We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Newton, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jungle Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am just back from a vacation in Playacar where I stayed at the Iberostar Tucan with my two sons (25 and 31). I don't have enough praise for the Hotel and staff.

The grounds are stunning. The layout around the jungle is perfect. Wildlife everywhere. The common areas are clean clean clean. The ground staff are ever present and thier attention is obvious. The beach and pool are clean as well. Again...attention. A short walk north on the beach will give an appreciation for the amount of attention the staff puts into keeping the beach clean.

My room...amazing (1327). Howler Monkeys at my balcony every day. And lush jungle. My room was kept spotless by the staff. The bed...yes,firm...but I liked that. Quiet. Could hear some of the show sounds from the pavillion but the shows end fairly early.

Food. I won't say excellent, but, I will say very good and plenty of variety. Considering the price I paid for this "all inclusive" and what I have paid in the past at other resorts, I have no problem using Excellent Value to desrcibe our stay. The bars are great. You don't want "well liquor" in your drinks??? ASK....just ask and you will be given any of the top shelf that is behind the bar. The bartenders and waitresses??? fantastic. Hint; talk to them, introduce yourself, TIP!!!!!!! The very first day they knew my and my sons names and never forgot ( although they did change my name to Senior' Whiskers ).

Staff. Wonderfull. Friendly. Accomadating. Attentive. Show them your appreciation and it will come back tenfold.

This hotel is a great jumping-off point for the many things to do in the area. We all, despite the age difference ( 25,31,59 ), found so much to do and see. Off grounds; try Rio Secreto, Chichen Itza, Maroma Watersports, Tulum ( it just goes on ). On grounds; there is so very much to do...snorkle, kayak and sail, swim, organized activities, or my personal favorite...reading on the beach with a Mohito.

Will I go back? Already planning a return trip. If any of the Oberistar Staff see this post, Thank You for your kindness and attention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your visit to Playa del Carmen and for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay at our resort. We really enjoy reviewing your comments that you enjoyed the friendly, warm, attentive and professional service.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,641
    1,139
    280
    110
    60
See reviews for
1,321
1,485
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
victoriaville, quebec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After over 12 years of traveling I would say this hotel has the best site of all......the only negative thing to say is the matress is hard, but almost all the hotels out south are the same.....

Beach, pool, room, food,the people, excellent...we were 7 people and we all said the same thing.....We are very very happy with our choice. I knew Iberostar has a good reputation but this was wow.....the animals in the jungle around us were beautiful....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.
Your comments are highly appreciated.
Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just got back from Tucan. Overall, it is a decent hotel. The food and drinks leave a lot to be desired. Frozen drinks taste like fruit punch with alcohol. Did not really like any of the food, but I guess that's what you get with an all inclusive. Reception was awful when we got there, very slow!
The beach was really nice but we were not able to use the kayaks because they said the water was too rough, however, there were lots of kayaks being used at the other resorts. The grounds are kept clean, as well as the rooms. Staff was generally friendly. The pool bar was dirty.
I probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you to have taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay in our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We regret to hear that we could not exceed your expectations. Your valuable comments have been directed to our Hotel Management to find areas of improvement in the services mentioned.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future so you can experience the improvements in our facilities and services that will be accomplished thanks to our guests’ feedbacks.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is our 4th trip to the Caribbean and the second return to the Tucan. We love this resort. Most resorts are well manicured and the jungle is cleared out. The Tucan, is nestled "in" the jungle. As you walk through the center of the resort, on your way to the huge pool and the beach, you find yourself in the jungle among various animals, birds, reptiles and mayan "artifacts". The trail is not smooth. It his a rough stone and sort of "hilly". A little difficult in flip-flops but manageable.This year, the food was slightly down from years past. Not as much of a selection as we've seen before but its still good. It is safe to eat, despite what some reviews may say. If you're an experienced traveler, you know what to eat and drink and what not to. We tend to shy away from dairy products as they are not what we are use to from the states. If you're looking for a party resort or to "hook up" the Tucan may not be for you. Its geared more to families and couples. The advantage to this is, quiet. You dont have a group of drunk kids ruining your vacation. The staff at the Tucan is amazing. They are so nice and helpful. If you need anything all you have to do is ask. If they can accommodate your request, they will. Rooms are clean and in good condition. Our bed was hard this year but nor horrible. The maid service was great as always. We usually leave $2 US each day and they fill our fridge everyday instead of every other day. The one thing that annoyed us was the cost of extra activities such as massages, para-sailing, etc. The last time we were there, you could get an hour massage for about $50 US, this year the price had almost doubled. Same goes for para-sailing. A 45 minute "ride" was about $45 US, this year, almost a $100 for 30 minutes. I imagine the world economy has affected food and extra services since 2009. Also, the beach was not as well taken care of this year. Small trash items were found all over. Usually they are very well taken care of.

Over all, we love the Tucan. Other resorts we have stayed at lack in comparison to the Tucan but compared to other Iberostars we have stayed at, the Tucan has dropped a few points in our book. If you dont want extra activities or mind the minor things, its a great place to spend your vacation.

Room Tip: When you check in, ask for an upgrade, typically they will do it without question. Most rooms are we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing us. We are deeply glad and grateful of your visit.

For sure we will share your generous comments with our staff. The best reward that we can have is your compliments.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You'd think that picking a "5-Star" resort with all inclusive food and drink would be a smart way to avoid getting food poisoning, but evidently not. On the very first day at Iberostar Tucan Resort, somewhere between the mediocre buffets and the so-so first dinner at one of the restaurants, I ate or drank something that gave me a case of "viral gastroenteritis" (aka stomach and intestinal tract virus attack) that not only ruined my birthday (the reason for this trip) but the rest of the week as well and continues to plague me even now back home. As for the all-inclusive, well, when you can't eat or drink anything for three days it sure makes it seem like a waste of money. Beyond that, if you even want to go beyond that, the food was for the most part monotonous and not appetizing, even for my friend who was lucky enough to miss out on my problems and was actually able to eat during our visit.

As for the resort itself, it was a beautiful spot and for the most part the staff was helpful. Oh, and if you are single, don't bother going here, it's pretty much all families and couples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to mention that we are deeply sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. We appreciate the time you have invested in writing this feedback.

We regret to hear that you got ill while on vacation, and we would like to let you know that every concern presented by our guests is important to us.

Enteric viruses, which causes vomiting and diarrhea, have the characteristic of being transmitted from person to person (like the flu), so it cannot be associated exclusively or directly with food or drinks.
Iberostar Hotels and Resorts work very strictly according to the internal and external hygiene regulations. Our hotel has a specific Health & Safety department which works in association with consultancy of an external company who is in charge of verifying our hygiene procedures. The analyses performed on food, ice, water and surfaces discarded the presence of viruses.

Our guests well being is our priority and the hotel will not take any risk when it comes to the hygiene and maintenance issues.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience occurred during your stay and we hope to have the honor to welcome you and your family back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent a week at the tucan November 6th 2012. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel . Everything was great , Check out the Japanese restaurant it's a treat . This hotel cares about the animals, the environment and does what it takes to take care of it . We were privileged to see mama monkey every day with her babies . The jungle part is very nice , you can sit on a bench or even have a massage and just relax and listen. The hotel is in a U shape the open side the beach and the two sides are rooms . Building 10 tucan and 20 quetzal are the only ones that have ocean front rooms and then you walk back 10 buildings on each side . Number 12 tucan side is where we were or 22 are beside the pool and a few seconds from the beach . 15 and 25 are closer to the show area so can be a little loud. We then moved to 2023 because I wanted an ocean front . Same decor in the rooms , very spacious and clean .

The weather was on our side sunny everyday not a drop of rain . They have recycling bins a little everywhere , now if the people can educate themselves and use them ..it would make a difference . :)

The stretch of beach is playacar and it's wonderful . Playacar beach is from the first hotel located beside senior frog or the beginning of the 5th avenue in playa del Carmen , the playacar palace and the last one is the sandos . The tucan is the beside the sandos and 2 and half kilometers from the 5th avenue . So if you walk at a normal pace of 10 minutes per K you are about 25 minutes’ walk from the 5th avenue . The city of playacar is beautifull and safe .

We have stayed at the riu palace Riviera maya and the playacar palace in the past .

Would go back to the iberostar anytime .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in November.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a great holiday with my husband and 4.5 year old grandson. Hotel rooms and grounds kept very clean. Jungle is amazing, seeing the iguanas, toucans, peacocks etc is so great for kids, my grandson had a blast! We stayed in block 12, it was close to the beach, and the room was on the second floor facing the jungle. Perfect location! Try to get into blocks 11-13 upper floors if you want to see monkeys - they visited us every morning!
Good choice of food. Staff is very friendly, always ready to help, always smile. Lovely clean beach,
I would come here again and again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.