We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation, especially for kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Shelton, Connecticut, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation, especially for kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a great holiday with my husband and 4.5 year old grandson. Hotel rooms and grounds kept very clean. Jungle is amazing, seeing the iguanas, toucans, peacocks etc is so great for kids, my grandson had a blast! We stayed in block 12, it was close to the beach, and the room was on the second floor facing the jungle. Perfect location! Try to get into blocks 11-13 upper floors if you want to see monkeys - they visited us every morning!
Good choice of food. Staff is very friendly, always ready to help, always smile. Lovely clean beach,
I would come here again and again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,065
    1,393
    354
    130
    71
See reviews for
1,656
1,772
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton,Cleveleys NW UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed 6-21 October,Tucan side: We were originaly in block 15, but that only had a close up view of the jungle, with no sunlight so the room was fairly dark all the time, so the second week we upgraded to a sea front junior suite for $60 a night, much better, and the queen size bed was a lot more comfy, However we looked at the Tucan side from the sea and most of the rooms views were of palm trees, so we asked for one on the quitzel side, less palm trees.
This caused a problem when it was time to leave, we were on the wrong side and the coach left without us ! without even calling our names out according to people that were on the coach.so it cost us $50 in a taxi to the airport as Hector the rep, didnt want to know. So if you do this, go back to the Tucan side when you leave.

If you go First Choice/Thomson you will be in the Tucan side, Thomas Cook and others Quitzel side, both are identical apart from some different shops in reception.
The Hotel cant be faulted, very clean all the staff smile and say "Ola" as you pass.

The food, there are lots of the same thing everyday, BUT it would take you 2 weeks to try it all, so stop moaning about it ! there are 14 different salad dressings !!
The chef's carvery will have anything from a large Grouper fish and a turkey to full leg of lamb to a roast beef joint.There is also a nice ice cream station just to the left of the carvery with cookie dough ice cream :)

The main buffet restaurants have large thatched roofs, which the monkeys often come off the trees and walk along, so you may see some when your eating. Tip, make sure there are no bugs in your coffee cups or saucers before you use them.
We ate at most of the a La Carte restuarants but thought the Japanese and the Steak house were best.
Breakfasts are to die for if you have a sweet tooth, waffles, white icing doughnuts, choc doughnuts, sugar doughnuts, Churritos, lots of nice danish and cakes, also next to the toast machine is choc spread, Peanut butter and caramel sauce, and vanilla flavour porridge.

The 2 bars in both receptions serve the best International range of drinks and make great cocktails, you can order at the bar or wait for the waitress to come to you.

The beach has lots of sunbeds as does the pool, we always found a bed at any time of day, The beach also has an ice cream stand near the beach bar, but for some reason this bar suffers from a lot of wasps, they like the sugar on the sweet drinks,If you ignore them, they will ignore you :)
The sea is crystal clear and warm but only has a sandy bottom so isnt too good for snorkeling as there isnt much to see, BUT if you walk to the right on the beach about 500mtrs there are some kayaks in the water and 50 mtrs out to sea just past those is a long dark shadow in the sea, this is about 200-300 large concrete blocks, there are lots of fish and I even saw a lobster here, you can stand on the blocks and its only about 2-3ft deep, tip take some pork chop bones or chicken bones with you, the fish go mad for meat,


We have been to the caribbean for the last 10 years or so and found this hotel to be one of the best we have stayed at.
The walk down to the beach from the main hotel can be taken by the service path around the side of the hotel or by the jungle path :) take your camera, you will see all sorts of animals and birds.
Can the people who stole our "London Olympics 2012" and "RESERVED" towels from our balcony please return them ??

Room Tip: Lots of rooms got noise from the entertainment show until 11.15 at night, sea front rooms dont get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.
Your comments are highly appreciated.
Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just returned from ten day stay at the Iberostar Tucan, Playa Car Mexico, we have had a fabulous time. This is a beautiful hotel, run by an exceptional Management team and staffed by the most professional, warm lovely people. They cannot do enough for you. Every member of staff has a warm friendly nature, and all have genuine lovely smiles. Means a lot. Good customer service. Our room was well equipped cleaned everyday and stocked well with all our needs.
The Hotel grounds are stunning. Such a surprise as we didn't expect such a beautiful setting. Different to anything we have ever experienced before. So many wild animals roaming around and the grounds were spotless as was everywhere else. The restaurants were amazing, the food was first class and so much of it to choose from.
The beach area is breath taking. And the pool is beautiful, again all well tended.We loved it.
Will we go back? Yes! We can't wait. Thank you Tucan, for giving us a Holiday to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing us. We are deeply glad and grateful of your visit.
For sure we will share your generous comments with our staff. The best reward that we can have is your compliments.
It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September 2012. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff are great... They couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were nice and clean and we found the beds comfortable. There was plenty of choice for food at all meal times. We booked our specialty restaurants in the 1st week, because if you like any of them you can ask every morning of the 2nd week if they have any tables available for that night. We ate at the steak restaurant and the Italian twice. The trips to Chichen itza and xel-ha were worth the early starts. The snorkling at xel-ha was brilliant. There are not a lot of public air-conditioned areas and the place is very hot. Wi-fi is expensive and very slow. Like many others we walked to Starbucks, had a drink and used theirs for free. The beach is fantastic. The colours of the sea and the cleanliness of the beach make you want to stay all the time. Waitress service here is also good. We walked to the end of the beach (to the right) and saw plenty of fish swimming around our feet. Our only grumble - and this is just a personal thing, it didn't spoil our fantastic holiday - was no bar near the sea. It would have been lovely to have a drink listening to the sea, maybe it's because of the animals. But, like I say, it didn't spoil a thing. This place is great and we would deffinately visit again. If the manager reads this message - your staff are a credit to you.

Room Tip: We were in block 14. Perfect situation for everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your visit to the Playa del Carmen and for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay at our resort. We really enjoy reviewing your comments that you enjoyed the friendly, warm, attentive and professional service.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've stayed at many hotels around the world, and the Iberostar Tucan is by far the best. My husband and three children, aged 15.14 and 10 all agreed it was perfect, and we were so sad to leave! The ideal location, between the jungle and Caribbean sea. The rooms were clean and fresh, food excellent, great choice in the buffet restaurants and I'd especially recommend the Japanese restaurant, where the food is cooked in front of you. All staff very friendly and attentive, you got the impression they all really enjoyed their jobs. Waitresses constantly taking your drinks orders around the pool and on beach, and fast service. The whole resort has a really happy feel to it. The highlight was the monkeys that waited on our balcony every morning, and the walk through the jungle to the restaurants, passing agoutis, peacocks, flamingos etc on the way. The best holiday ever, and great weather, 29-32 degrees. I have always said it's a big world and with so much to see and I won't go back to the same place twice, but this hotel is the exception. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations.
We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities.

We will make sure that all the staff receives your comments and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The beds sucked, evrtything else was great. Addai at the Olympus travel desk was Awsome!!!
I would recomend this hotel. The food could use some seasoning. We injoyed the selection of activities very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your sincere comments that help us in our guest satisfaction and quality service.
We are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and we will be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The resort was amazing, the food, the employees, the room, the pool, and the grounds...feels like your at some tropical zoo...you got monkeys flyin around i was sharen my lunch with all kinds of animals even though thats frowned upon but the steady flow of alchohal had me not caring too much about the signage. I almost went back here for my honeymoon but figured I'd give Sandals a try in St. Lucia. I will tell you that Sandals is nice but Ibero star was exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#34 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 3,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Experience...
#61 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 8,107 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#17 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 3,771 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 3,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#35 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 5,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, VISIT US, INC. and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.