We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful service, delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Av Constituyentes, betwen 10 and 15 avenues | Av. Constituyentes Entre Avs 10 y 15 , Frente Al ScotiaBank, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 147 1645
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Venezuelan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful service, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Initially we were the only people there, but it soon filled up with eager customers. Our host was absolutely delightful, with attentive and personalised service; she is clearly very passionate about Venezuelan food and providing an authentic product. Offering sample-size "tasters" of the various juices was a pleasant surprise. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and tried a variety of traditional dishes in vegetarian and non-vegetarian options. Unfortunately, we had to leave early as my friend became ill (with a pre-existing illness). Our host was very kind and understanding, and we left with the offer of taking the rest of our meal "to go", a long cup of Horchata on-the-house. Thanks for a great meal to remember our stay at Playa by!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    112
    40
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley Lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Best value in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere different and totally unpretentious, it's hard to beat. No alcohol, but unusual fruit juices , the passionfruit is really refreshing. Nice touch to bring a selection of tasting sizes before asking for order. Enjoyed the cachapas, incredibly filling meal ! Good choice for a cheap meal or a quick bite. Seating is all outdoor apart from under a green canopy . Lovely older man and his daughter run the restaurant. Daughter speaks very good English and is lovely .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This really is a hidden gem. Fantastic, simple, tasty food and great service. Will definitely return.
Only slight annoyance was the beggers who hassled us twice during our meal. It would have been nice if the owner had asked them to leave but overall was a great experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I loved this restaurant. The food is delicious, and the owner is so kind, friendly, and hospitable. The Venezuelan lemonade is amazing. I will definitely go back :).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great Vegan Meal, They treat you like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had such a wonderful meal there today. We were treated like family and we had the most enjoyable and delicious vegan meal. I highly recommend this restaurant.. It is not on the main street but worth finding it.. You will not be disappointed. Jenna Johnson Armstrong B.C Canada

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaxapa Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.