midday heat. The children's disco in the evening was also great fun, followed by great evening entertainment. My husband & I also got involved in some of the daily activities such as water polo & aqua aerobics. The star friends work really hard and do a great job. We never felt pestered to join in if we didn't want to.

The food was great. A large selection at breakfast of cereals, cooked breakfast, omelettes, fruit & pastries. Lots of fruit & salad along with hot food available at lunch. The evening buffet was quite repetitive, but there was a wide range of foods including roast meat, fish and freshly prepared pasta dishes. The choice of 7 restaurants meant we never got bored. We particularly enjoyed the steak house.

The rooms are spacious & nice and cool. They are cleaned daily. The grounds are also frequently cleaned & well maintained. Everyone worked so hard to make everything spotless.

The photographers were great and we came away with a number of lovely family pictures and pictures of our daughter that were beautiful.

The beach had lovely golden sands and we had hours of fun jumping the waves in the clear sea.

We were unfortunate to encounter some bad weather, 5 days of scorching hot sunshine followed by 5 days of rain and storms, however the location, staff and entertainment meant we had a fantastic holiday regardless of the weather. We'd love to come back and would recommend this hotel to others, especially those with children. The holiday was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear HannahmWest,

We are happy you chose us to spend your family vacation. Thank you for your lovely words about our resort!

It is gratifying to learn from you review that you enjoyed your walks through the jungle so much, as well as the food and your accommodations.

We love to know that your little daughter enjoyed the kid's club! We will pass them your comments as this undoubtedly will be very motivating.

We would be honored if you decided to come back, and spend another wonderful holiday with your family.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This holiday was for my 50th birthday and it was the best way to celebrate a special occasion.. The room was cleaned daily and minibar topped up when needed. The food was out of this world, especially in the a la carte restaurants. The drinks in the bar were very tasty, my favourite, Mojito was made very speedily by Raul and served by Rosy, who always had a smile. Our room was on the edge of the jungle and we had a peacock on our balcony most mornings and several other beautiful creatures came to visit. There was always something to do if you wanted to take part or you could just sit back and watch. The staff treated every guest like a VIP and nothing was too much trouble. Great hotel, Enjoyed every minute of our holiday

Room Tip: Block 15 was on the edge of the jungle. Close to the entertainment and restaurants and only 5 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear bevandjeff,

Thank you so much for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for celebrating such a special occasion as your 50th birthday!!

We are happy to see that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed our flora and fauna, our food and drinks, and our wonderful staff!!!

We hope you come back again soon; it would be a pleasure to serve you.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Tucan Hotel was very interesting and different. The hotel is very clean. Excellent place to take the kids. Your children will love the grounds, and parents will love the resort layout. our room faced the jungle and we saw live animals (Howler Monkeys, Peacocks, Iguanas, etc from a safe distance. Pool layout was excellent. The different themes and live shows were good and very entertaining. It is truly a place to take the family. The beaches were the best in Mexico. Tucan Hotel is right on the beach. Truly an excellent and spectacular trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We are so grateful that you chose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your recent holiday, and that it was so enjoyable for you and your family.

We are a family oriented hotel and organise many different activities and shows so that our guests, the older and the younger ones, never get bored, so it is great to see you took advantage of these.

Among other areas, we take great care of our flora and fauna. We want our little animals to feel free and comfortable in their environment; we are happy you liked them.

We hope you come back with your family to spend another truly enjoyable vacation!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., VISIT US, INC. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.