We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 100%, but pretty near” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not 100%, but pretty near”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2003

We booked the Iberostar Tucan, after hours of research, purely on the basis of the rave reviews we had read from almost everyone who had stayed there. For the most part, we weren't disappointed. The grounds, the pool, the beach and the public areas were as excellent as we'd been led to believe. The quality of the restaurants and the food available were of a very high standard. There was never any danger of going hungry or thirsty through lack of choice either. And, like scores of other reviewers, we can't praise the staff highly enough. They really made the place (and our vacation) with their hard work and ready smiles. However, the big, big letdown were the rooms. Given the hotels five-star plus rating, we had expected to be using adjectives such as sumptuous, palatial, luxurious or superb. In reality, the best descriptions we could muster were small, adequate and spartan. We've had rooms in two-star hotels that have been every bit as big and every bit as well appointed. Neither of us expected that we'd have to live out of our suitcases due to lack of closet and drawer space, but that's what we had to do. No wonder there aren't too many pictures of the rooms in the hotel advertisements. Despite that, though, we still had a great time and would happily recommend the place to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,942
    1,292
    322
    122
    67
See reviews for
1,522
1,683
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2003

We visited Oct 2nd- 9th with Apple Vacations and loved every minute of our trip. This hotel is absolutely top notch. I have traveled all over the world, and found this to be one of the cleanest, most beautiful, and friendliest hotels I've ever stayed at. For nature lovers, the walk through the jungle area was awesome--new experiences every walk. We also really enjoyed eating by the railing at the buffet and watching the fish below! The food at the buffet was very good and had something for every appetite. We also ate at the steakhouse and Italian restaurant. Both were delicious, but the steakhouse was amazing!
Reservations for the ala-carte restaurants were very easy. The pool--WOW! Had a fun experience with the free scuba demo in the pool.
The water was just perfect!! The room was very comfortable, but there was so much to do outside, we spent most of our time out and about. We did the optional excursions of Chitzen Itza and also the Tulum/Xel-ha trip. Both are must see optionals especially Xel-ha. The nightly entertainment was enjoyable as well and a nice end to each spectacular day! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, singles and families alike. Perfect!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2003

My boyfriend and myself stayed at the Iberostar Tucan from 15th Sep to the 29th Oct this year and we had a brilliant time. We were met at check in by a waitress who served us with cocktails!! We did not have to worry about our luggage as it was taken up to our room by the bell boys, who had to lug our 40kgs of luggage up 6 flights of stairs!!! The rooms are lovely. Very airy and clean. We originally got a twin room but had requested a king size. After a quick call to reception we were moved next door (where there was a lovely fruit platter and bottle of wine!). The mini bar is restocked daily, whether or not you leave a tip. We left tips our second week and were greeted each afternoon upon returning to our room by various animals made out of towels! The food is lovely, I am a picky eater but even I managed to find something to eat. The jungle walk is amazing and must be done at night as well as during the day. To see the jungle lit up is lovely and makes you feel like you are really in the tropics. The pool is huge, the only downfall were the Texans who felt they had to smoke in the pool!!! I had a nasty experience when i nearly swallowed a cigarette butt while swimming along. The pools are cleaned constantly during the day so i think i was just unlucky! Finally the staff... Well I cannot express how amazing they are. They bring you cocktails while you are sunbathing, they are all very friendly and never stop smiling. Their smiles never left their faces. This bunch of people are the hardest working group of staff i have ever met. The star friends also work their butts of to amuse you.
The evening shows were great and the riverdance bit was unbelievable.
If you are considering this hotel, do not hesitate. Book now!!!! I would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2003

No Question about it. This place is absolutely AWESOME!!!. Jungle, Beach, Food, Service, Staff. Hi Neils and all. Greeted by an "Hola" by every member of staff from groundskeeper to maid to bellboy to waiter. You get the picture.. Enjoyed most... Bill and Rachel (FROM USA) Getting the poor buggers hammered in the lovely pool bar so they couldnt walk home and lost Bills hat and shades!. Thanks to the lovely maid who picked em up and took them home.. M & I found our way back. eventually! Also Norman and Nancy. D**n shame we werent allowed to carry on with that 3am swim.(security guard still smiled) Apparently it is cos the Sharks come in the shallows at night and not cos we were drunk and may have drowned!!! Thanks everyone. All the Brits. Well done. you made it a great trip 4 us. Loved the excursions too Xel Ha & Tulum a must. And visit the Dolphins but most of all the Manitees at Dolphin experience. Wicked!!!!!.. Message to USA. keep practicing. your drinking skills will improve one day!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2003

My wife and I made the decision to go to the Tucan after much discussion for our honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a better resort. Everything about the place is top class - the pool, the beach, the rooms, the food, the staff, the jungle - even the entertainment had its moments! The weather was also fantastic - although when it rains, it really rains! The place is perfect for couples and very romantic and we will be going back again - hopefully in the very near future.p.s Watch out for the StarFriends! - anyone whohas been we know what I'm talking about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2003

Just got back from the Iberostar Tucan resort. Wish we stayed longer.
The rooms are nice, the food was good, the service was good, everything was clean. But the best part was the beautiful white sand beach, and amazing crystal turquoise water - warm and clean. Nice and sandy on the bottom and fun waves. Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and tiki-huts to provide shade. Also awesome was the pool where my group hung out for brief periods to stay cool and enjoy our drinks without the waves. Awesome! Also great would be to stay at the Iberostar Quetzal, which is the adjacent resort and shares several of the amenities including the beach and pools. Must see - the jungle between the hotels, and the waterfall at the Quetzal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2003

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Iberostar Tucan for 4 nights and five days. The hotel was really clean and the staff was great. The pools were all really nice too. There was a lot of day activities in the pool that were fun to participate in or just watch. Getting a chair was somewhat difficult. It seemed as if people would get up at 5am, grab all the towels for their entire family, and lay them out to reserve chairs. Eventually my boyfriend and I got sick of it, pushed some chairs over, and found two empty ones. The food seemed pretty good the first night, however, after a few days it seemed like the same types of food. There was a lot to choose from but everything just seemed kinda gross. There are 4 restaurants (I believe) that you need reservations for, and those were really good. The snack bars during the day were even better than the large buffet restaurant at night. The rooms were cleaned and always stocked. Be sure to tip your housekeeper a few bucks everyday, they'll make sure your room is immaculate. The beds are really hard, so if you have any back problems beware. (Or you can do what I did and make sure to drink a lot and you won't feel the rock hard beds,haha ) My boyfriend and I both got really really sick there-which we find weird because we did not eat or drink outside of the hotel. This was also my 5th time to Mexico-and I never got sick before.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, VISIT US, INC. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.