We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"5-Star" doesn't mean the food is safe to eat” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"5-Star" doesn't mean the food is safe to eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You'd think that picking a "5-Star" resort with all inclusive food and drink would be a smart way to avoid getting food poisoning, but evidently not. On the very first day at Iberostar Tucan Resort, somewhere between the mediocre buffets and the so-so first dinner at one of the restaurants, I ate or drank something that gave me a case of "viral gastroenteritis" (aka stomach and intestinal tract virus attack) that not only ruined my birthday (the reason for this trip) but the rest of the week as well and continues to plague me even now back home. As for the all-inclusive, well, when you can't eat or drink anything for three days it sure makes it seem like a waste of money. Beyond that, if you even want to go beyond that, the food was for the most part monotonous and not appetizing, even for my friend who was lucky enough to miss out on my problems and was actually able to eat during our visit.

As for the resort itself, it was a beautiful spot and for the most part the staff was helpful. Oh, and if you are single, don't bother going here, it's pretty much all families and couples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to mention that we are deeply sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. We appreciate the time you have invested in writing this feedback.

We regret to hear that you got ill while on vacation, and we would like to let you know that every concern presented by our guests is important to us.

Enteric viruses, which causes vomiting and diarrhea, have the characteristic of being transmitted from person to person (like the flu), so it cannot be associated exclusively or directly with food or drinks.
Iberostar Hotels and Resorts work very strictly according to the internal and external hygiene regulations. Our hotel has a specific Health & Safety department which works in association with consultancy of an external company who is in charge of verifying our hygiene procedures. The analyses performed on food, ice, water and surfaces discarded the presence of viruses.

Our guests well being is our priority and the hotel will not take any risk when it comes to the hygiene and maintenance issues.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience occurred during your stay and we hope to have the honor to welcome you and your family back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,637
    1,136
    278
    110
    59
See reviews for
1316
1482
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent a week at the tucan November 6th 2012. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel . Everything was great , Check out the Japanese restaurant it's a treat . This hotel cares about the animals, the environment and does what it takes to take care of it . We were privileged to see mama monkey every day with her babies . The jungle part is very nice , you can sit on a bench or even have a massage and just relax and listen. The hotel is in a U shape the open side the beach and the two sides are rooms . Building 10 tucan and 20 quetzal are the only ones that have ocean front rooms and then you walk back 10 buildings on each side . Number 12 tucan side is where we were or 22 are beside the pool and a few seconds from the beach . 15 and 25 are closer to the show area so can be a little loud. We then moved to 2023 because I wanted an ocean front . Same decor in the rooms , very spacious and clean .

The weather was on our side sunny everyday not a drop of rain . They have recycling bins a little everywhere , now if the people can educate themselves and use them ..it would make a difference . :)

The stretch of beach is playacar and it's wonderful . Playacar beach is from the first hotel located beside senior frog or the beginning of the 5th avenue in playa del Carmen , the playacar palace and the last one is the sandos . The tucan is the beside the sandos and 2 and half kilometers from the 5th avenue . So if you walk at a normal pace of 10 minutes per K you are about 25 minutes’ walk from the 5th avenue . The city of playacar is beautifull and safe .

We have stayed at the riu palace Riviera maya and the playacar palace in the past .

Would go back to the iberostar anytime .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in November.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a great holiday with my husband and 4.5 year old grandson. Hotel rooms and grounds kept very clean. Jungle is amazing, seeing the iguanas, toucans, peacocks etc is so great for kids, my grandson had a blast! We stayed in block 12, it was close to the beach, and the room was on the second floor facing the jungle. Perfect location! Try to get into blocks 11-13 upper floors if you want to see monkeys - they visited us every morning!
Good choice of food. Staff is very friendly, always ready to help, always smile. Lovely clean beach,
I would come here again and again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton,Cleveleys NW UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed 6-21 October,Tucan side: We were originaly in block 15, but that only had a close up view of the jungle, with no sunlight so the room was fairly dark all the time, so the second week we upgraded to a sea front junior suite for $60 a night, much better, and the queen size bed was a lot more comfy, However we looked at the Tucan side from the sea and most of the rooms views were of palm trees, so we asked for one on the quitzel side, less palm trees.
This caused a problem when it was time to leave, we were on the wrong side and the coach left without us ! without even calling our names out according to people that were on the coach.so it cost us $50 in a taxi to the airport as Hector the rep, didnt want to know. So if you do this, go back to the Tucan side when you leave.

If you go First Choice/Thomson you will be in the Tucan side, Thomas Cook and others Quitzel side, both are identical apart from some different shops in reception.
The Hotel cant be faulted, very clean all the staff smile and say "Ola" as you pass.

The food, there are lots of the same thing everyday, BUT it would take you 2 weeks to try it all, so stop moaning about it ! there are 14 different salad dressings !!
The chef's carvery will have anything from a large Grouper fish and a turkey to full leg of lamb to a roast beef joint.There is also a nice ice cream station just to the left of the carvery with cookie dough ice cream :)

The main buffet restaurants have large thatched roofs, which the monkeys often come off the trees and walk along, so you may see some when your eating. Tip, make sure there are no bugs in your coffee cups or saucers before you use them.
We ate at most of the a La Carte restuarants but thought the Japanese and the Steak house were best.
Breakfasts are to die for if you have a sweet tooth, waffles, white icing doughnuts, choc doughnuts, sugar doughnuts, Churritos, lots of nice danish and cakes, also next to the toast machine is choc spread, Peanut butter and caramel sauce, and vanilla flavour porridge.

The 2 bars in both receptions serve the best International range of drinks and make great cocktails, you can order at the bar or wait for the waitress to come to you.

The beach has lots of sunbeds as does the pool, we always found a bed at any time of day, The beach also has an ice cream stand near the beach bar, but for some reason this bar suffers from a lot of wasps, they like the sugar on the sweet drinks,If you ignore them, they will ignore you :)
The sea is crystal clear and warm but only has a sandy bottom so isnt too good for snorkeling as there isnt much to see, BUT if you walk to the right on the beach about 500mtrs there are some kayaks in the water and 50 mtrs out to sea just past those is a long dark shadow in the sea, this is about 200-300 large concrete blocks, there are lots of fish and I even saw a lobster here, you can stand on the blocks and its only about 2-3ft deep, tip take some pork chop bones or chicken bones with you, the fish go mad for meat,


We have been to the caribbean for the last 10 years or so and found this hotel to be one of the best we have stayed at.
The walk down to the beach from the main hotel can be taken by the service path around the side of the hotel or by the jungle path :) take your camera, you will see all sorts of animals and birds.
Can the people who stole our "London Olympics 2012" and "RESERVED" towels from our balcony please return them ??

Room Tip: Lots of rooms got noise from the entertainment show until 11.15 at night, sea front rooms dont get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.
Your comments are highly appreciated.
Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just returned from ten day stay at the Iberostar Tucan, Playa Car Mexico, we have had a fabulous time. This is a beautiful hotel, run by an exceptional Management team and staffed by the most professional, warm lovely people. They cannot do enough for you. Every member of staff has a warm friendly nature, and all have genuine lovely smiles. Means a lot. Good customer service. Our room was well equipped cleaned everyday and stocked well with all our needs.
The Hotel grounds are stunning. Such a surprise as we didn't expect such a beautiful setting. Different to anything we have ever experienced before. So many wild animals roaming around and the grounds were spotless as was everywhere else. The restaurants were amazing, the food was first class and so much of it to choose from.
The beach area is breath taking. And the pool is beautiful, again all well tended.We loved it.
Will we go back? Yes! We can't wait. Thank you Tucan, for giving us a Holiday to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing us. We are deeply glad and grateful of your visit.
For sure we will share your generous comments with our staff. The best reward that we can have is your compliments.
It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September 2012. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff are great... They couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were nice and clean and we found the beds comfortable. There was plenty of choice for food at all meal times. We booked our specialty restaurants in the 1st week, because if you like any of them you can ask every morning of the 2nd week if they have any tables available for that night. We ate at the steak restaurant and the Italian twice. The trips to Chichen itza and xel-ha were worth the early starts. The snorkling at xel-ha was brilliant. There are not a lot of public air-conditioned areas and the place is very hot. Wi-fi is expensive and very slow. Like many others we walked to Starbucks, had a drink and used theirs for free. The beach is fantastic. The colours of the sea and the cleanliness of the beach make you want to stay all the time. Waitress service here is also good. We walked to the end of the beach (to the right) and saw plenty of fish swimming around our feet. Our only grumble - and this is just a personal thing, it didn't spoil our fantastic holiday - was no bar near the sea. It would have been lovely to have a drink listening to the sea, maybe it's because of the animals. But, like I say, it didn't spoil a thing. This place is great and we would deffinately visit again. If the manager reads this message - your staff are a credit to you.

Room Tip: We were in block 14. Perfect situation for everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your visit to the Playa del Carmen and for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay at our resort. We really enjoy reviewing your comments that you enjoyed the friendly, warm, attentive and professional service.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've stayed at many hotels around the world, and the Iberostar Tucan is by far the best. My husband and three children, aged 15.14 and 10 all agreed it was perfect, and we were so sad to leave! The ideal location, between the jungle and Caribbean sea. The rooms were clean and fresh, food excellent, great choice in the buffet restaurants and I'd especially recommend the Japanese restaurant, where the food is cooked in front of you. All staff very friendly and attentive, you got the impression they all really enjoyed their jobs. Waitresses constantly taking your drinks orders around the pool and on beach, and fast service. The whole resort has a really happy feel to it. The highlight was the monkeys that waited on our balcony every morning, and the walk through the jungle to the restaurants, passing agoutis, peacocks, flamingos etc on the way. The best holiday ever, and great weather, 29-32 degrees. I have always said it's a big world and with so much to see and I won't go back to the same place twice, but this hotel is the exception. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations.
We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities.

We will make sure that all the staff receives your comments and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.