We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went to Iberostar Tucan Jan 2-9, 2013. The weather was great the pools while not heated were fine during the day even for this former southerner. The beach was clean and pretty and the water warmer than I expected for the time of year. I had a 2.5 year old and a 5 month old and everyone at the resort was kind, appeared to enjoy children and friendly. Our children were too young for the kids club but had great fun. There was food they liked to eat, besides for a kiddie pool, there is a playground, and the larger pool has two areas that are 0 entry and we spent most of our time there. Mauricio, the aerobics instructor, general energetic entertainer and kids mini disco MC was great. He always greeted us kindly, gave hugs and remembered our children's name, looked like he tried to make his job fun for himself and was the heart of the entertainment crew. We would go back and went with another couple that had a 4 year old and 6 month old that stayed at Iberostar Quetzal across the pool and we had a great time together. I liked the location of building 12-14, closer to the pools and beach. Also stroller could go everywhere as they have rams, just the inner jungle walk had stairs and rough stones, but was never a big deal.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle toward the pool and beach are convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing us. We are deeply glad and grateful of your visit.

For sure we will share your generous comments with Mauricio. The best reward that staff can have is your compliments.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,651
    1,144
    281
    110
    59
See reviews for
1,328
1,490
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lévis, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent a wonderful week. I went there for diving and I met a great team of dive masters. All the staff at the dive shop is very nice.
I've bought my excursions to Cozumel and the Cenotes with Dressel Divers and all was perfect.
Special thanks to Senor Julian, our guide, and dive master for those two amazing excursions.
My family and I also appreciated our stay at this hotel.
The beach is perfect. Go to Japanese and Steak House restaurants.
Alain Ouimet, jan. 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations.

We are glad to hear that you had an amazing time! Thank you for your comments regarding the restaurants and the rest of the services. We are happy you had a great time with Dressel Divers.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I came here with almost a dozen lovely ladies for a bachelorette party. Since we were fresh out of college and it was the first of our friends to get married, we were definitely on a budget. We were lucky to get a great group rate on this place (I think it came out to less than 100 bucks per night, per person, all-inclusive).

I've been to Playa del Carmen before and stayed at a more "luxury" accommodation, but I actually preferred this one for three main reasons: the location, the beach, and the food.

The location was perfect for us as we wanted to venture into town and hit the clubs. It was like a ten dollar cab ride split between four or so people per car so it was very affordable--much closer to downtown Playa than the Riviera Maya area.

I also really liked the beach at this resort. It was pretty full of lounge chairs but it was nice and sandy and had beautiful crystal-clear water in the ocean. Some of the Riviera Maya areas are a little bit cloudier in the water due to the rivers that empty into them. But this area was deep Caribbean blue. And I am also a big fan of swimming in the ocean.

The food here was great too. There are several "themed" restaurants to choose from for dinner/evening meals and I was never disappointed. You have to make reservations and be on time though, so be aware of that.The all-day buffet did not disappoint either. There was always a great selection. If you can't find something you like, then YOU are the one with the problem.

There are also tons of activities nearby and within the resort itself. They have shows and classes and obviously the pools and the bars are always poppin'. They even had a little club/disco on the property, but we preferred taking a cab into town.

The one thing that keeps me from giving it five stars was that the floors in the rooms were kind of scuzzy and the beds were not that comfortable, although this did not affect my sleep in any way, shape, or form on this trip because sleep was either nonexistent or we were so *exhausted* we just passed out. Also, for groups like ours it should be noted that this resort has a lot to offer people of ALL ages...meaning certain activities and times of day are very "family-friendly" so be aware of your actions, especially during the day.

I always recommend this hotel to people who mention they are traveling to Mexico for vacation. I think it's an excellent bang for your buck and you have zero excuses for not having the best vacation ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in January. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for your feedback. They always help us improve every day.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Absolutely the best experience myself and family have had and we travel every January together!! The Tucan was so clean and BEAUTIFUL, food delicious, atmosphere can't be topped!! The service was AMAZING and accommodating to all our requests!!! I wanted to go back the minute we arrived home!! We will be back next January!! Forgive me if I misspell the following: Marcello, Carmen, Mikaela, Catalino, Isabalino, and William made our trip so memorable!!! AND a big thank you to Gabby who helped in our planning of activities that we will never forget!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations.

We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities. We will make sure that all the staff receives your comments!!!

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were very fortunate to spend a week at the Tucan. We left in the middle of a snowstorm, to arrive in Playa del Carmen to sun and beautiful weather. We were a group of six - family, but all adults.

The resort was perfect for us. It looked and felt like Mexico. It was not a high rise, so we never had to deal with elevators. Given the size of the resort, there was a small amount of walking if you were going to the front desk area, nothing that was horrendous, though.

I had sent a request ahead of time asking that we all be in Building 13. They were able to do that, and they provided foam matresses in each room when we checked in. The beds were firm, but we never had any problem sleeping. The monkeys were usually out in the mornings around this building, so they were fun to see. Be prepared, though - they are loud.

Our stay at the Tucan was excellant. Service was great everywhere we were at the resort. Our room was spotless; I requested extra bottled water after our first day and they always kept it well stocked.

Some individuals on the wait staff went above and beyond, to the point that we sought them specifically - Ofelia on the beach, Francisco for the breakfast buffet, and Micaela in the Lobby Bar. We enjoyed their company and we never lacked for drinks from them. If the drinks need some extra kick, you can always ask for additional alcohol.

The restaurants were very good. The buffet always had great choices. The trick to a buffet is to not eat everything that is served in your first meal. We found that the variety was fine for everyone's taste. We ate at two of the reservation restaurants - the Mexican food and the Steakhouse. Both had good food. The steaks were great - really nice cut of filet and cooked exactly the way I ordered it.

The beach was excellant. We spent most of the day out there, enjoying the sun and the view. It was busy while we were there, so there were a lot of people on the beach. It never felt overcrowded, and we were always able to get chairs/sun shelter.

The swim-up pool bar was closed while we were there. They were in the process of cleaning and renovating, but we really didn't miss it. We used the beach bar that whole time.

Lots of activities, if you are looking for them. Yoga everyday, which was great for me. Zumba on the beach in the afternoon, which is entertaining just to watch.

They work very hard to make sure this resort is spotless. The grounds are cleaned every day, as well as the beach.

We couldn't have asked for a better vacation. Loved the beach, but really loved the resort. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing us. We are deeply glad and grateful of your visit.

For sure we will share your generous comments with our staff. The best reward that we can have is your compliments.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

this was our third visit to the resort of playacar and again we had a fabulous relaxing holiday,previous two visits we stayed at the riu yucatan,great hotel,super staff and superb food,this holiday we decided to go to the iberostar tucan,it was a family holiday a party of 12 all ages, we were not disapointed same great beach location as the yucatan but a much larger hotel,but equally as good if not better ,the food was excellent , do pre book the speciality restaurants they really are worth a visist,the jungle area in the grounds is great and nothing was to much trouble for the staff.we did request and got rooms down by the pool as we had our grandchildren with us 11yrs and 12yrs it made life a lot easier as with all kids they always seem to want make frequent trips back to the room and if you get rooms at the top of the resort near reception it,s a 10min or more walk to the pool and beach,overall an excellent beach holiday

Room Tip: we were on the second floor and as we had requested to be down by the pool and beach we had a side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel, Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, for your vacations.

We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was a nice hotel,,,good standard iberostar,,,food excellent,,and this was almost the best entertainment team i have ever had,,,evening entertainment was great,,drinks were good ,,it was not a cheap holiday ,,£3,400 for two weeks for 2 people,,but to be honest the japanese restaurant was amazing,,stayed in the same resort 9 months earlier but stateyed in the riu yukatan,,i prefer the riu as you can use all the other riu hotels with your all inclusive band,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Thank you for your comments on the food, drinks and our entertainment team.

You may indeed use other Iberostar hotels that belong to the same Premium category with your all-inclusive band. These would be: Iberostar Quetzal, Iberostar Cozumel, Iberostar Mar and Iberostar Beach.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to any of our Iberostar hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.