We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Vive la Vida

Save Saved
You added Hostel Vive la Vida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Vive la Vida
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle 2 Norte Between Av. 25 y Av. 30 | Col. centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We found the atmosphere here to be very relaxed and friendly. Good kitchen area and nice common area with television and the little pool was also nice. One downside that we found was the fact that the ceiling fan in our room was not very effective and so our room was absolutely swelteringly hot! Apart from that everything else was good, the staff were very nice and the fellow guests also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    37
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
26
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I went to central america for 3 months and viva la vida was onl the second hostel that i stayed in. I really liked it. its a clean hostel with nice dorms and a really nice common area and kitchen in the middle of the hostel. That way it was really easy to meet the other guests. The staff was really nice and helpfull. After that a lot more other hostels would follow in the rest of central-america. Viva la vida definitely stayed one of my favourites and if i ever go back to playa del carmen this would be my choice again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff for a good room. they will be happy to help you. really nice people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

stayed at this hostel over the christmas season and had a fantastic time, the management were very accommodating during this busy season. Hostel Vive la Vida is a great place to meet fellow travellers from across the globe, the layout of the hostel allows this.
Its probably one of the cleanest and well maintained budget places i have ever stayed in. The location is very accessible to all Playa del Carmen has to offer and access to transport to surrounding attractions..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed in a number of hostels in Playa before I was recommended Hostel Vive la Vida & ended up staying for 3 weeks instead of a few days. The hostel is close to the beach & nightlife as well as Walmart & some excellent cheap restaurants. It`s a fantastic place to meet people & there was always a great atmosphere in the hostel amongst all the guests, even though many people came & went while I was there. The kitchen facilities include all you need, nice showers, comfortable beds but the best thing about Vive la Vida is the staff. Not only are they very helpful & friendly, but they seem to genuinely want to ensure you enjoy your time in the hostel & in Playa as much as possible & make you feel like family from the moment you arrive!! One of the best hostels I`ve stayed at!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, México
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Hostal is the perfect balance between price-quality-location. I stayed here and was 10 minutes from the center of the city (walking distance) and also really close to the beach, but It is quiet in the night, so I could sleep pretty good. A lot of young people staying there, and we can use the kitchen and all the plates and cups to have our meals. Nice hostal!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

By far the best hostel in playa !!! Close from everything, 5 mins walk off the beach and 10 minutes away by walk from all the nightlife! Its perfect, clean, quiet and comfortable, the staff is always helpful to give you informations and deals about touristic tours. Wanted to stay there 2 days, ended up staying there 1 month haha, i recommend !
-Marc o

Room Tip: rooms next to the bathrooms and showers are way more quiet...away from the kitchen/living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed at Viva La Vida for a week... The staffs is realy friendly and helpful for everything you need ( maps, laundry, money exchange, buses) Someone do a big clean up each day, the sheets smell good and the bed is confortable. You can find everything you need to made your own food. Free coffee each morning and free internet access is always include. The location is amazing, less than 10 minute by foot to get the beach, 5th avenida, supermarket and also the collectivo (bus) is right at the corner. I spent a great time there and meet nice and good people.. I recommend Viva La Vida , my own rating is 90%
nathalie

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Vive la Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vive la Vida

Address: Calle 2 Norte Between Av. 25 y Av. 30 | Col. centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 116 Specialty lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Vive la Vida 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Vive la Vida is new in town. It's a new building totally prepared for the international travelers and inspired by the huge Frida Kahlo.The Hostel Vive la Vida is conceived with the experience of more than 120 cities visited across more than 20 countries as backpacker just as you are. We expect that you feel like at home and discover the multicultural and cosmopolitan atmosphere of our city.We are located few steps of the beach and 50 mts from the 5th Avenue, the most amused, famous and cosmopolitan pedestrian avenue of the the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hostel Vive la Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Vive La Vida Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Vive la Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.