We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Av Constituyentes, betwen 10 and 15 avenues | Av. Constituyentes Entre Avs 10 y 15 , Frente Al ScotiaBank, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 147 1645
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Venezuelan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Austin, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love, love, loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As I'm sitting here, I don't know which I loved more - the fabulous food or the charming owner and his amazing story. This is the kind of restaurant you feel so good about supporting. And the food is so delicious - the best are the kaxapas - the ones with the black beans, meat, plantains, cheese. I forgot what they are called on the menu, but they are amazing! You will not regret a meal here. It was so fun and left all of us feeling so great about the whole experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    112
    40
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You must go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Read the reviews and decided to check it out during our vacation in June. So, so glad we did. I'm not sure which we enjoyed more-the food or the wonderful experience of talking to Jose Ramon. He truly is a man who loves life! We wanted to try everything but settled on an arepa with beef and cheese, kaxapa with chicken and cheese, and empanadas with black beans and cheese. And also the most delicious passion fruit juice. The food was incredible. There is no other word for it. My boyfriend actually proclaimed his love for the kaxapa. And through the whole meal we had the most enjoyable conversation with Jose Ramon. He is a magical man. This is a magical place. Do not miss it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bonkers for Bolitas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Like many places in Playa del Carmen, Kaxapa Factory is a small place you might miss unless you were looking. What it lacks in size is more than made up in the genuine Venezuelan flavors and fantastic service. Our introduction to José Ramón was a big smile and a handshake. He is just someone you meet and instantly like. José explained the entire menu and lets to decide while he got our waters. He returned with a sample of 3 juices off the menu for us to try and we ordered the Bolitas de Queso to start. All I can say about the bolitas is I'm sorry I didn't order my own and had to share. They were wonderfully light, crispy and delicious with or without the side dipping sauces. We were there for lunch so we ordered one of the Arepas (Reina Pepiada) and one of the Kaxapa (Cachapas Pabellon) to split between us. Both were excellent! Full of flavor and filling. Wonderful comfort food on a rainy day in Playa. We were to full for dessert but next time I will save some room. Our check was 210 pz before tip. Don't miss this place on your trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Genuinely good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went for breakfast because I don't like eggs and the food was absolutely marvelous. The owner brought juices for us to try before choosing and there is a daily special for juice. The Venezuelan owners are part of the attraction of the place, but the food was really good and inexpensive. I had a wonderful beef turnover and others tried the many other options. It was all good. I would go regularly if I lived in Playa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner experience- can't say enough about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food was incredible- the best we had in Mexico. The experience was a special one, partly because of the phenomenal home-style Venezuelan cooking, and partly because of the warm, welcoming atmosphere the owners created. The host even came out and treated us to a home-made papaya dessert that he had prepared. We had dinner, juice, and dessert for four, and spent under MXN 500 (about USD 40). We will definitely come back next time we are in Playa Del Carmen, and can't recommend the place highly enough!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaxapa Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.