We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
al in bebington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First choice first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel could not fault,food was good and varied,cleanliness,second to none,hotel staff from top to bottom were friendly and very polite,even the gardener s spent time to speak to you,our room was near the beach and swimming pool,but any room would be convenient in its own way,we loved walking through the jungle with our grand son,3yrs old spotting the animals,the agoutis,were his favorite.the monkeys were mine.also we walked around the quitsel next door,I wouldn't,t mind staying there either,playa car lovely place to be in November it rained for 2hrs,Tuesday,although it was dull it was nice and warm and people were still playing in the sea and swimming pool,entertainment,the team worked very hard to keep us happy and always had something to say the ladies were lovely ,the men were camp as a row of tents,with great sens of humer,Marrisio & Carlos/Charlie always talked to the kid and loved to nurse bobby,the baby,and hi five Toby,, thank to all who made our Holliday great chow chow Micky mouse.

Room Tip: Our room was 1147/1148 3rd floor a bit difficult for the pram but we managed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in November.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,628
    1,131
    277
    110
    59
See reviews for
1309
1477
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our family has stayed at this resort around thanksgiving for four years in a row now. We are a large and diverse group and while we all have had some complaints over the years, the resort has always worked well overall, especially for those of us with kids.

This year was an exception. Everyone in our party was disappointed with this visit. I will list the low points:

Front desk service was slow and blasé. We were always made to feel as if we were imposing on them.

In this day and age having wifi in only a small part of the lobby is unacceptable. In order to utilize wifi I would have to walk 5 minutes to the lobby, wait another ten minutes for front desk staff to help, then pay $5.00 for every 15 minutes of service. 5 stars?

The pool is cold. There is no hot tub other than a lukewarm one in the spa separated by sexes. There is a jacuzzi in the center of the pool. It's actually colder than the pool itself. 5 Stars?

In our previous stays we found that most of the staff was friendly, with some notable exceptions that were easily avoided. This year we found that several key staff members were downright surly. Example: On my first visit to the beachfront bar, the bartenders at the beach bar actually insulted me in Spanish assuming I didn't understand them. So my choice the rest of the trip was to go back to these jerks or to wait 30-45 minutes for a waitress on the beach. 5 stars?

On previous visits we were allowed to seat ourselves in the buffet. This allowed us to stick with friendly, helpful waiters. Some of these guys are really great. This time around they insisted on seating us every time which often resulted in getting slow, mildly rude waiters. Expecting timely delivery of coffee is not asking a lot, but some of these guys seemed really bothered by it.

The food is ok overall, pretty basic Pre-cooked buffet fare with some nice exceptions. What is really lacking is variety. It's all the same food all the time. The restaurants offer a small break from this with the entrees, but the side dishes and desserts are exactly what's in the buffet night after night.

What else? Like so many other reviewers, our room did not have the bed configuration promised. The beds are hard and getting a foam pad or extra blanket is a major hassle. Several areas reeked of sewage. We were driven in a luggage cart through a cloud of fumigation.

To top it all off, nearly everyone in our party got sick. We talked to many, many other people staying there who were also sick. We also overheard many people at the front desk and restaurants talking of sick family members. Clearly something was going on. What was the hotel response? Depended on who you asked. One guy claimed that he had heard nothing about people getting sick, a bald faced lie. The hotel doctor said there was a flu epidemic going around the hotel. Another person at the front desk said the epidemic was affecting the entire peninsula. My guess? It was the food. Some of our party became ill within 24 hours of arrival.

The beach is wonderful, some of the staff is great, the grounds are beautiful, the animals are cool, and some of the food is pretty good. There are enough positives about this place to have kept us coming back, but next year well find somewhere else to spend our money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at the Tucan Quetzal Nov 2 to the 11th very good time excellentservice thank you Dennis at front desk check in and also Santos at the lobby bar in the evening great Margeritas and they are not watered down for those who say that the food is not good i will disagree great choice and variety beautiful lushness and greenery plus the tropical setting with the animals just a great gig thanks iberostar we shall return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review; it was a pleasure reading it! We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest!
We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your recent Mexican vacations and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would definitely make this your choice when spending time in Playa del Carmen. The grounds are well kept with comfortable surroundings! The staff will do all that they canto make your stay a plesent one.There is always something happening day and night to keep you busy with the help of the Star Friends,they are a very hard working crew that provides the fun activities on the beach and in the Star Lounge with nightly shows put on by the Star Friends.After the wounderful entertainment dance till dawn in the lovely disco !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.
Your comments are highly appreciated.
Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am just back from a vacation in Playacar where I stayed at the Iberostar Tucan with my two sons (25 and 31). I don't have enough praise for the Hotel and staff.

The grounds are stunning. The layout around the jungle is perfect. Wildlife everywhere. The common areas are clean clean clean. The ground staff are ever present and thier attention is obvious. The beach and pool are clean as well. Again...attention. A short walk north on the beach will give an appreciation for the amount of attention the staff puts into keeping the beach clean.

My room...amazing (1327). Howler Monkeys at my balcony every day. And lush jungle. My room was kept spotless by the staff. The bed...yes,firm...but I liked that. Quiet. Could hear some of the show sounds from the pavillion but the shows end fairly early.

Food. I won't say excellent, but, I will say very good and plenty of variety. Considering the price I paid for this "all inclusive" and what I have paid in the past at other resorts, I have no problem using Excellent Value to desrcibe our stay. The bars are great. You don't want "well liquor" in your drinks??? ASK....just ask and you will be given any of the top shelf that is behind the bar. The bartenders and waitresses??? fantastic. Hint; talk to them, introduce yourself, TIP!!!!!!! The very first day they knew my and my sons names and never forgot ( although they did change my name to Senior' Whiskers ).

Staff. Wonderfull. Friendly. Accomadating. Attentive. Show them your appreciation and it will come back tenfold.

This hotel is a great jumping-off point for the many things to do in the area. We all, despite the age difference ( 25,31,59 ), found so much to do and see. Off grounds; try Rio Secreto, Chichen Itza, Maroma Watersports, Tulum ( it just goes on ). On grounds; there is so very much to do...snorkle, kayak and sail, swim, organized activities, or my personal favorite...reading on the beach with a Mohito.

Will I go back? Already planning a return trip. If any of the Oberistar Staff see this post, Thank You for your kindness and attention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your visit to Playa del Carmen and for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay at our resort. We really enjoy reviewing your comments that you enjoyed the friendly, warm, attentive and professional service.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaville, quebec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After over 12 years of traveling I would say this hotel has the best site of all......the only negative thing to say is the matress is hard, but almost all the hotels out south are the same.....

Beach, pool, room, food,the people, excellent...we were 7 people and we all said the same thing.....We are very very happy with our choice. I knew Iberostar has a good reputation but this was wow.....the animals in the jungle around us were beautiful....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.
Your comments are highly appreciated.
Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just got back from Tucan. Overall, it is a decent hotel. The food and drinks leave a lot to be desired. Frozen drinks taste like fruit punch with alcohol. Did not really like any of the food, but I guess that's what you get with an all inclusive. Reception was awful when we got there, very slow!
The beach was really nice but we were not able to use the kayaks because they said the water was too rough, however, there were lots of kayaks being used at the other resorts. The grounds are kept clean, as well as the rooms. Staff was generally friendly. The pool bar was dirty.
I probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you to have taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay in our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We regret to hear that we could not exceed your expectations. Your valuable comments have been directed to our Hotel Management to find areas of improvement in the services mentioned.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future so you can experience the improvements in our facilities and services that will be accomplished thanks to our guests’ feedbacks.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.