We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the atmosphere...could have used an updated room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere...could have used an updated room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First, let me say that I really enjoyed this resort. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars is the "old" room. And when I say old, I really just mean the furniture and style - it was otherwise spotless and clean! The customer service here was amazing. The monkeys were SO fun! I would highly recommend getting a jungle view room, top floor. We had monkeys on our balcony many times. So fun!
The pool was amazing! Huge and warm. The one feature I didn't prefer was the pool bar was in a separate spot than the main pool. If I had a family, I would probably prefer this, but for a group of parents without their kids, it was not ideal.
I would definitely consider myself a hotel snob and have traveled to many highly rated all-inclusive resorts. We chose this resort for it's price point and it's rating, so I knew what to expect. If you're coming to this resort for a lavish room, you will be disappointed. If you're coming to relax and enjoy the jungle, good service, and beach, then this is the place for you. I would go back again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a top floor, jungle facing room. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for chosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal and for sharing your experience online.

Our room design is meant to go in accordance with the resort style; however we take into account your comment and have already passed it on to Management.

We are happy that you liked so much our flora and fauna, pool, and above all the service provided by our friendly staff. They are hard working enthusiastic individuals who work towards the same goal: to obtain your entire satisfaction.

Thanks again for your feedback, your mention of both the good points and the ones to be improved help us to get better day after day!

We hope you do come back again, please let us know in advance if you have any special requests.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,635
    1,134
    278
    110
    59
See reviews for
1315
1481
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family just returned from a 1 week stay at the Tucan (March 16-23), and would absolutely recommend it to other families in search of a relaxing all-inclusive vacation. The weather was perfect - no rain, and it was about 85 degrees the entire week.

PROS: The grounds are beautiful and maintained constantly by what is surely the hardest working and friendliest staff in Mexico. The pool is beautiful, very clean, and the water temperature was perfect. The "Star Friends" crew works their butts off all day long to make sure your vacation is enjoyable. There were two nights when the evening entertainment was especially cheesy, but most nights were a lot of fun. Our 7-year-old son loved playing billiards every evening and then hitting the mini-disco at 8pm ("ciao ciao, Mickey Mouse!"). He didn't use the kids club, as it seemed geared towards younger children. I like that the swim-up bar is totally separate from the other pools - there were some people making real fools of themselves, and I'm glad we didn't have to witness it all day! The food was good and varied enough for us (we aren't "foodies" though, so I can understand why some others have given poor reviews of the buffets). We didn't try any of the specialty restaurants.

CONS: The jungle is really cool, and it's fun to see so much variety in the animal life, but with animals comes feces! Be careful about dodging the monkey poop (and watch where you stand; we were pee'd on by a monkey within our first hour at the resort). I would say our biggest complaint is the room. The cleaning staff did a very good job (remember to tip them daily!), but it was very hard to sleep due to noise in the hallways. Someone was always slamming a door somewhere, and it was very disruptive. They need better insulation on the front doors and balcony windows. We also had some plumbing issues - woke up two days to a toilet that wouldn't flush, and only scalding hot water. The maintenance guy said it was affecting our whole building (12), and the problem was resolved within 30 minutes. Another big pet peeve was the chain smokers in the room next to ours - every night they would sit on their balcony smoking, which meant we couldn't sit on our balcony or open our windows. It wasn't so much a problem in other areas of the resort…I think Iberostar should aside some buildings that are entirely smoke-free.

EXCURSIONS WE TOOK: We did the Deluxe Chichen Itza tour one day with Experiencas Xcaret. If it's something you want to do, be prepared for a long day. They picked us up at our hotel at 7:30am and returned us at 8:30pm. A long day and lots of driving, but well worth it. On our last day in Mexico we took the ferry to Cozumel and did a day of sailing with "Cozumel Sailing" - it was a fantastic way to end our vacation, and I highly recommend it.

So would we return to this resort? Probably not, but that's just because the novelty of the jungle wore off on us, and the rooms were noisy/outdated and it was difficult to sleep. But I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Tucan/Quetzel to anyone looking for a unique all-inclusive getaway. We're hooked on Iberostar's excellent service, so we're considering the Bavaro in the Dominican Republic next year.

Room Tip: We had room 1224 - great location close to the beach and pool, but poorly insulated and needs updati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff and Management, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your vacations in March!

We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy all our services. We especially want to thank you for your positive comments regarding our clean ground, the service of our staff and variety of our food.

We are sorry to hear that the room did not fulfill your expectations. When it comes to the noise in the hallways and the smokers in the room next to you, we would like to inform you that when guests present their concerns, corrective actions are taken to ensure an immediate and appropriate solution. All reports or issues addressed to us are documented accordingly and followed through with our departments involved in order to give a solution to our guests.

Also, we would to emphasize that your status as a costumer is highly valued; we would be privileged to see you in the near future in order for you to experience the improvements in our facilities and services that will be accomplished thanks to our guests’ feedbacks. We would also like to invite you to visit our web site where you can find the different hotel categories we have in the Caribbean and in different parts of the world.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I will begin with check-in, even though we were having some difficulties the staff was so nice and they were so patient with us. We were booked in the 1800 Block of the resort and even though it took a few extra mintues to walk to the beach it was a nice location. We were extremely close to the bar, buffets, and reception.

The wild animals are amazing, peacocks, flamingos, monkeys in the trees, these little wombat type animals, and exoctic birds every where. My husband and I probably wouldnt be classified as "nature" people but we loved every inch of the resort and every second of our stay. It was so much fun to just walk through the jungle and look at all the wild life. Its pretty awesome how the hotel is built into the jungle, they bend the sidewalks around the trees instead of removing it, which is pretty neat.

The food was delicious! The morning buffets had everything you could ever want. Pancakes, eggs, ceral, oats, different jucies, fruit, meats and cheeses. They literally have something to cater to every person. The lunch and dinner buffets are equally as delicious. There are so many options and different flavors to choose from. We ate at three different A la carte restaurants. The mexican was our absolute favorite. To have tradition mexian food was wonderful, and the service was absolutely perfect. We also ate at the Japanese restaurant, and the steak house. Both were just as great and the service was also perfect at those two places. If you go hungry here, that honestly says more about you than it does about this hotel. There are endless choices.

The beach was beautiful and super clean. There was always places to sit and relax, and people coming around to take drink orders. The entertainment is also very good. My husband and I went to several of the shows at night and loved all of them. Very professional. We each also had a deep tissue message and both really enjoyed the spa. The spa has a hot tub, for adults only which is great!

A big concern for me was safety and I felt completely and utterly safe at every minute. We walked to Starbucks almost every day/night for the Wi-Fi to call home (5 minute walk), and went to 5th Ave and did some shopping and never felt like we had to look over our shoulders. I really can not get over how fun our entire trip was. All of the staff made us so confortable and made us feel so welcomed. Most of the staff can speak several different languages which is pretty remarkable. English, Spanish, and French were a few that I heard. We did tip pretty much every person that did a service for us, bartenders, waiters, for the messages, bell boys, even though it is not "necessary" my husband and I have both worked in the service industry and we always felt like everyone worked very hard and went above and beyond for us and certainly deserved a tip.

We are already planning our trip back for next year, the hotel has everything you could want. and it's a perfect location. Thank you everyone at the Iberostar that made our trip perfect!

Room Tip: 1800 Block was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dearest guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are thrilled to read we met you expectations!

We are happy you were pleased with the location of your room, and our lovely native wild animals and flora.

It is encouraging for us to learn you enjoyed our gastronomy so much; our chefs do their best to offer a vast variety of food that caters to many different nationalities with several palates. We will forward your comments to our executive chef and food & beverage, including your special mention to the specialty restaurants and the service you received, so that they can congratulate all the staff that works towards your satisfaction.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our beautiful beach and our spa. It sounds like you had a really relaxing holiday!

Finally, we appreciate very much your comments about our lovely staff, from our entertainment staff, to bartenders, waiters, bellboys, and your generosity towards them. They are the most important asset our company has; thanks to them we are able to provide our customers with great and unforgettable vacations.

We hope that if you come back to Riviera Maya, you choose as again, as we would be thrilled to welcome you back to your home away from home!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned a few days ago from a week stay here. Weather was great. Hotel was clean- spotless. There were many animals on the property to see. Pools were clean but ice cold! Food was fair. Nothing great here. Drinks were ok. Beds were hard. Housekeeping was great. The ocean is surely the main draw here. It is gorgeous. Absolutely breathtaking. We went into town for shopping and dinner a few times. Taxi ride was about 7.00. This was our 8th trip to Mexico. I would say the other Iberostar resorts we stayed at were much nicer.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the clean grounds, our Housekeeping department and the hotel overall.

Our swimming pools’ temperature is regulated to prevent low temperatures, however let us forward your comments to our maintenance department to follow this up.

We hope to welcome you back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal or any Iberostar resort at some stage in the near future!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Returned to this hotel after first going 10 years ago to our daughter's wedding. Everything is pretty much the same: Beach and pool good; rooms good; food excellent; staff superb - friendly and helpful. The jungle atmosphere between the Tucan and Quetsel still has all the wild life and flora to make the walk interesting and different each time. The peacocks are amazing. As are the flamingos and all the other monkeys and little furry creatures, and the iguanas. My only complaint would be to possibly upgrade the beach towels, and some of the room towels. There were always enough however. The little "towel" creations done by the cleaning staff in our room each day were a delight. Rooms appeared clean and maintained; abundance and choice of food best we have seen. Our server, Bartolo, in Tucan Buffet restaurant was attentive and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms are in 3-story blocks numbered from 19 next to the main lobby and most restaurants, to 10 clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you so much for returning to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal; it is fantastic to see that you had a wonderful time during your latest vacations.

As a committed company with the environment, we do our best to preserve our flora & fauna which is one of our strong points, so we love to read that you enjoyed it so much!

Thank you for valuing our clean grounds, rooms, pool, food and especially our staff, who go above and beyond to make our guests’ stay special and wonderful. We will congratulate Bartolo for delivering a great service.

We take into account your suggestion about the beach and room towels, our Housekeeping department has already been informed. Thanks for that feedback!

Thanks again for your review; we hope that you come back, this time sooner than in ten years time ;-) so that we have the pleasure to serve you again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico and absolutely loved it!! The resort was amazing and all the people that work there. Everyone was so friendly and helpful!! Our room was cozy and very clean. We loved walking through the jungle and seeing all the wildlife!! Lots of pictures to take.The beach was absolutely gorgeous. We were able to go for long walks with no one bothering us. The food was amazing. Lots of variety! And drinks were far from weak. The resort had lots to do throughout the day if you wanted to do things.
Salsa lessons, Zumba on the beach, bingo, water polo, bike tours, horseshoes, pottery painting$, most things were free to do. They even had a mechanical bull on the beach one day!!
My daughter and I enjoyed the entertainment every nite!! The entertainment staff were amazing!! They put on a great shows every night!! Especially Marissio!

I would highly recommend this resort!! And we will go back again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dearest guest!

Thank you very much for your kind review and of course for having chosen us for your latest vacation.

We are thrilled to learn that you had such a great time participating in so many activities and watching the entertainment. We will be passing your comments on to the entertainment staff, Star Friends, so they know their hard work is very much appreciated!

We are happy you liked our flora & fauna we take such great care to preserve.

We hope that if you ever come back to Mexico, you give us the honor of choosing our resort again so you can create new wonderful memories with your family.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our stay in January was great - this is a really nice, visually impressive place. There's plenty of wildlife to see in the jungle area (my wife loved the monkeys on our balcony in the morning) and then of course the terrific Caribbean beach with the white sand and crystal blue water. Plenty to do nearby or right out on the beach if you like parasailing, jetskis, windsurfing, snorkeling, diving or just about any water activity. Always a beach volleyball game going on. Just lazing around on the beach or at the pool was great too.

We liked the food - a really great variety at all the buffets, and plenty of healthy choices available. All four restaurants we tried were quite good. Booze was quite decent, except at the beach bars they don't have real Khalua or real bourbon. You have to walk in to one of the main bars for those. The entertainment at night ranged from really quite good to sorta off target, but in general was fun. The audience participation contest was the best - don't miss that one. At the end of the show each night a really good salsa band takes over for dancing, and that's great. There are several young guys and girls who show any interested tourists how to dance to salsa.

Our rooms were fine, but we like firm mattresses. Service was always friendly, courteous and prompt. All the employees we encountered were nice as could be. There's a shopping center with a Starbuck's a ten minute walk away, and downtown is a five minute cab ride (40 minute walk). We walked down the beach and up into 3 or 4 other all-inclusives adjacent to the Iberostar, and they all looked cheap and unimpressive by comparison.

Here's my only caveat - they need to put a few more chaise lounges and umbrellas around both the pool and the beach. Unless you get up by 8AM and lay your towels across some to stake your claim, you may miss out until at least lunchtime. Other than that, I'd say they're pretty much doing everything right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful for your wonderful comments about our resort and for sharing them with the rest of the online community!

We are thrilled you enjoyed so much our flora & fauna which is so characteristic of our resort; as well as our culinary offer, your rooms and all the activities offered at the resort.

Thank you so much for valuing so much the service provided by our wonderful staff, who is a very important asset in our company. They are the ones who really achieve our goal, which is the complete satisfaction of our clients, and deserve a special mention. We will be passing your comments on to them so that they will feel motivated.

Your feedback, both positive and negative, helps us tremendously to measure our performance. Thanks for your suggestion about the lounges and umbrellas for the pool and beach. Reservation of these is not allowed, however, this practice is common and we are working on finding a solution.

Thanks again for your post; we hope you give us the honor of coming back to our resort for your next trip to Mexico!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.