We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't exist?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Av Constituyentes, betwen 10 and 15 avenues | Av. Constituyentes Entre Avs 10 y 15 , Frente Al ScotiaBank, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 147 1645
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Venezuelan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't exist?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We walked for an hour trying to locate this place. Does it exist? Where is it? Next to what stores? In dying for veg food!! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    99
    37
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“A liitle taste of Venezuela in Playa del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went here after reading all the great reviews on TA and we weren't disapointed.

The setting is very simple with 6 or so tables outside and the inside is where all the cooking takes place

As soon as we sat down the owner brought us the menus and gave us a complete run down of the specialities. He then brought us out 4 different glasses of juices and drinks to try while we read through the menu and made our choice.

The drinks were delicious and we decided on having the Venezuelan lemonade @ 25 pesos and a Venezuelan Chicha which was similiar to a Mexican Horachata @ 30 pesos

We both tried the Pabellón criollo @ 80 pesos. This is the Venezuelan national dish and it was superbe.

You've got black beans with salty cheese next to shredded beef and rice with fried plantain slices. There's a mini Arepa than comes with it too.

Every bite was so full of flavour that we didn't want the meal to end.

The owner is a lovely man, very warm and friendly, not at all pushy. The food is fabulous and I can't wait to return to try one of the other dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sweet little place with Big flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The pictures of the Patacón is what brought us here. We decided to make Kaxapa Factory our first meal when we arrived in Playa. We stopped in and were greated so kindly from the owner. He chatted up with us and went over the menu. Everyone pretty much already knew what they wanted from the pictures we've seen online. We were here for their famous Patacón. Since everyone else got that, I decided to get their arepa and an empanada.

Their meats are so juicy and has tons of yummy Venezuelan flavors. We washed it down with their fresh juices. They have a variety of juices for you to sip and try before making your choice.

We were disappointed we couldn't stop by again on our trip.. but it was best first meal and it will probably be again when we return to playa!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty food and amazing fresh juice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a really great option for lunch, especially but not only if you are vegetarian. There is a lot of choice of dishes which use quality ingredients. And the juice...! He brought us a little selection of juices to try when we arrived and they were so delicious it was impossible to resist ordering large glasses with our meal (this did put the total price up a bit, but it was worth it). Its a family-run place and the owner is friendly in a genuine way that is somewhat difficult to find in this town. Easy to reach location on Av. Constituyentes, just round the corner from 5th Avenue but a world away in many other respects. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extraordinary. Abolutely extraordinary.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The only thing more amazing than the food here is the service. Warm people serving extraordinary food . . . nothing could be better.

In all seriousness, Kaxapa Factory, you need to open a restaurant in New York (maybe Kaxapa Shop?). Sure, we have a couple of places where you can get Arepas, but your food puts theirs to shame. Really, honestly, truthfully, you would make a killing here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaxapa Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.